We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality is Alive and Well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
2 reviews
“Southern Hospitality is Alive and Well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The sweetest and most efficient staff, lovely rooms and beds to ensure a peaceful night's sleep with a wonderful fresh fruit bar awaiting you in the morning! If you're in the area and in need of a place to stay- look no further! An ideal find in this beautiful town! Ask for Ron, the wonderful bellman!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
33
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Twin Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is definitely an older Holiday Inn. It is clean and friendly and would recommend it. The rooms are fine with some updates. Did not eat here but the food looked fine. It has a nice little lobby bar. The WiFi is pretty slow. Average to small selection of cable channels. Nice location close to the airport, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Working in the Roanoke area, th I s used to be my regular go to hotel.

Location is wonderful with easy access.

Unfortunately some of the amenities have declined.

Rooms are getting dated with lumpy mattress. Air conditioning struggling even though it was in 80 F range outside.

Room had fruit flies which occasionally made rounds in the room.

Breajfast: previously the buffet was great with quality ingredients. Now decline in quality with many items almost gone and this at 7:30 AM.

Probably hive them one more chance due to previous visits, but if not improved, I will be looking for another hotel on next visit.

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Roman T,

Thank you for posting a candid feedback for our hotel. It is nice to see that you have always appreciated the convenience of our location from your previous stays. However, we were concerned to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us this time around due to the declining condition of our rooms, amenities, and breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you. We consistently strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and your comments will certainly help us achieve this goal.

Again, we thank you for your comments. Despite your disappointments, we certainly hope that you would give us a chance to make your next stay with us, a better one.

Regards,

Mike F.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is by far the worst IHG I have ever stayed at. Take it from someone who spends a tremendous amount of time at IHG skip this one! First of all if you are a biker don't stay here! Unlike the many other holiday inns i have stayed at this hotel is not willing to make accommodations for motor cycles, parking etc. The reason given "it's company policy" funny every other hotel in the company was willing to accommodate our needs.
Second i understand outside beverages are not allowed in the dinning area. However the way to address this issue is to come over and politely speak to me, not to scream at me from across the dinning room.
Over all the entire visit was very disappointing. The entire staff was extremely rude and inattentive. I will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear WTARDIF
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We very much appreciate all our travelers even bikers. We have been host hotel to the Harley Davidson State convention twice now and Gold Wing Riders. As these reviews are masked and have no means of contacting you, I would hope that you would contact me personally so I can assist you off line. I apologize for the way you were treated and by no means does this represent our true level of hospitality.

Sincerely,

Neil Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed staying here! The rooms were very nice and clean, and the grounds were great for walking my dog-- a few nice little trails and pathways, etc. I didn't expect a restaurant in a Holiday Inn, and although I didn't eat in it, it was nice to have it there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All around nice area-- you can see the mountains :) I recommend this highly.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

ok hotel....ok room...ok tv...nothing special....clean, confortable...for $126 I have stayed in better. My daughter wanted to stay here because of indoor and outdoor pool for kids....it was nice enough. We ask for two king connecting rooms...first night stay the rooms were fine... not connecting but across from each other....second stay...a week later....only one king and the other two double beds down the hall from each other...even though request and reservations made weeks in advance. Food in restaurant was ok. Steak...wings....burger...we had all and the price was fair. Buffet breakfast...adults $12 kids eat free....pretty good. Good airport shuttle only about 7 mins

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear 2015JustSaying,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

I use to stay at this hotel a lot up to a couple of years ago, quite a lot actually, but have since been staying in another nearby hotel (Courtyard) because the I felt the people here were becoming more interested in profit than customer service. The place was getting a bit run down too. Well, I just spent a week here because the Courtyard was booked and I thought I would give it another try. The place seems to have been renovated and is in pretty good shape but the attitude has not changed. As an example, the coffee maker didn't work the first morning and when I reported it at the front desk one of attendants did apologize but the other guy said, in a rather snippy tone, that there is coffee right here in the lobby. Right - so I'm suppose to drag my sleepy, messed up, pajama clad frame down to the busy lobby for a cup of wake up coffee? The coffee maker was replaced but when I returned one evening after work I was greeted by no coffee to put in it and the old wet coffee bag sitting squarely on the bathroom counter. Oh yeah, no bath mat one morning too. The kicker - their business center computers, (the ones that guests type things like airline passwords and stuff into) are still running Windows XP with all the security icons glowing bright red! No, these folks are still into profit over customer service and I'll just keep staying at one of the other four hotels on the block.

Room Tip: Get one away from the pool. I was on the second floor next to the pool and it was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our coffee maker and for the less than satisfactory experienced you had with our staff. It is also regrettable that your facilities and bathrooms fell below your standards. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. In addition, your feedback has been forwarded to our management to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, our apologies for the inconvenience and we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.2 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.