We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill fast!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have stayed there for about two weeks during the summer for the past four years and were always pleased. We saw a huge decline this year. The hotel was apparently bought out about 9 months ago, and renovations have begun. However, because of some of those renovations, we were moved to three different rooms in 5 days due to various water issues from attempts at fixing the new plumbing. The breakfast is nothing like it had been - sausage every day rather than the variety of the past, no fruit or yogurt, only two choices of cereal (none kid friendly), lids didn't fit cups for coffee, waffle area was filthy with dripped batter, etc. Very disappointed! Ended up going to another hotel at midnight after they wanted to move us to a 4th room. Could be that completion of renovations will help some of the issues, but the breakfast won't improve until management decides to put a little money into it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
I do apologize that your experience was less than expecting. We are working very hard to bring the hotel and our standards to a different level here at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport. Renovations are about done, We have several rooms completely renovated and are almost done with the remaining few.

Breakfast is one of our strongest positives here, We do rotate Sausage and Bacon frequently, We also serve fresh scrambled eggs daily as well as Boiled egg, Fruit Cocktail, Fresh fruit, Yogurt, Toast/Bagel, Cereal, Self Serve Waffles, and much more. I'm very sorry that we were unable to provide more for you recent stay.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    49
    28
    50
See reviews for
56
28
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel and my experience exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The property is beautifully landscaped with blossoming trees and flowers throughout. The pool is enormous, refreshing and clean. The staff is very friendly and the owners Harry and Vinnie were extremely courteous and helpful. They serve a complimentary breakfast each morning with a wide variety for everyone to enjoy. During my stay there were renovations going on and new furniture coming in. Although they had this going on it never once effected my stay. The crew was very respectful and kept the mess to a minimum. I am very excited to return and see the fresh new look that this amazing property will have. I highly recommend that you stay here - a great bang for your buck!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Erica,
Thank you for such a great review in regards to your stay here at the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport. The owners Harry and Vinnie are definitely something, Being the heart of our hotel they go the extra mile with all our guests.

We are very pleased with the renovations, Last week all of our new furniture finally arrived and we have already began with finishing the rooms with installing all new furniture, vanities, 39' Flat screen television (With HD channels), hard wood floors, and much more!

Thank you again for your kind review and we really look forward to you returning to see all the new changes to our Beautiful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The accomodations were great. quiet despite being at full capacity. quality staff. overall a pleasant surprise. would recommend to friends looking for rest after a long travel. close to airport malls and eating establishments.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Jerrold,
Thank you for taking the time to express your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and hope that you and your family will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I will admit I was a little nervous about staying here based on some of the previous reviews, however I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been completely renovated, and are nice sized. The bathroom door was extremely close to the toilet, and the toilet lid was a little loose so it would catch the door a little, but it still closed. The bed was clean and comfortable, there were only two smallish pillows for our king size bed, but they were soft and comfortable. The hotel overall looks nice, the dining room was beautiful. The breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, waffles, muffins, that sort of thing. Plenty of everything, served on a buffet, so easy to access. The pool has just been renovated and was clean. My only concern/complaint about the pool was it only has ladder access, no stairs, and is 3 1/2 feet deep at the shallow end. Great for adults, not so great for kids. There did appear to be a small kiddy pool that was not yet renovated, so that will hopefully be ready soon.
I did notice a few pieces of trash here and there, (a to go cup, cigarettes, ect) but nothing maintenance would not have cleaned up later that day I'm sure.
I was a little concerned about the air conditioner drainage over the sidewalks, it was a little slippery and could pose a potential fall hazard, maybe add a grate or something so it's not on the sidewalks?
As we left I realized I had left my phone in the room, and we had already checked out, but the front desk attendant was very nice and gave me a key right away. Very polite and great customer service. :)
Over all, VERY pleasant stay, will definitely stay here if we are ever in the area again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
KG1988,
Thank you for taking that chance in stopping by our hotel despite the bad reviews that some of our guests have left for us here. We are working very hard in renovating the entire property and it is such a relief that some of our guests see the work being put into providing a better place for all of you (our guest).

Renovations are looking great, We are doing hard wood flooring, New furniture, New Flat Panel high definition 39' Televisions, and much more to the rooms. Breakfast has been touched up to provide more variety for all guests with different needs.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will come and visit us again in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

No need to board you with the dirty details. Bottom line is this is a horrible hotel. It had dirty bed sheets, holes in the walls that had been patched up with missed matched wall paper. Bathroom was dirty, sticky floors, and accumulated human hair on every corner. There was a a small unidentifiable bug walking across my bedsheet. Switched rooms only to find a worst room with a broken AC. Worst experience for me and my family ever.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Javier. I'm Terribly sorry that your stay at a local Quality Inn was not pleasant. I am however confused because at our location our rooms do not have wallpaper but is actually textured walls and painted. I do know a lot of travelers have been leaving reviews on our page in regards to other local Quality Inn hotels.

If you would like feel free to contact me directly and we can discuss these issues and pinpoint the correct property you visited during your travels.

Thank you,


Chris Francisco
Guest Services Manager
Cfrancisco@qiroanoke.com
540-366-8861
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although work was being done and the hotel was undergoing some remodel the staff was friendly the rooms were clean and the breakfast was excellent. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend if to my friend and family. Great stay overall!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are working very hard to finish renovations and look to be finished by the end of this month! Our staff will be very pleased to see their hard work and dedication is noticed. Thank you again and we how to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The staff were great. fixed any problem we had. went out of there way to serve us. the hotel is having work done. when its complete it will be a better place. you get what you pay for. if the other reviewers wanted high class them pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank You your National Guard friends. It is a nice relief that people do see that we are working hard to renovate the property and bring it back to its fullest potential. We enjoyed having you all here and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 81 ext 143 then only .5 Miles to exit 2S. Only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local calls Work off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size. All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required. When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.