We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Holiday Inns generally occupy the "no man's land" between budget lodging and high quality full-service hotel. More expensive than the former and less appealing than the latter... and usually disappointing. This Holiday Inn is no exception.

The biggest problem the hotel faces is that it is an older property (early 1980s). The hotel seems to have been renovated within the past five years or so with adequate results. It is, however, time for a refresh. The rooms are somewhat dreary with insufficient lighting and so so furnishings. Everything in my room was in working order, but honestly, I have stayed in many (cheaper) Holiday Inn Express properties that felt more luxurious.

The lobby is quite nice, complete with atrium, indoor/outdoor pool, fitness and business centers, and a basic restaurant. I did not have time for breakfast, but there seemed to be a nice selection of food with reasonable prices. Given the number of good restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive, however, the hotel restaurant isn't a particularly valuable option.

Service is ok, though not terribly friendly. Be aware that some rooms face onto the atrium with no window to the outside. My room was one of the atrium rooms, and I found the lack of natural light to be claustrophobic. It's probably best to request a room facing the outside of the hotel.

I cannot recommend the Holiday Inn Valley View. There are many better options in the area at comparable or better price points. I'm not sure what the hotel's appeal is, and based on the low occupancy that was apparent during my stay, it seems that other customers are asking the same question.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 14, 2011
Thank you for your very honest feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the experiences that you encountered during your last stay with us. We are constantly finding new ways to enhance the guest experience including upgrading our rooms and fixtures. I understand that you more than likely would not stay at our hotel the next time your travels should bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, however I would again appreciate your feedback to ensure that we are always bettering ourselves if you do decide to stay.
Once again, thank you for your response!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
28
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is an OK Holiday Inn. Received a coupon for free drink at check in which was a nice touch. But the only beer that was "free" was not so great. If you're going to offer an amenity, don't then cheapskate so it leaves a not so great impression. I'd probably stay here again but like some of the other hotels in Roanoke better.

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We met family at this 1/2 way point hotel. We enjoyed our stay. The front desk check in was a breeze. The employee went over all of our room options which was something I have never experienced at any hotel. Very nice touch! Plenty of room to unload and then park. The room was quite spacious with a nice size bathroom. Everthing worked well. The beds were very comfortable. We unpacked and went down to the indoor/outdoor pool and had a great time with some of the other guests. Dinner in the lobby was just OK, but we don't expect much from hotel restaurants. The next morning we ordered room service for breakfast. This was terrible and way over priced for what you get. Sis and I ordered eggs benedict and what arrived were poached eggs on a non toasted english muffin with a sliver of canadian bacon and cold potatoes. No hollendaise sauce. We called and explained...and the lady told us the hollendaise was "in the eggs, we just could not see it". Huh? So they delivered some sauce to us which was just melted butter. We had this meal taken off the bill. We were there 3 days and our room was never cleaned, towels were not replaced and toiletries were not re stocked. I found a maid's cart in the hallway and restocked everything myself. We mentioned this at check out and all we got was a nod of the head. The location is very good. There are a lot of restaurants and shopping areas close by. Be sure to visit the Star and the downtown Market area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for your most recent response about our hotel! The level of service that you received from our Restaurant and Housekeeping department was not of the norm and I have forwarded your response onto my Department Heads for them to investigate so this will not happen again to any other guests! I truly hope that the next time your travels should bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, you will choose us as your home away from home!
At your service,
Neil Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Arizona, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I booked this hotel because I needed a pet-friendly room in the area. While the rooms were good overall, the restaurant needed help. The service took a long time and the food was OK. On a plus note, they did allow a 50lb dog.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stopped here after seeing the Holiday Inn sign, it was late and raining; so glad that we did. Wanda at reception was really welcoming and efficient.

The room was a good size, clean and in good order. The restaurant served excellent food at reasonable prices. There is a coin laundry and free business centre with internet.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

My husband, mother and aunts stayed here for my uncle's funeral. Overall, it is a nice hotel. They really need to update the rooms though. Our bathroom door had to be lifted in order for it to be closed. They need to modernize the rooms, like update the tv's to flat screen. My one complaint is that the breakfast was pretty expensive and sub par. I would recommend folks to go to the K&W cafeteria which is on Hershberger for breakfast , lunch and dinner. It is affordable and good country cooking. I also stayed at the Best Western by the airport which was a MUCH nicer , remodled hotel. The Best western has free breakfast and was $30 cheaper. The only thing that was a deal breaker was that the Holiday Inn had a bar with really good drinks.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
Thank you for your response on your most recent visit to our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the passing of your Uncle and wish your visit to the area could of been for a more enjoyable reason. I have shared your comments with my Management staff. We have budgeted for new flat screen tvs in 2010. Unfortunately, we are a fullservice hotel and do not offer complimentary continental breakfast. I am so sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I truly hope the next time your travels should bring you back to the Roanoke Valley you will give us the chance to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Just got back last night from a conference and yes I am very satisfied! The room is clean, bathroom is clean and the staff were commendable. We arrived around 8:00 pm and the front desk lady was awesome, She really knows costumer service. the Dining people were also great, utility guys they were all so helpful. Amenities were also great, the complimentary wireless internet was also a welcome addition. The elevator was kinda old but it is obvious that they had done a lot of work to maintain the hotel.

Cynthia R.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
Thank you for your great comments. I have shared them with all of our employees in our monthly employee newsletter! It make my job easier having such great employees! We look forward the opportunity as being our guest the next time you are in Roanoke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.