We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for My Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great for My Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were in Roanoke over a weekend. Our party consisted of three children and two adults. We found the Country Inn and Suites to be just what we needed. The room, a one bedroom suite, had two queen beds in one area and a double sofa bed in the other. Each area had a TV. My girls enjoyed sleeping on the sofa bed and having their own TV. However, I couldn't have slept on that sofa bed. I would have given this hotel five stars if it weren't for the really worn condition of the sofa bed. When I pulled the bed out, I noticed that stuffing was coming out of the mattress. Time for a replacement! Other than that, the room was clean, the pool was nice, and the breakfast had just about everything -- waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, pastries, bagels, coffee, juice, milk, etc. (Scrambled eggs appeared to be the reconstituted variety, but they tasted fine.) The staff was very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    80
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
111
76
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed over during a bluegrass festival. What a wonderful hotel. Their staff were welcoming at 12:00 am and also gave a discount for only coming at 12:00. A very nice pool and breakfast was great. If ever there again you will find us staying here. What a wonderful price as well. Charming murals in the pool area.

Room Tip: Book a few days before your stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Briefly: older decor, dirty floor, older bathroom. Nothing special. Pool area and jacuzzi looked nice but had shut down within hours of making reservation due to minor accident with a guest. They refunded a portion of our bill due to this since we had specifically chosen this hotel for the pool and jacuzzi.

Night clerk was very kind and helpful and went out of her way to get me fresh hot water for my tea.

Would not stay here again simply b/c I know for the money I can stay at a newer, more upscale hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed two nights while in town for a college reunion. The room was clean and stayed a comfortable temperature, while the hotel was extremely convenient. Most importantly, the front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

Only two minor complaints: the pillows flatten quickly; and the waffles at breakfast tasted gross. First time I haven't liked a waffle...

All in all, a great place to stay for the price. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Me and wife were pleased with our stay at country inn and suites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms where more than satisfactory for an interstate exit hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Traveling up from South Carolina It was about 11:00 PM and we needed a place to stay. I called CI & Suites about 10:00. The person was very nice and helpful. We arrived at 11:05 and booked a room. We were very tired and went to bed. Then we heard this constant beeping noise outside the door. The noise was very audible in the room. possibly because the poor fit of the door ( you could see the hall light coming through from around 3 sides of the door). The noise was a fragrance device.
I went to the desk, the shift had changed and the new women (Pat) says "well, there is nothing I can do until tomorrow. That is after I checked in and had choice of rooms on two floors. noreplacement room was offered. Then I said "Since it was beeping since we came in does maintainance maybe know?" Pats says " I'll leave them a note" with a sarcastic tone.
The room condition was also questionable for a high end chain. Door trim and wall paint was chipped and worn. Wall outlet was not fit to the wall. Some sleazy looking caulk jobs in bathroom.
I stayed at one of this in Millville NJ. and condition was similar but worse.
Last time for Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Above average for it's market niche, mid-priced hotels with breakfast included. Fairly new, attractive and homey, nice lobby/ living area (with cookies!), spacious and clean room with good beds and bath, fridge; and the indoor pool and hot tub is terrific and conveniently located (even has a shower tucked around in the corner with towels provided so you can clean off the chlorine without bringing the odor into your room). Breakfast is typical of chains like Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, etc., with a nice dining area and plenty of choices. Only down side was the HVAC in the room... wouldn't cool the room enough at full throttle, and somewhat noisy with the compressor cycling on/off all night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#15 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, VA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.