We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, mixed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Ashburn, Va
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good value, mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Reasonable price.

Great, hot, full breakfast. Continually stocked and plentiful. Q.I. breakfast experience had been the decision-maker for this stay, which has three neighbor hotels to choose from.

Room was renovated. Bed was comfortable. Shower was real tile; no mildew. Clean and new.

TV was a nice 40"(?) Flat screen.

I did not like the fake wood floor.

The entry door was sorry. Obviously overlooked in renovation. Had some keycard issues, where they didn't work in the door.

The tub did not drain well because of a huge mass of hair in the drain, which speaks to the pride and attention to detail of the cleaning staff. Room was otherwise very clean.

Paid in advance. No refund type.

Overall...For the same price, I would stay again. I'd hope for some refinement of the small issues.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed one night on the way back to Hilton Head with our dog. Stayed in refurbished king. Room was clean ; the bedding comfortable; breakfast ok--not great---but for the price---the value is hard to beat anywhere. Especially when you compare "pet cleaning charges" elswhere, that can be more than we paid for this room. Should travel plans include a stay in Roanoke in route, will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was looking for a reasonable priced hotel in Roanoke, Va for the Blue Ridge Bike Fest April 9 and 10, 2015 and happened upon the Quality Inn with a very good rate. It had all of the qualities I was looking for like free breakfast, parking for a motorcycle trailer, close to all of the restaurants, but was it clean and safe? You bet!!!!! I was more than impressed with the newly renovated rooms, clean lobby, friendly desk staff and great breakfast. All for just over $50.00 bucks. I know where I'm staying next year when I come back.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first time staying here and apparently they are undergoing renovations. I will say that (after reading previous reviews) I can see the difference in the hotel from what others described before and what it currently looks like. The room we were in had hardwood floor which was nice. It was quiet, the front desk staff was nice and the breakfast was a full hot breakfast with eggs, bacon and waffles. I would stay here again. The only thing that I disliked was that our AC unit didnt really work well and our door didnt shut completely. Unless it was locked, it just pulled open.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review about your stay. We appreciate you taking the time in leaving a review for other travelers to see in regards to your experience at our hotel. I hope that you will stay with us again during your traveling through Roanoke Viriginia in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here while on our way back driving from Florida. It is conveniently located off I-81 on a hill and close to gas stations and a grocery store which are just down the street. Presently this hotel doesn't get a very good overall rating but it is now improving and under new ownership. The hotel is presently undergoing renovations and we were very pleased with our renovated king size room. It was large with lots of space with laminate wood floors which added a very nice touch. All in all a very nice room with a small refrigerator and new furniture. Staff were very friendly and check in and out was efficient. Our breakfast room was very large and freshly renovated.The selection of breakfast items were very good and the quality was typical of this hotel chain type. The grounds need some sprucing up but I think that this should get better as improvements are being made.The wifi worked really well.
I would really recommend staying here, especially when the hotel has fully undergone all the renovations.
This hotel is in the hotel coupons booklets but the AAA rate was actually a bit cheaper at the time of booking.

Room Tip: You should ask for a room that has been renovated and you won't be disappointed. We stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you our loyal guest! We appreciate all the kind words about your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the near Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since this place was so reasonably priced I wasn't expecting too much, but when we first drove up I was right away impressed. The hotel is up on a hill and even at night I could tell it had a nice view. (Which it really did! It overlooks the area and the Roanoke airport (which is actually a nice view too!) The front of the hotel is modern looking and has nice curb appeal. The lobby area is very, very nice. I was greeted by a very friendly young man, and check in was simple. The property is actually large, and although he gave me a map I actually parked further away from my room but it wasn't that big a deal and I could have moved the car.

We had an inner room, which faced the pool which was a tad of a problem since two men were outside talking for a while. Even though it didn't last long, and putting the air unit on helped, I could see this *could* be more of a problem in the warmer weather. Although the pool was closed, it was still a relatively nice view, although the landscaping will probably need some work when spring is further along. The front landscaping is nicer. We were very pleasantly surprised by our room. It was larger than most rooms, and was recently updated. It had a nice modern feel with gray & green walls, black furniture, and some modern headboard. Pillows and bed were very comfortable, even thought at first I thought the mattress would be too soft. The room's central air unit looked quite old but worked efficiently. There was a space in the television console for a small fridge but there wasn't one. We did have a microwave, though. The bathroom was newly remodeled with really nice tile walls, but strangely enough there was not a finishing fixture over the ceiling light. We only had a small amount of toilet paper when we got there and had to request another roll in the morning, but that was minor.

The breakfast area is beautiful. Very large, some tables near the window and the view, and a decent selection of food, although it was definitely not the best breakfast of its type we have had. Even though they did have a 'hot' breakfast, the sausage seemed slightly undercooked. Scrambled egg-like product was ok, and then there were the typical waffle batter, assorted bread products, instant oatmeal, cold cereal, etc. Again, not great, but we made do. Overall, for the price, you can't go wrong, at least I don't think you can, at least not based on our stay. They also have a lot of banquet/meeting rooms. We also had a super nice girl at the front desk in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Jminy,
Thank you for your review about your stay. We all appreciate you taking the time to let other travelers know the kind of experience you had. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all the beautiful scenery at our Quality Inn, Isn't it just breath taking?

I do want to bring to your attention that the middle of April we will be having a Grand Opening for our Restaurant, "Taste of Jamaica". If you are traveling back through the Roanoke Valley in the near future, Please do stop in and try one of the many amazing dishes! Although the Restaurant will be Jamaican, They will also have a Full American menu as well!

Thank you again for your time in writing a review, and I hope to see you again Soon!.

Chris Francisco
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I called around to find a Hotel in Roanoke with the qoal being to get one with a fitness room. I found this hotel and made reservations. I found that my room had been recently remodeled. The fitness room only has cardio but the machines worked (although noisy). The wifi was very good, fast and no interruptions. I was pleased with the cost and quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we have to offer our guests. I hope that you will stop through again in the near future for any traveling through the Roanoke Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 81 ext 143 then only .5 Miles to exit 2S. Only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local calls Work off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size. All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required. When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.