We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

When ever I travel with the family I take into account the breakfast. This enables us to save money and time. This hotel had a complete hot breakfast with eggs and a waffle maker. The room itself was clean and spacious. We did hear some airplane traffic as we were on the side of the hotel closest to the runway. I would recommend staying in the other side of the property. Overall, this was perfect for a short stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    46
    26
    50
See reviews for
56
27
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property was clean and cared for but showing some wear and age (needs paint, landscaping attention). Stayed here twice this week. Had problem with TV in room, they moved us 2 doors down within 10 minutes. The breakfast was better than I've had at more expensive places. Waffles, fruit, eggs, biscuits, sausage. Even though it's showing some age, you can tell the staff cares - the GM was even working the front desk Saturday night. Nice pool. Restuarant on site but we didn't eat there. Every staff person I walked past said Hello. Fridge & MW in room. Super fast Internet. Great A/C. Overall a great deal. Don't let a few bad reviews throw you - perfect place for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

No way will I stay here again. The floors were dirty, the toilet dirty, the a/c unit smelled bad. The room itself was musty. The good thing is that the sheets were clean (you could smell the bleach odor).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
We are truly sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to standards. We have a dedicated management staff always available to assist our guests with whatever problem you may have. We take pride in handling all guest inquiries with professionalism and understanding and will always try to make things right! Please feel free to seek management during your stay as we are always here to help! We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I was able to book this very cheaply on Priceline, and cannot complain at all. I only spent one night there, on a trip between Northern Virginia and Tennessee.

One thing I could not believe is that they have a full hot breakfast with freshly cooked eggs and bacon, waffles, etc. Much better than the microwaved eggs you get at Hampton/HI Express, etc.

The hotel is old. It is an old exterior-corridor Holiday Inn style, but the room was perfectly clean, and the bed was great. AC was a little old and noisy though. And the bar closes at 10PM, which I thought was quite early.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury NC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I have been staying here off and on for the past year. I always receive excellent service. The rooms are clean and the staff takes very good care of us. If I do have a problem the staff takes care of it ASAP. I do appreciate the transportation to the places they have to take us. All the staff comes up and talks to us and we are on a first name basis. The rooms are clean, they have plenty of parking, a bar and pub at night. I will continue to stay here. The courtyard is well maintained and looks beautiful in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The room was very smelly, the crud was growing between the sink and the backsplash, bath ceiling was water stained, toilet tank overflowed and toilet was broken at the floor, spiders, very smelly sheets and pillows.....shall I go on? The pub/grille was supposed to be open 6-10pm but upon arriving at 8pm to get something to eat, the bartender told me she sent the cook home and she was leaving. Do yourself a favor and stay across the street at the Hampton. I had to stay there 3 nights and I would rank this #2 on the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. General maintenance is a real issue there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2009
We are sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay at the Quality Inn Airport. We work hard to make sure every one of our guests are happy with the accommodations provided. I strongly encourage guests with any questions or concerns to seek management right away so we can rectify the problem to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marion, va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

we stayed here with our two young children. the floor was filthy, the towels were musty. there was no heat in the bathrooms - and it was very cold. the heat in our room didn't work very well - we had it on 90 just to stay slightly warm. the room was large - i did like that. there was a sleeper sofa, and even with it pulled out there was room to move around. there were two bathrooms and two seperate sinks, which was nice. there seemed to be air coming in around the door - all the rooms have an outside door (which i didn't like, nor did i know about).

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — wasn't worth the price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekrakowski, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, December 1, 2008
We at the Quality Inn take guest satisfaction very seriously. The Choice 100% satisfaction guarantee says, "If there is something wrong with your stay and we are unable to rectify the problem to your satisfaction, then you will not pay for that portion of your stay." Although we are unable to make every guest happy, we certainly strive to live up to our reputation as a clean, guest service oriented hotel. We were recently given a 93% score in cleanliness on our latest Quality Assurance inspection from Choice Hotels and take pride in delivering our guests a clean comfortable room. We also listen to our guests, which is why we offer a free deluxe hot breakfast buffet in the morning and are currently upgrading our fitness room with a new decor and brand new equipment. Please be assured that the management of the Quality Inn Roanoke cares about our guests. Happy Holidays to all!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.