We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Clean Rooms, but old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 6 Roanoke to your Saves list
Motel 6 Roanoke
6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Clean Rooms, but old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just a drab old hotel in a drab area of town. The staff was excellent as usual and the room was clean, just drab, drab, drab. Sorry I would not go back to this one unless all the other hotels were booked. I would also pick a nicer area of town to stay if there is one. I was just passing through

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for relaying your recent stay experience onto us and the fellow travelers that may or may not be passing thru the Roanoke area. I am happy to see that we kept our promise to you by supplying you a clean guest room and friendly service as we do with all our valued guest. I am sorry to see that you may not be returning to our property and although it is difficult anytime we lose any of our guests, I completely understand and respect any decision you have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
38
31
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed when the Hotel was booked solid and even with the large amounts of people checking in at the same time the staff was quick, friendly, and informative. Our room was also very clean. We were afraid that breakfast would be an issue with so many people, but everything was kept full and running smoothly. Even being very close to the airport was not an issue with the noise; never heard a thing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Good Evening and Thank You for letting us know that we kept our promise to you, as we do with all our valued and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable. We hope that when you return to the Roanoke area, that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I was quite surprised arriving at the property that it was all exterior entry to the rooms. Friendly reception when checking in. The reception had a bit of a mildew smell to it and I was afraid that the rooms would have the same smell to it. Well, they didn't but as I entered the room it a distinct smell of air freshener. Waking up in the morning there was no smell of mildew nor of the air freshener. Not sure the need of so much chemicals being sprayed in the room if there is nothing to cover up.

On the plus side - very comfortable bed, large and clean rooms; good size bathroom, and refrigerator.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for relaying your experience onto us. I am happy to see that for the most part that we kept our promise to you and made your stay with us a pleasant and comfortable one when we provided you with friendly service and a clean guest room. I do hope that when your travels bring you thru the area again, that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property. Have a Good Day and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel appeared to be dated in comparison to other Hampton Inn hotels we have visited previously, but the service was great from the contact made while traveling to checking in using our Hilton Points for the overnight stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for letting us know that we kept our promise to you and supplied you with friendly service when you stayed with us. We do hope that we get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property when your travels bring you into the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is probably the only outside exterior Hampton Inn I have ever seen, but the property is very well kept. The check in process was a breeze and the young lady at the front desk was more than friendly. I wish I could remember her name. The room itself is very nice, very roomy and it is always nice to have a micro and Fridge in the room. You can't beat a Hampton Bed they are always so comfortable. They did have a breakfast set up in the morning it looked good, but was running late and had to bypass the breakfast. Overall very nice property and clean rooms as well as very friendly staff all around.. I would definitely stay at this property again while in the Roanoke area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Good Morning I am very glad to see that we were able to provide you with friendly service and a great stay while you were in the Roanoke Area. I hope that the rest of your travels were good as well. If you are ever in the Roanoke Area again please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel and we would be more than happy to help you with lodging. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 6 nights at this hotel. Chose it because of the room rates and the Hilton chain. This property is near the airport and the highway but not much else. There's a good Mexican restaurant next door and a Waffle House across the street. Typical Hampton Inn complimentary breakfast. Housekeeping did a good job each day - clean room with no complaints. If you need nearby attractions like malls and stores, you'll travel 5-10 minutes to get there. I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Good Afternoon and thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport and I am glad to see that we provided you with Friendly service and clean rooms. If you are ever in the Roanoke area again and need help with your stay please do not hesitate to contact us and we will help you in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Hampton seemed a bit outdated compared to other Hampton Inn's I have stayed at. The room didn't smell "fresh," and the carpet/furnishing were outdated. The air conditioner continued to turn on and off all night long. The General Manager also refused to stand behind Hampton's 100% Guarantee. I would definitely stay at Hampton Inns again, but would think twice before staying at this particular location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Good Afternoon
I am very sorry that you were not happy with your stay here at Hampton and while you were staying with us if you would of contacted the front desk we would of been more than happy to get someone to check the a/c unit or moved you to another room. In your email you did not mention any of the issue other than the power outage to the GM of the hotel. I am once again very sorry for the power outage but it was nothing that the hotel did that caused the outage. Thank you for response and I hope you had a safe trip to your destination and have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke

Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel 6 is pet friendly and pets stay free at Motel 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.