We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Is Good, Clean but older” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel Is Good, Clean but older”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was a family stay for one night visiting family. The hotel lobby is very nice. The restaurant area is awesome, filly enclosed, indoor pool there with full sky lights. The area is really nice. The rooms, hallways and elevators are dated. The elevators had no AC, big deal as I'm not staying in the elevator. The rooms are older, clean, but older. Not a lot of ease of access outlets for charging things. Old 90s style wallpaper. Is clean, just worn in places. I would stay again without a problem.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear rallyrabbit,
Thank you for your most recent comments with regards to your stay with us! We value your feedback. I can share with you that we have a lot of exciting changes that will be starting soon to make your stay even better with us!
See you the next time your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
36
33
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed three nights there in total.
In general its not very decent experience.
First we were not notified we had to pay extra for our guinea pig which is caged,
but this is probably Expedia's problem yet they should have better communication with booking agents.
Second the food was horrible, we ordered Farmer's choice breakfast one day and had chicken teriyaki for dinner the other night. Breakfast was very bad for almost $15, eggs were tasteless, croissant was charred, sausage tastes like the cheapest brands. Chicken teriyaki tastes like a whole bag of salt was added!!
Third, the walls and doors were not sound proof AT ALL. We heard people talking in the hallway throughout the night.

Apart from that, room was pretty comfortable, and we enjoyed sitting at the poolside.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nhaman L,
Thank you for your comments with regards to your stay with us. As your remarks are masked and I am unable to truly find out your stay information or your name to assist you. Would you please email me.. my contact email address is nordway@roanokeholidayinn.com.
I have been researching your issues with my front desk staff. Noone seems to know anything about a guinea pig. This certainly should trigger someone's memory as we do not get many of those brought in.
I look forward to your reply via email.
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived later in the night but the staff at the front desk were very nice and courteous. The room was clean, air conditioner worked great and even had a nice flat screen TV. Beds are a bit too firm for my taste, but not as hard as some hotel beds I've slept on.

Only drawback I really noticed is the lack of space for the continental breakfast. Roughly 5 or 6 tables for the whole breakfast rush. We got lucky the first morning and got a table, but the second morning, not so lucky, had to take our breakfast back to our room.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone that doesn't want to pay the crazy high prices of some of the other large chains in the Roanoke area.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms (ex. 134, 234, 334) are right at a door you can come and go without going thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Nathan H.
Thank you so much for your feed back and even your room location tip! Travelers will certainly appreciate that!
We are in the works for a new restaurant layout and complete hotel reno! Timeframe is not certain at this time, however stay tuned and we look forward to your next stay with us!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were in town for a wedding. Positives: pet friendly, friendly staff, convenient location. Negatives: noisy room, in our first room everything felt damp so we switched rooms (staff was helpful and accommodating). Our second room was dryer but still seems like the sheets weren't completely dry when they made the bed. Everything else was fine, we especially appreciated the dog walking area.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear KCG21,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very delighted to hear that our location worked for your needs and that your found our staff commendable. I am also particularly appreciative of your comments about our pet facility. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

On the other hand, I am sorry for any inconvenience the noise challenges and condition of the room may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a good hotel, near the ROA airport. The shuttle is quick and convenient. We has 3 days of meetings there and the food and beverage people odd a good job for us. The wireless internet was extremely slow--which is not good for a business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Screenname 000,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel. The location is maybe a little out of town but the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The room was super clean, modern, spacious and comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (including fridge and microwave). The swimming pool and gym was a great bonus and we even had a neat little bar area.

We were only doing a 1 night stop passing through but I almost wished we could have stayed a little longer as it was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at to date on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Saramarsdenille,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Whenever we have an early morning flight out of the Roanoke airport, we spend the night at the Holiday Inn Valley View. We always request a first floor room so that we do not disturb the other guests when we check out. The hotel employees are always courteous and most helpful. There is a restaurant on the premises offering a wide variety of selections.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, May 11, 2015
Dear Earle M,
Thank you for the review on our property, we value each and every comment! We look forward to your next stay with us, when your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley!
Holiday Inn Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.2 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.