We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for passing through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good stay for passing through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here on our way home from TN. The Marriotts nearby were booked. We arrived late and the security assisted us getting the front desk attendant who had stepped away. Check in was easy and we got a good rate with AAA card. Neither key card worked when we arrived at the room, the front desk asked the security guard to go with me once I was given new keys, in case they didn't work.The rooms were nice, beds were comfy. The bath and body work products in the bathroom were good. Breakfast is not free, which I didn't realize. I wondered down for coffee morning and a woman offered to seat me. I observed a buffet set up and agreed the waitress did not mention there was a cost, maybe I should have known better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Jitdinga,
Thank you for the great feedback! I apologize for the waitress not communicating to you with regards to the cost of breakfast. We do have certain packages and rates that do include breakfast. I truly hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in the future!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
26
28
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I just wanted to thank the Staff, clerks, food servers, chef, cooks, waitstaff, bar staff, housekeeping staff for all that you did to make our photographers convention seamless. We appreciate all that you did to partner with us to make our speakers feel comfortable and welcome as well as the photographers who traveled to Roanoke and spend the night or two. Thank you once more for all you did to make our convention a success.
Bruce M

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Bruce M,
Thank you for the great feedback! We value comments like these and will celebrate our success at our employee meeting on March 20th! Please let me know if there is anything that you may need!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For two years the VPPA convention was held at the Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View. It has to be one of the nice accommodating facilities we have used in some years. The friendly staff, spacious rooms, clean meeting rooms and good food made our convention one to be remembered. Jim

Room Tip: Be ready for a good experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jim C,
Thank you for the comments. We are so proud to have been a part of your conference the past two years. We will miss you in 2014 & 2015. There were many memories made this year! Really, who will forget seeing Kevin in that Ostrich outfit!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn last week for the VA Professional Photographers convention. The room was clean and although it's not a new hotel, it has been maintained very well. The staff were very friendly and always helpful when needed. I asked the front desk for directions to an area outside of Virginia, and they said they would no some research for me. When I stopped by the desk 5 minutes later, they had printed out a map for me. This is a great hotel for a conference or a place to stay as you're travel through. The price of the room was very reasonable. The bed was very comfortable and they have 2 types of pillows which they label for you; soft or firm. The food at the restaurant was good, and the service I received was great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Don M,
Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We value your comments and I will read your response during on next all employee meeting on March 20th!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is our 2nd or 3rd convention here and the staff is very acommodating. They seem to be happy to take care of any request. My big issue with most hotels is the flat pillows. I like that this hotel has a ribbon around one pillow that says soft and one that is hard. So at least 3 of the six pillows on your bed should be good, and they were. The beds were very comfortable. They had installed the bow type of shower curtains. That's great for some one with a 6'3" wing span, but they are too short and don't go into the tub. So the floor gets soaked and you need the floor mat and a towel to keep the floor dry. When I first checked in, the toilet didn't look as thoroughly cleaned as it should have been, but we had one of the maid staff on the floor come take care of it with out a problem. They have a nice indoor and outdoor pool, as well as a decent gym. Overall, it's a great place for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear KaiserPhoto,
We value your comments regarding you most recent stay with us! Whenever the occassion does arise, we hope to see you here when traveling back to the Roanoke Valley!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my first time attending the VPPA Conference, and staying at The Roanoke Valley View Holiday Inn. I enjoyed the conference and my stay in the hotel. The staff was accommodating to our every need. I am very particular about my bedding, and room cleanliness in every way, and it exceeded my expectations. The staff was helpful and courteous at any time of day or night. I would stay here again, whether I was attending a conference or just in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear PamSoper,
Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your most recent stay with us while attending the VPPA annual convention! See you in 2016!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Large room, everything you could need, desk, internet access, microwave, coffee maker, fridge. Beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Clean room. Friendly staff & safe location. Nice place to stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear MommyR2,
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us! I will read your comments to the staff at our next employee meeting on February 20th! We look forward to you next stay with us!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.