We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After pulling off the interstate for a night stay this hotel had one of the best reviews on TripAdvisor and it was well earned. The front desk staff was very welcoming and sweet even though it was nearly midnight. My only complaint would be that the room prices that are listed online are not what they actually are. The lowest nightly stay is closer to $90 instead of the listed $66.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    68
    31
    13
    3
See reviews for
98
68
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sometime a chain hotel/motel is defined by its staff. In this case, this Country Inn right off Interstate 81 is a winner. Special kudos to the evening desk clerk with a great sense of humor, the night desk clerk who was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast hostess who went out of her way to please us.

The clean room and clean pool area were also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in October and found the room itself was fine but the location was quite noisy and made sleep somewhat disturbed. The breakfast was ok with reasonable selection and was hot and continuously checked. The hotel is the usual County Inn style so you know what you are going to get. Room and wider hotel was clean and seemed well maintained. Overall a reasonable place to stay but if you are at all a light sleeper then you might want to loo elsewhere - unless you are used to a busy location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The first week of October we visited the Roanoke area and stayed at Country Inn & Suites in Roanoke. What a pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast was delicious and the the facility was clean and well lighted. We recommend reserving the room with a whirlpool. Definitely worth the price. We will definitely stay again at this hotel when we return to the Roanoke area.

Room Tip: Recommend am room with a whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This room was 136 with tax. Old decor. Dirty bathroom. Trash on the floor under a side table. Freezer in refrigerator had so much ice on it that it prevented use of the top shelf. Food items on the floor at baseboards. Black marks on the walls. Holes in the sheetrock by the television. Extraordinarily disappointed! This was room 236.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were travelling back to CT from SC, and we stopped here on the way home. This hotel was a pleasant and welcome relief after the long day of travelling! The check in was quick and easy, the hotel lobby well maintained, with fresh cookies offered on arrival. The rooms were clean and well kept, the air conditioning worked well, the beds were queens, which was great! the pool and spa were very clean and convenient. The front desk clerk was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. She recommended a local restaurant , that was wonderful! The facility also offered a washer and dryer as well as laundry soap for guest's use. We were only there one night, but this is great if you are travelling for a longer period, with children. The hotel was also very quiet and peaceful, I barely knew anyone else was there! I would stay here again! As well as to stay at another Country Inn and suites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I went to Roanoke for work and my husband came along. We were staying five nights and he would be hanging out during the day so we wanted him to be comfortable and have some amenities without breaking the bank. This was not the closest place to my office but it turned out to be worth the drive. Why?
** The room was a suite with a bedroom door that closed so I could go to bed while he stayed in the outer room watching TV.
** Service was excellent-- we inquired about a larger fridge and they delivered one within the hour.
** The pool area was large, clean, and had a beautiful hand painted mural.
** Fresh baked cookies in the lobby every morning.
** A delicious included breakfast with lots of variety of hot and cold food.
** The hotel looked very clean and new.
** The staff was very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.