We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but needs renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, but needs renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights for an event. The hotel lobby was nice and cozy, but the hallways and rooms were dark and in need of renovations. The elevators were a little scary. They moved weird and made funny sounds while operating. The room was clean, but it's time for a remodel. The furnishings were a bit dated. The linens could have been a bit fresher. There is a bar/restaurant area in the lobby, that had good food. The breakfast was good. Very convenient location. Right off the interstate and close to the airport. There is a shuttle to the hotel and local mall. Lots of places to eat in the surrounding area. The staff was very polite friendly. There are inside rooms that overlook the lobby and pool area (no outside window) and rooms with an outside view. I chose an outside view since the lobby area can be a bit noisy if the hotel or pool is busy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor with an outside view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Callypt,
Sorry for the delay in resonding back to your feedback. First and foremost, Thank You for your comments. We value all comments for us to grow and to better our services and products. I have forwarded your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments for further inspection. We certainly hope that the next time your travels should bring you back through the Roanoke Valley, you will give us another opportunity to demonstate our true level of hospitality.
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
26
28
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here 1 night on a road trip. Parking & check in was really easy. Great swimming pool and hot tub, full bar, and restaurant. There were some events here that kept it busy the Sat night we stayed. We didn't hardly interact with the staff...they were cordial, and the rate was pretty good. Wifi was free but slow, and they just gave me 1 breakfast coupon for 2 people ($10 value). Room was nice (large) and the bed was pretty comfortable. I was able to hook up my HDMI cable to the TV in the room so I could watch my laptop on the big screen (some hotels block the port). Breakfast was alright, not great (and not worth $10 IMHO).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear emandj,
Thank you for your comments on your most recent stay at our Hotel in August. Your comments have been reviewed with our staff to ensure all aspects of a guest stay is top notch! If your travels should ever bring you back through the Roanoke Valley, we certainly hope that you will stay with us again!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night going & coming back from flying to Whistler, Canada. Very convenient and easy to get to off the interstate & close to the airport. I was able to leave my car at the hotel and the hotel shuttle will take you and pick you up at any time at the airport which was very nice.
The staff was friendly. The room was nice enough but the bathroom needed some work. Looks like they had updated the vanity but that was about it. Nice bar and eating area. They had put down new carpet in the halls from our stay on the way to Whistler and coming back. I don't know who picked it out but it was horrible. Looked like something from a cheap motel in the 60's or 70's. They just knocked down the appearance & class of the hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't want a room over the bar and restaurant area as I would think it would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear BeachGal27949.
Thank you for your comments from your stay in August! We appreciate your input and certainly take to heart all comments. I am sorry that you did not like our new carpet. I hope that when your travels should need for your to overnight and leave your car and fly from ROA, we hope that you will be staying with us again! Please let me know if there is anything that I can do for you!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The bed and room were average, location good, plenty of parking, food average, lobby nice. The web site on Priceline showed $20 voucher for breakfast but after booking it with Priceline and asking for my voucher I was told it doesn't come with the voucher because it was Priceline ( so at this location beware) the staff were nice. The bad, the chairs in the room were very stained and even I wouldn't sit in them in, trim needs fixing and bathroom needs caulking, the morning front desk women should try to be understanding and have some empathy. Overall I would not ever want to stay here because the furniture grossed us out. Come on Holiday Inn your better then this!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Rustymrk,
Thank you for you feedback! I apologize for the furniture being stained in your guest room. I have forwarded your comments to my housekeeping staff to be on the lookout for a stained chair in one of our guest rooms as I do not know what room you were in. We have updated our priceline information. We are able to offer a great low rate at times with Priceline, unfortunately, the breakfast icon was checked for our hotel and indeed breakfast is not included with this particular rate, however in the future, please visit holidayinn.com to book a rate inclusive of breakfast. I truly hope that if your travels do bring you through the Roanoke Valley that you will allow us to provide our true level of hospitality!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Staff was freindly and helpful. Food was great would reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting Roanoke. This was our first time in Roanoke and will be staying at this hotel when we return.
The pool area was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ted W,
Thank you for the GREAT comments above! We value and celebrate the good with all of our staff and learn and grow from those that are not so good! We look forward to your return! We are ready and waiting for you!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visit Roanoke annually, and this is by far the best placed we've stayed, and look forward to staying there again next year. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we loved the pool, especially because we could enjoy it without having to be in the hot sun all the time.Very close to shopping, the airport, and very short drive to downtown.

Room Tip: Our Executive room had a larger than normal fridge, microwave, sofa, and lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nordway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear BillB32!
Thank you! We love our guests and we value your input, comments and tips! You are one savvy traveler! We look forward to your stay next year! Sorry for the delay in getting this comment to you... time is certainly flying by!
At your service,
Neil B. Ordway, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The location and service were fine not outstanding, the rooms were nice and comfortable. My only complaint is the staff at the lounge/breakfast area were below average and the $10 dollar breakfast, as well as the "fitness center" The meeting facilities exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View

Address: 3315 Ordway Drive, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Roanoke is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is centrally located to downtown Roanoke, 2 miles off I-81 and 1 mile from the Roanoke Regional Airport with complimentary airport shuttle. The hotel has 153 oversized guest rooms. All rooms have complimentary wireless and hardwired internet access. All public areas offer complimentary wireless internet access. Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Roanoke the optimal meeting place in Roanoke. Our Catering Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for weddings, conferences, banquets, military and family reunions and corporate meetings. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center, swim year round in our indoor heated pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our complimentary business center at this Roanoke Hotel. We are the only hotel in Roanoke that offers a private outdoor recreational area featuring two volleyball courts, outdoor heated pool, horseshoe pit and picnic area. Unwind in our full service restaurant Passports, for a sumptuous Dinner, cocktail or start your day with a hearty breakfast. Relax, it's Holiday Inn! Area attractions nearby: Blue Ridge Parkway, Virginia Tech, Valley View Mall, Taubman Museum of Art, Martinsville Speedway, Roanoke and Salem Civic Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Roanoke Valley View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.