We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average, but disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Overall this Holiday Inn was okay, but I expected more from a Holiday Inn. No problems in checking in as we'd used points for our room. The lobby, dining area was decorated very nicely and clean. First impression upon entering our room seemed okay. When I went into the bathroom I found a wet wash cloth still hanging on the shower rod. There was a lot of dust build up on the hinges of the bathroom door which were rusty and rusty spots on the ceiling tile medal holders. The king size bed would have wonderful had it not sank down in the middle, no matter how many times you moved closer to the edge you rolled to the middle. Housekeeping needs to do a better job cleaning and Holiday Inn needs to work on room improvements. Not sure I'd recommend this location to my friends. Feel like we wasted our Holiday Inn points here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Char300,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you appreciate the lobby and dining area. We apologize for the disappointment your room accommodation had caused you. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
28
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed there for one night. It was a good, clean hotel with a good quiet bedroom. However there was no safe in the bedroom. The food was reasonably good although the service at breakfast was very slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here four nights while visiting my company's accounts in the Roanoke area. My room smelled a little bit musty or mildewy, but it either dissipated after the first night or my nose got used to it. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, the bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked great. The hotel is contained in a big airplane hanger like structure that's bordered on one side by the hotel itself, and on the other by the conference and event center, with the restaurant, pool, and fitness center in the middle. At the restaurant I got a free breakfast each day because I'm a Priority Rewards Platinum member, which was great. Location was good, just down the street and across the highway from a big mall complex and within walking distance of a Big Lots.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear msr015100,
Thank you for the feedback with regards to your most recent stay with us! We value your comments and I have sent on to the Executive Housekeeper and to our Engineer to check on the less than pleasant smell. I can say that being here 24 years, I have never had a guest describe our Atrium Lobby as an Airport Hanger. Great description, albeit with a large indoor pool, restaurant and plenty of foliage! We look forward to your return visit with us!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place was awesome!. We really enjoyed the lounge area and the morning breakfast. I wish I could recall the Bartender's name. He was very nice and detailed and made our visits to the lounge worth while.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear john i,
I appreciate the feedback! The Bartender's name you are referring to is Matt. He has been with us for a few years now and he has what it takes to make sure each and every guest is happy!
We look forward to your stay with us again in the future! Please let us know if you should need anything prior to then!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for a softball tournament over Labor Day weekend and really enjoyed the central location to all of the fields/complexes. Great amenities and indoor/outdoor swimming pool. They were great at accommodating the team! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Deeladoll3,
We appreciate the great review! We also love ICOG Softball and anticipate the teams arrival each and every year! We look forward to 2014 Labor Day weekend already!
In the meantime, if your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley, we'll be anticipating your needs!
At your service,
Neil Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with wonderful customer service. Stayed there during a special event and the workers were all very friendly and on point. The rooms are large with many having a view of the mountains and/or the pool. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Fishprincegeorge!
Thank you so much for the excellent rating and comment with regards to your most recent stay at our hotel! We value your input and look forward to those future guests that will read this so we may gain their business! You are truly and advocate of our hotel! Our staff is top notch and care about our guests! The next time your travels should bring you through the Roanoke Valley, we look forward to your stay with us again!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here on business one night. Room has a nice large flat screen tv and many channels seemed high def. Refrigerator was nice too. Clean room and bathroom. Indoor/outdoor pool and volleyball court. I arrived late, left early but everything seems like a good deal here. Breakfast buffet for $10 was OK, a quick option to get going in the AM.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Fusebuddy!
Thank you for the great feedback. We value your comments and celebrate our successes! I have forwarded your comment on to all of my staff. We look forward to your visit again!
At your service,
Neil Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.