We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Roanoke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel 6 Roanoke to your Saves list
Motel 6 Roanoke
6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport several times on my trips to Atlanta. I know I'll have a clean, comfortable room. The folks who work there are very good at helping you with directions, etc. My room had a king bed, and the bathroom had a separate tub and shower. There is easy access to I-81, downtown Roanoke and Valley View Mall, where most of the eateries are located.

Room Tip: This is a two-story building with room access from the outside. If you have trouble with stairs ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for sharing your experience with us and fellow travellers. We are pleased to know that we kept our promise to you by offering you friendly service, clean guest rooms and comfortable surroundings each time you have stayed with us. We look forward to having you return with us when you are in the area again and we hope your next trip is as comfortable one and lives up to your expecations as past stays. Safe travels and a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
38
31
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overnight stay near the airport, lovely staff, clean room, comfortable bed and quiet! Comp breakfast and beverages nice touch with tables and television in main lobby ... Staff very kind, bringing extra toiletries and towels if needed, and quite cheerful. A great place to stay near restaurants and the airport in the Star City of the South.

Room Tip: ask for first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Good Afternoon and Thank You for supplying all of our future guests and the hotel property the opportunity to know that we kept our promise to you as our valued guest and anyone else associated within your reservation and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We appreciate the comments from all our guests, whether it was a good stay or not such a good stay. This way we know what areas if any of the hotel that would need improving upon to make everyones stay a good one when they stay with us and are supplied with the kind of service they come to expect and deserve. We do hope that if you are ever travelling thru the area again, that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property. We hope you had safe travels to your point of interest and wish you a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Property is an older one that has been updated. Has outside entry doors which I am not a fan of. Which means you have to walk outside to get to the lobby area for breakfast. That said rooms have been updated and are clean. I had one that had a separate sink and also tub/shower with another shower. needless the room was large. TV is nice and large, good selection of channels.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the south side away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for relaying your experience during your stay with us here @ the Hampton Inn Airport in Roanoke, Va. We are happy to see that we kept our promise to you and supplied you with a clean and comfortable room. We do hope that as our valued guest that we provided you the kind of service you come to expect and deserve in all other areas of the hotel property and that when you return to the area, that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. Have a good day and safe travels to your next destination and Thank You once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is an older style 2 story building with exterior doors (no elevator). It looks to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are very clean and updated with new furniture, wallpaper, paint, and bath fixtures. It is just off the highway, but far enough away that you don't hear any road noise. There are many nice restaurants within 2 miles (actually at the next exit south at the mall).
The rate here was better than the other HHonor properties in Roanoke. Would definitely stay here if in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good Afternoon. I would like to Thank You for relaying your experience here at the Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport thru our Trip Advisor landing page and for letting us know that we kept our promise to you as our valued guest and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We do hope that if you are ever in the area again in your travels, that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay overnight on our way to Nashville from PA. I had an idea how far we might get so I scoped out some places ahead of time. I knew that this was not a typical Hamptons set-up as they did not have interior hallways but built more like a motel w/ exterior entrances. So Hamptons must have bought the property and renovated.

The room was clean. The sink was outside of the bathroom so if you had a few people in your room, they could wash up while one of them used the bathroom. One complaint was that the heating/cooling system was very loud. We ended up turning it off for the night.

The breakfast was typical of the Hamptons. The staff was nice. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room if you have lots of luggage. no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good Morning and I hope that your week has started out very well. Thank You for your review on our trip advisor and your experience here at the Hampton Inn Airport in Roanoke, Virginia. We are happy that you made it safely to our property and for the most part we kept our promise to you and anyone associated within your reservation, a good nights stay. I do apologize about the unit for the ac/heating and hope this was not a inconvenience for you all. I am not sure if you reported this to the guest service agent at the front desk either during your stay or before you left, which I hope you did so we can avoid this type of situation from happening again. I do hope that when you are travelling thru the Roanoke area again, that we will get the opportunity to Welcome you back to our property and if your travels take you elsewhere, that you will have safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend for the CHRVA "Shamrock" volleyball tournament. We were initially concerned about the outside access style of motel... Entry to every room from exterior walkways, as opposed to hotel style interior hallways. As it turned out, there was nothing to be concerned about. The room was VERY quiet -- no outside/road/auto noise. Transit to the breakfast area was all covered so other than being in fresh outside air, there was no exposure to the weather. All other attributes(service, breakfast, 24-hr coffee & cookies, etc.) was in keeping with Hampton Inn superior standards. The price was a bit lower than expected (perhaps due to the potentially perceived "inconvenience" of exterior access rooms. This simply proved to be a bonus attraction to this lodging location, because we received the same awesome Hampton service that we have come to expect, for about 10% than expected. As a point of reference, we have also stayed at the Roanoke Hampton (I-81/Hollins) and its neighboring Country Inn & Suites. All three are of equally top caliber; Hampton Airport costs less and is MORE convenient to Roanoke amenities. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We would like to Thank You fro taking the time to let us and our guest know of your experience here at the Hampton Inn Airport. We appreciate all of our valued guest feedback and concerns if ever there is any that are mentioned. Our promise to you like all our guests is to give you a clean room, comfortable surroundings and friendly service and I am happy to see that we lived up to your expectations petaining to this. I will pass on your comments to our management team and staff and we look forward to Welcoming you back to our property when you are in town again. Have a Great Day and safe travels to your next destination when you are out on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel shows what can be done with the old-style motel with outside doors. In Hampton style, the interior is very nice though still configured like a familiar motel from the '60s. One odd thing for us was we were in the room to almost noon one day, then out and about, and the room was never made up. Not that we make much of a mess in one day, but having the tiny trash cans emptied would be nice. The location is very convenient for dining, shopping, or visiting Hollins.

Room Tip: If weather is bad, you might want to be close to the center area, since there are no inside corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for relaying the experience of your stay thru trip advisor so we can be informed of how your stay went with us. We appreciate all of our valued guests feedback so that we can improve in areas of the hotel in order to make everyones stay a comfortable and pleasant one while they are with us. We do hope that when you are in the area again, we will get the opportunity to Welcome your return stay with us and we hope you had a safe trip once you left our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke

Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel 6 is pet friendly and pets stay free at Motel 6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.