We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, slow internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, slow internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a good hotel, near the ROA airport. The shuttle is quick and convenient. We has 3 days of meetings there and the food and beverage people odd a good job for us. The wireless internet was extremely slow--which is not good for a business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
28
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was exceptionally pleased with this hotel. The location is maybe a little out of town but the quality of the accommodation was excellent. The room was super clean, modern, spacious and comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed (including fridge and microwave). The swimming pool and gym was a great bonus and we even had a neat little bar area.

We were only doing a 1 night stop passing through but I almost wished we could have stayed a little longer as it was one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed at to date on our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Whenever we have an early morning flight out of the Roanoke airport, we spend the night at the Holiday Inn Valley View. We always request a first floor room so that we do not disturb the other guests when we check out. The hotel employees are always courteous and most helpful. There is a restaurant on the premises offering a wide variety of selections.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, ME
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay here in a year while traveling across country with a dog. We had a king executive room. During the day, the room is dark. I believe it's an older hotel as evidenced by the wall coverings, decor, noisy elevator and architecture. The room was clean. It looked out onto the inner indoor courtyard and there was a slight chlorine smell from the pool that is located in the same courtyard. The hotel is not 100% non-smoking so there is a stuffy smell to the room I think dating from when it might have been a smoking room. It does not, however, smell like smoke. The bed comfort was good. The hotel gladly accepts pets so that is a plus for us and there us a pet walking area outside. We didn't eat here because it didn't interest us. The hotel is conveniently located off of 81 and there are restaurants within a short distance. The wifi is free and is of average speed. The hotel seems to attract groups. This year, there are school sport teams here and last year there was a cat(animal) convention which we found to be kind of fun. Except for a lot of people in common areas, the crowds did not pose a problem. Overall, I find this hotel to have really nothing special about it but also nothing really negative about either.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear JoanneLebel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Recently stayed here on a weekend visit in Roanoke. My check-in experience was excellent, as I was greeted by one of the friendliest people I've run into in a long time. My room was clean, if a little worn around the edges. Unfortunately during my stay, the pool and spa were closed for renovation/repairs, which wasn't a big deal. The hotel is located on the far north side of town near the airport and mall, so there are dining options available just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear semistatic,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad to know that you had a good check-in experience and you found our staff to be friendly. I apologize if the closing of the pool and spa facilities were an inconvenience. Despite this, it is nice to know that you had a good overall stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to attend a Virginia Tech football game. It was okay but definitely not 3 stars as advertised. Looks like they made unsuccessful attempts at renovations. The "restaurant" is a glorified bar in the lobby next to an indoor pool. The entire lobby smells of chlorine from the pool. The door to our room would not shut and had to be slammed several times to get it to close and latch. The side entrance to the hotel was unlocked so that anyone could come in right to the elevator without passing the main desk in the lobby. There were stains on the bed linens.

Room Tip: Next door at the Marriott Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear patricia f,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stopped here on on way down south. The room was nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. We went to use the hot tub and pool and had them all to ourselves. The only issue I could find with this hotel ( and others) is that the pool and hot tub are not open in the mornings. The hours for this location seemed to be open at 10 am. Being an earlier riser, I would have enjoyed using the pool or hot tub in the morning. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I can not comment on that, it was not included in the overnight stay due to hotel having a restaurant on site. But we would stay there again if passing through.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.