We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Jacuzzi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Great Jacuzzi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Spent one night here on our last night of vacation. Hadn't booked ahead as our plans were changing. Couldn't find a room at several other locations in the Roanoke/Salem area, and ended up getting the last room at Country Inn. It wasn't a standard room, and had to pay more for the night since it had an in-room jacuzzi tub. Never had a jacuzzi in the room, so what the hell, decided to try it. Jacuzzi was made for two. Got lucky. Nuff said.

Rooms were very clean, quiet, and well proportioned. Friendly staff. Free breakfast was better than most.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    68
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
94
67
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, PA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites Roanoke after a long day of travel on the roads. It is conveniently located right off of 81. At first, I was going to stay at the Hampton Inn right next door, but they were fully booked and suggested that I go over to the Country Inn.
It was 11pm on a Friday night when I checked in. The front desk clerk, Pamela, offered me a king suite at a discounted rate. The lobby was pretty and made you feel at home, but it reeked of swimming pool chemicals. Also, upon arrival, guests are welcome to enjoy freshly baked cookies, which can be found at the front desk...very good.
The king suite was nice. It had a king bed and a sleeper sofa. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were so flat, I shouldn't have even used one. The room was spacious and included a mini fridge, mircowave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was fully stocked with toilet paper, tissues, shampoo, soap, etc. The only complaint I have about the bathroom is that I had no hot water for my shower. Although, the bed wasn't comfortable and there was no hot water, both the room and bathroom were very clean.
The hotel offers a free hot breakfast everyday of the week, starting at 6 or 7am. There was a wide variety of food to choose from. They had waffles, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, juice, etc. I really enjoyed the breakfast. The breakfast staff was friendly and kept restocking items.
This Country Inn and Suites had a pool and hot tub (did not use), exercise room (also did not use), and free WiFi (very nice). The hotel also had several meeting rooms.
I enjoyed my stay at this property. It was a good value, and my needs were accomodated. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stopped here overnight when driving home to the northeast from Georgia. Very clean nice hotel with free cookies and a good indoor pool for the kids to play in after a long ride in the car. Huge hotel room--we could have fit a lot more people in it. We would definitely stay here again when we were passing through. We read the reviews on this website and picked this hotel and got a great price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This was our first experience with the Country Inn brand and we were not impressed. Luckily we stayed at another later in our trip, which was much better.
The place was tired and in need of renovation. The vanity top was splitting apart, the mirrors were losing their glaze around the edges, and the bathroom fan would not shut off. The suburban freeway interchange location was also next door to a noisy factory. There was a good Mexican restaurant nearby.
I make one complaint I have of most hotels—they waste prodigious amounts of energy on air conditioning and provide only heavy winter duvets. One can get a far better sleep in a quiet room, shutting off the noisy window AC unit when retiring, and sleeping with a light blanket, rather than under a heavy duvet with the rattling racket of the window AC.
This business is not unique in chilling the lobby and room to a painful level. I cannot believe it is healthy to continuously go back and forth from bone-chilling cold to steamy hot summer. AC is nice in moderation, but quite uncomfortable when wearing summer clothes and it’s only 62 degrees. At home in Canada I use the furnace to keep the house at 72 degrees. It appears to me that millions of people flee cold, northern states to live in the sun belt, only to keep their buildings cold as the subarctic. Why?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We had a great experience at this hotel. I was able to get a two room suite for a discounted price. Even if it had been the full $134.99, it would have been a much better deal than the Marriott where we stayed in Bristol. Great customer service from Robin at the front desk; large clean rooms; lots of pillows; nice refrigerator; microwave; televisions in both rooms (one room had pull-out sofa; other 2 queens); nice size swimming pool and whirlpool, and a great breakfast: bacon, eggs, potatoes, waffles, fruit salad, and much more. Clean, clean, clean. Beds were firm, but I found them comfortable. We stayed on Monday night. All five of us were very pleased!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was a clean and quiet hotel. Staff was excellent and the cookies were pretty good as well as a nice breakfast.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The rooms were clean, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke

Address: 7860 Plantation Road, Roanoke, VA 24019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Country Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.