We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The lack of hot water. I have never stayed in a hotel that didn't have hot water. Not to mention the water not draining in the bathtub - nothing like taking a shower and standing in six inches of water. The tub didn't finally drain until at least 20 minutes after getting out of the shower.

The temperature in the room had 2 settings - lava and arctic. There was no in between. HBO doesn't work unless you can see through the serious static. I will never stay in this hotel ever again and has made me rethink ever again staying in a Quality *and I use that term quite loosely* Inn.

The only good thing about the hotel, it had a strong wireless connection to the internet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
We at the Quality Inn Airport are sorry to hear about the troubles you had during your stay with us. We have adopted a more serious customer service plan at our property to handle all guest requests and needs in a timely fashion. I encourage all guests, who may have trouble during their stay, to seek management for rectification. We take pride in doing everything that is needed to make our guests feel comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    49
    27
    50
See reviews for
56
27
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at this hotel traveling home for a funeral and it was not such a great experience. We got there and the parking lot was full of snow. The walkways were horrible my little girl fell on the side walk . You would think that a hotel would clean the walkways. We asked for a non smoking room, when we got into the room it seemed okay until we went to bed and the sheets and pillowcases smelled like second hand smoke. I don't know if it has ever occured to anyone there, but people do have allergic reactions to smoke. My husband tried to call the front desk no answer. By that time my little one was tired and sleepy so we made the best of it. The hotel needs some TLC.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
We are very sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. I see that your arrival was during the large snow storm we received in December. The entire management team stayed at the property during the storm to help and assist all our guests during that trying time. All of our main walkways were shoveled and maintained during and after the storm. The issue you had with your linen was addressed with housekeeping and we are using a stronger smelling soap to launder our linens. Again, we are very sorry your stay was not enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

could have been cleaner. don't know about the smells the others indicate because i don't have a sense of smell. rooms are shopworn, but i did like the firm bed as most places have beds that are too soft for me. this place needs to be refurbished.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

From friendly staff, to unadvertised accommodations for airline travelers (free shuttle to and from the airport, free parking in a secure, well-lit parking lot while you're away) to clean, comfortable rooms, way-better-than-average complimentary breakfast and newspaper, to round-the-clock hot coffee, Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is in a class by itself. On our return, we were stranded at O'Hare for hours, awaiting a connecting flight scheduled to depart OHare around 5 p.m. At 9:30, we phoned Quality Inn's 800 number and cancelled our room reservation in Roanoke. United Airlines finally found a plane and took off, arriving Roanoke Airport after midnight, the next day. Quality Inn paid a private taxi to pick us up at the airport in the wee small hours, then upgraded our room, at the price of our cancelled reservation. Great service... Virginia hospitality. You can pay more for STAR-ratings, but I doubt there's more customer satisfaction available at any price. Thank you, Quality Inn!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
We at the Quality Inn thank you very much for the great review of our hotel. We are very proud to offer amenities that you wouldn't normally see in a Quality Inn such as the Free shuttle to the Airport and the hot breakfast buffet...We enjoy taking care of our guests and love to hear when we have done our jobs and you left us feeling satisfied! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, VA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed here for one night recently because I had business in downtown Roanoke the next day. Though it was reasonable in price, it looks like a place that kind of "hitting the skids". Long grass and weeds growing around the premises, tired and worn out looking building and rooms. The room smelled pretty funky, and it was a little creepy and dark in the back of the building on a night where they didn't have many guests. The night I stayed there, it appeared to be the kind of place where construction workers were being put up for the night.

On the plus side, the front desk folks were very pleasant and professional and the breakfast was fine, although the dining area had the same slightly down-and-out appearance.

I think I'll opt for spending an extra few bucks on my next trip to Roanoke.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

When ever I travel with the family I take into account the breakfast. This enables us to save money and time. This hotel had a complete hot breakfast with eggs and a waffle maker. The room itself was clean and spacious. We did hear some airplane traffic as we were on the side of the hotel closest to the runway. I would recommend staying in the other side of the property. Overall, this was perfect for a short stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property was clean and cared for but showing some wear and age (needs paint, landscaping attention). Stayed here twice this week. Had problem with TV in room, they moved us 2 doors down within 10 minutes. The breakfast was better than I've had at more expensive places. Waffles, fruit, eggs, biscuits, sausage. Even though it's showing some age, you can tell the staff cares - the GM was even working the front desk Saturday night. Nice pool. Restuarant on site but we didn't eat there. Every staff person I walked past said Hello. Fridge & MW in room. Super fast Internet. Great A/C. Overall a great deal. Don't let a few bad reviews throw you - perfect place for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.