We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, warm and friendly staff...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, warm and friendly staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over during a long road trip and had absolutely no complaints. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and welcoming and was proud to offer us a neatly typed list of restaurant recommendations and available food delivery in the area, a great touch for hungry road-trippers. The hotel has easy access to I-81 but is far enough from any street to keep the rooms wonderfully quiet. The room itself was perfectly clean and quite roomy, with comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which was fresh and tasty and featured a good variety of options. Overall, the warmth of the staff and the comfort of the room made this a great hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    67
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
90
64
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was at this hotel during a family wedding. I called ahead and asked for ground floor room close to an entrance so my 78 yr. old mother wouldn't have far to walk. I also requested a roll-away cot for my 19 year old son. Five of us had two rooms with a connecting door.

The hotel is right off I-81. Know that it sits back a bit from the road, the restaurant nearby almost prevents you from seeing the hotel until you're right upon it. There is a large sign at the road.

When we arrived, everything was as I requested! Our room was the closest one to the main entrance so Mom didn't have far to walk. We were also close to the breakfast room and the pool. The room was well equipped and very clean. The furnishings showed little to no wear. The bathroom was bright and the shower had lots of hot water with wonderful water pressure. Towels were plentiful and thick.

The beds were very comfortable, no one had any problems sleeping. My mother said she slept better in the hotel than she does at home. We had other family in the hotel and the rooms were of such size that several of us could meet in them and have a place to sit and chat.

The breakfast bar was GREAT!! Not only muffins, breads, cereals but waffles and eggs and sausage and bacon! I much better breakfast selection than in my own home. The coffee was hot and strong. OH, they also have coffee available at the front desk - and cookies - 24/7!

The pool was large and clean and included a nice sized hot tub. The lobby is "homey" with warm wood accents and comfy furniture. It also includes a lending library if you want something to read. We were there the week before Christmas and the lobby was tastefully decorated for the holidays.

The price for this hotel was a bit higher than some others in the area but I will admit that it was worth it. The staff was friendly and cordial and everything I asked for was received almost immediately. I left there very pleased, full of breakfast, well rested, and ready to start my day. Not sure you can ask for more from a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while visiting the Roanoke area, just before Christmas. As at other Country Inn and Suites, the service was simply outstanding. The staff here were very professional and extremely friendly. Being members of the Carlson Club, we were immediately upgraded to a King suite. The room was neat and clean, and the breakfast the next morning was very enjoyable. We expect to be visiting the Roanoke area on a regular basis, and we are pleased to know that we have an outstanding hotel to stay at during our visits.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is less than a mile off Interstate 81 in Roanoke, Virginia. It has free parking and is easy to negotiate entering/exiting the hotel. The room we had was large and had two separate rooms, divided by a door, and a separate bathroom. The kitchenette includes a refrigerator and a microwave. The sofa bed in the living room wasn't the most comfortable, but the bed in the bedroom was exceptionally comfortable. The bedroom was large, making television-watching easy (you weren't too close to the television). The indoor pool was clean as was the whirlpool. The towels at poolside were small but functional. There was no outdoor pool. The linens in the room were great. And the room, hallways, and lobby were all clean. The included breakfast was quite good, but did not include meat if anyone wants bacon or sausage. The fruit was defrosted, but tasty.

This hotel was an EXCEPTIONAL value. We had a suite for under $100, including tax. The wireless was fast and functional. The front desk staff were polite and helpful, permitting us to check-out late since we arrived late.

There were shops and fast food restaurants about a mile down the road away from the interstate. The hotel room was very quiet (I think the hotel has residential properties behind it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back of the hotel for absolute quiet. The hotel is set back from the road, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

There was no room at the inn of the first place we stopped in Roanoke after a long 26 hrs on the road. They did direct us to the Country Inn and Suites next door and are we ever glad they did! We have found our new favourite hotel chain! Everyone was so nice from the check in to the folks who work there. The room was spacious and a very clean and comfortable king bed. Breakfast ( included) the next morning was wonderful! The restaurant was bright and clean. Everything was very hygienic and we had a great breakfast in preparation for another long day of travel. The lady running the restaurant was a sweetheart, very southern and friendly. Their coffee is great, too! We filled up our travel mugs to have a road rocket to go! The desk clerk introduced us to the points program and we joined. We will definitely stay more often at this chain. It's great value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We arrived with daughter and her 3 month old after eight hours on the road and found a welcoming lobby and staff. We checked in quickly and were given two rooms with connecting door as requested. Receptionist provided list of nearby restaurants recommended by staff. We walked across parking lot and had excellent mexican meal. Enjoyed swim in large pool with hot tub next morning. Hot breakfast, with friendly attendant who ensured we got everything we asked for, was excellent. We also enjoyed their magazines and lending library. A good hotel for a family with children.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back -- very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

I found this hotel while traveling for the Thanksgiving holiday. I had found it online while we were driving and made the reservation. We arrived very late, but the front desk attendant was very nice and welcoming. I hadn't looked for the AAA discount online, but asked once I arrived. The attendant went out of her way to check for a discount and was able to drop my price by $10. I appreciated it so much!

The room was huge and the beds were very comfortable. Very quiet.

Great hot breakfast, too. Biscuits, gravy, toast, oat meal, Danishes, eggs, bacon, etc and cold, cold milk! It was a great start to the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.