We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as every awesome "inside access" Hampton Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Roanoke

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Roanoke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Roanoke
6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
The Plains
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“As great as every awesome "inside access" Hampton Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend for the CHRVA "Shamrock" volleyball tournament. We were initially concerned about the outside access style of motel... Entry to every room from exterior walkways, as opposed to hotel style interior hallways. As it turned out, there was nothing to be concerned about. The room was VERY quiet -- no outside/road/auto noise. Transit to the breakfast area was all covered so other than being in fresh outside air, there was no exposure to the weather. All other attributes(service, breakfast, 24-hr coffee & cookies, etc.) was in keeping with Hampton Inn superior standards. The price was a bit lower than expected (perhaps due to the potentially perceived "inconvenience" of exterior access rooms. This simply proved to be a bonus attraction to this lodging location, because we received the same awesome Hampton service that we have come to expect, for about 10% than expected. As a point of reference, we have also stayed at the Roanoke Hampton (I-81/Hollins) and its neighboring Country Inn & Suites. All three are of equally top caliber; Hampton Airport costs less and is MORE convenient to Roanoke amenities. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We would like to Thank You fro taking the time to let us and our guest know of your experience here at the Hampton Inn Airport. We appreciate all of our valued guest feedback and concerns if ever there is any that are mentioned. Our promise to you like all our guests is to give you a clean room, comfortable surroundings and friendly service and I am happy to see that we lived up to your expectations petaining to this. I will pass on your comments to our management team and staff and we look forward to Welcoming you back to our property when you are in town again. Have a Great Day and safe travels to your next destination when you are out on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
36
29
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel shows what can be done with the old-style motel with outside doors. In Hampton style, the interior is very nice though still configured like a familiar motel from the '60s. One odd thing for us was we were in the room to almost noon one day, then out and about, and the room was never made up. Not that we make much of a mess in one day, but having the tiny trash cans emptied would be nice. The location is very convenient for dining, shopping, or visiting Hollins.

Room Tip: If weather is bad, you might want to be close to the center area, since there are no inside corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Good Morning and Thank You for relaying the experience of your stay thru trip advisor so we can be informed of how your stay went with us. We appreciate all of our valued guests feedback so that we can improve in areas of the hotel in order to make everyones stay a comfortable and pleasant one while they are with us. We do hope that when you are in the area again, we will get the opportunity to Welcome your return stay with us and we hope you had a safe trip once you left our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

While attending the Virginia State Wrestling Tourney, we stay at the Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport. For years they have been giving us first class service. You can't beat it. Great prices, great services, friendly people!!

Room Tip: King size bedrooms are on the back side of the hotel, and if a quiet stay is what you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank You for posting your recent stay with us on our trip advisor site. We are pleased that we kept our promise to you all as our valued guest and made your stay a enjoyable one.. We look forward to Welcoming you back to the hotel property when you are in the area, either as a group or leisurely trip. We do hope that you all had a safe trip to your next destination and wish you a very good day and once again, Thank You for choosing Hampton Inn as your location for your event group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Outside entrance, not remodeled in this decade and within the first 5 minutes of coming in the room, we saw 2 stink bugs... need I say more. Maybe the positive comments were coming from the other Hampton Inns in the area. Now we know why it was cheaper than the other ones...

Oh, and by the way there was a post it on the one headboard saying the "duvet covers and sheets are clean for your arrival"...well thank you, I think we'll sleep on that bed! The other bed didn't have such a post it...

Thank goodness this is just a stop over.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Morning. I would like to Thank You for letting us know of how your stay went and I do apologize for the unfortunate experience that you encountered. The stink bugs in this area are a nuisance and as our valued guest, we do try our best to ensure you have a clean room when you checkin and unfortunately with apologies this did not happen during your stay with us. I do hope that the next time you are in the area, that you find lodging that lives up to your expectations and I hope you all had safe travels to your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Greatly enjoyed our stay, we don't go out too often so it makes a difference as to when the next time will come. It was a longer trip to the restaurants but the room balanced out that slight inconvenience. Look forward to our next stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Good Morning, we are happy to hear that during your recent stay with us that we lived up to your expectations, kept our promise to you and made your stay a pleasant one while you were in the Roanoke area. We do hope that you had safe travels to your next destination and look forward to the opportunity of Welcoming you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The room was clean and the heat turned on for us (it was really cold outside). The breakfast area was one of the cleanest ones I've seen and a Hampton Inn. We like to stay at Hampton Inns, and my only complaint is that the breakfast gets old fast. An omlet station and/or real sausage and eggs would be nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank You for relaying your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor and we are pleased that as our valued guest that we kept our promise to you and anyone else associated within your reservation and made your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We do hope that we get the opportunity to Welcome you all back to our property when you are in the Roanoke area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you are comfortable with the current UPDATED Hampton Inn properties, you don't want to stay here. Walking in to the room was a flashback of a 1970's motel room.. After reading the other reviews maybe I got one of the antiquated rooms or an older wing. None of the furniture matched, carpet was well past the time to be updated. Positives: it had a nice tv???

I stayed for an hour, they were nice enough to credit my account - but I just was not comfortable. When you travel 100+ nights a year - you expect a certain level from Hampton. This one was clearly not met.

Room Tip: They do have a highway side - I would try and avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Manager at Motel 6 Roanoke, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank You for supplying the feedback of your arrival experience and as to why you departed much earlier than expected instead of staying with us. I do apologize that our hotel property did not live up to your expectations when you arrived and I do hope that you found the type of lodging that met your needs while you were in Roanoke. I do wish that we would have known of this before you completed the checkin process and we would have been more than happy to find you a hotel that you felt was what you would expect because as our valued guest, your comfort and happiness is our #1 priority. I do hope that you had a safe trip to your next destination with no delay. Thank You once again and have a Great Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Roanoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Roanoke

Address: 6621 Thirlane Rd. N.W., Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport)
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 Roanoke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Roanoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.