We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roanoke Hampton Inn (Airport)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel 6 Roanoke to your Saves list
Motel 6 Roanoke
6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
roanoke, United States
1 review
“Roanoke Hampton Inn (Airport)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

we have stayed here numerous times when traveling through. the value and convenience make it ideal for us. for an older hampton, it is kept in excellent condition and it appears that there is pride by the staff in the facility

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa A, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Good Morning it was a pleasure to have you back at our property. We are happy to see that we kept our promise to you as our valued guest and made your stay a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you are back in the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
38
31
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This property is obviously an older one, but it seems like they are doing their best to keep it up to modern standards. The staff was insanely pleasant and nice!! Check in and check out was efficient, the room was clean, the bed was comfy, and they had Froot Loops at breakfast :) I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for letting us know of how your stay went while you were in the Roanoke area. We are pleased to know that we kept our promise to you and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We look forward to getting the opportunity to Welcome you back to our hotel property when and if your travels bring you into the Roanoke area again. Have a Great Day and safe travels to your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well-trained, pleasant and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Walk up outdoor entrance a bit less convenient than usual, but well-maintained. Happened to be traveling the same weekend that families were taking kids to colleges, so property was heavily booked and we could not get a 1st floor room. Excellent experience nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for relaying your experience here @ the Hampton Inn onto us and the fellow travelers. We are happy to see that we kept our promise to you and anyone else associated within your reservation and supplied you with friendly service from our staff and a clean guest. We look forward to Welcoming you back to our property whenever your travels bring you into the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I prefer to stay at Hampton Inn's whenever I travel. I chose this hotel because it was close to I-81 while we were on our way to taking our kids to college. We were pulling a u-haul trailer and when I got to the hotel around 10pm the parking lot did not have any spaces where I could park with the trailer. I went into the office and checked in and inquired as to where I could park and they instructed me to just pull up from the office and park along the curb. I found the hotel staff to be extremely friendly, more so than most of the hotel that I have been to. The rooms are very spacious and I found our room to be very clean. I was surprised to find the bed to be very hard and that there seemed to be no variety in the pillow's as well.

As mentioned by other reviews the room's are entered from the outside with no indoor hallway. The biggest problem with this is there is so much light outside that it keeps the room from getting dark. This is a good thing when your outside at night but bad when trying to sleep. The curtains just don't block enough of the light. The breakfast was great and the breakfast area was very clean also.

The hotel was clean and the staff was great but that was not enough to overcome a bad nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for letting us know how your stay went while you were with us while passing thru Roanoke. I am glad to see that our staff supplied you with the kind of service you come to expect and deserve during your travles. I do apologize that there were a few areas of the hotel that may have kept you from having a good nights sleep, but Thank You for letting us know of the beds, pillows and curtains. I will speak with my GM and see if we can get some of these problems remedied so that hopefully if you are in the area again, these problems will not arise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We were heading to Hilton head and needed a place to stay to break up the 13 hr trip from New Jersey. This location was right off of rt. 81 and very convenient. We were greeted warmly at reception and issued room keys in less than a minute, which was much appreciated after being on the road all day. The room was clean, comfortable and accommodating with LCD TV, mini fridge, firm mattresses. Breakfast the next morning was perfect to get us going and the staff was welcoming and attentive. Plus, the price was right for the quality. The rooms have doors to the outside, which is clearly noted when booking, but this doesn't diminish the quality of the property. When back in the area, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Good Afternoon. I would like to Thank You for relaying your stay experience here at the hotel property with us and the fellow travelers who would be needing a place to stay while they are on the road. We are happy to see that we kept our promise to you and supplied you with friendly service, a clean guest room and a good breakfast to get your day started. We look forward to Welcoming you back to our property when your travels bring you into the area again. Have a good day and we hope you had a safe trip to your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Even though the rooms enter to the outside (Renovated Property) this hotel was an excellent choice and when you factor the value for the money, it was outstanding. The staff was a delight, rooms were very big for a Hampton and bathroom was very large with a tub/shower combo and large separate shower, two sinks in separate dressing area with fridge, freezer and microwave. Will stay there again on my next trip to Roanoke.

Ps. the Mexican restaurant next door is very good too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Good Morning. We wanted to Thank You for letting us know that as one of our many valued guest, that we appreciate you letting us know that we kept our promise to you and supplied you with friendly service, clean guest room and comfortable surroundings. We are also happy to see that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property when your travels bring you thru the Roanoke area again. Have a Great Day and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We usually always stay at Hamptons or Hilton Garden Inns and we usually know what to expect from a standard hotel of this chain. When we booked this hotel we knew that room access was from the outside, so I don't see any reason to grade it as negative or positive, because you are aware of the fact when you book and you proceed based on that knowledge. This hotel was offering the best price among Hamptons in this area, and that decided it for us.

Cleanliness - always a very important issue for me - this hotel was very clean. I didn't see any old stains on the carpet or upholstery in the room or in the dining area (like in some Hampton's that had turned me away from Hamptons for a while). The bed was spotless, the bathroom was clean. The only thing that they always forget to clean (and it applies to pretty much every single Hampton I stayed in) that plastic grate above your head in the bathroom that covers lights and vents. In this Hampton there were 2 or 3 of them and one of them above the toilet had dust and spider webs all over it. Please clean it, guys, it spoils the overall impression.

Room setup - we loved it. A bathtub with a separate shower area and a separate vanity outside of the bathroom was a very pleasant surprise. The room and the bathroom were very spacious for a Hampton. Our room had a microwave and a fridge with a separate freezer compartment.

Swimming pool - we didn't use it, but it looked pretty, it's an outdoor pool, it even has a special lift for handicapped people.

Breakfast - the usual Hampton fare, which tends to be better on weekends - scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.

Staff - courteous enough.

The only reason I am giving this hotel 4 stars is because my first impression was that the place was not very safe - we arrived around 10 pm and the main door was locked, the receptionist told me that the room number is on my key and she wouldn't want to say it out loud in case someone overheard - small things that trigger concern. My fears were not confirmed in any way. I didn't see any shady people hanging around, so it's just a side note.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for the comments you shared on our Trip Advisor website. We are happy to see that we made your stay a comfortable and pleasant one while you were with us. We find that with all our valued guest such as yourself that we kept our promise to you and supplied you with friendly service, clean guest room and comfortable surroundings. We do look forward to Welcoming you back to our hotel property when and if your travel plans bring you into the area. Safe travels and we wish you a Great Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke

Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel 6 is pet friendly and pets stay free at Motel 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.