We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Venice FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for the price you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The room was clean. I stayed for 5 nights. If you are looking for economy and not luxury than you are at the right place. The staff were all nice and took care of everything I asked for. They are working on the building but it has a long ways to go. I would stay for business but if I were with my wife and family I would spend a little more and stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are under renovations to upgrade the property and hope you will travel through in the near future to see all of our updates to the rooms and property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    45
    26
    50
See reviews for
55
26
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were on a 2 and a half week road trip and had made a reservation at this hotel. We even called them the day of and told them that we were running behind because of rain and they said they still had our room which was to be a king size suite. When we arrived they sad the room was not available... My husband was livid and said I made a reservation and I called ahead and now you say the room is not available?? They even handed him a baggy with candy and a water for what reason I have no clue! Then she said we can give you 2 king rooms side by side but we would have to pay for the extra room. We have 3 kiddos and I wasn't about to have our kids in a separate room. She assured me that these rooms were connected. So she gives me the keys and I said I will go look because rooms 222 and room 226 do not sound like they are connected. I walked to the rooms and guess what? 224 was in between!! Really?? The walkways were all chunked up concrete, the railings were so rusty I was afraid to put any weight on them and the windows on each room looked like they hadn't been washed in decades! I was so mad by the time I got back to the lobby that my hubby cancelled our reservation and we left. She had no apology and anything for us and believe me after traveling 10 hours and just wanting to lay down, this was not at all what we wanted to hear!! We ended up going 10 miles down the road to the Quality Inn in Troutville where the rooms were a thousand times better for the same price!! Skip Roanoke and go down the road to a better hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Sarah,
I do apologize that you encountered these Issues with your Reservation. To clarify, Our King Room suite does only have One King bed, I'm sure our front desk attendant was trying to help with suggesting a second room that would be suitable for your family of 5.

I went up to look at the issues that you stated of Rusty railing, Sidewalk chunked up with concrete and I must say I did not see any of these issues that you mentioned. We just recently renovated the entire exterior of the property so I'm not sure of where this could have been at.

Again I do apologize that you did not have a pleasant view of our hotel and if you wouldn't mind giving us a opportunity in the near future to rectify your oppinion of our hotel I would personally be more than happy to take care of you to ensure your stay is pleasant. You can email me directly at Cfrancisco@qiroanoke.com if you do travel through the area in the near future. I'll be sure to get your reservation in and guarentee a room to accomodate you and your family.

Thank you for taking the time to Review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The motel is an older motel, needs to update the tvs. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were here for 2 nights. We were very pleased with our stay. We enjoyed the pool in the afternoon

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
GergiaPeach268,
Thank you for your Review. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay with us during your travels. If you are traveling through Roanoke again we would love our Georgia friends to stay with us again and see all the new beautiful Renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is an older Hotel from the Early Sixties! You can tell that at one time the place hosted many guest and by the size of their restaurant (closed), ball rooms and Pool, you can tell that it once was a great hotel. The good news is that it is currently under construction to remodel the property. The painters were re-painting the outside while I was there and did not interfere with the comings and goings of the guest. I saw pictures of the new furniture that is going to be installed. I hope they re-work or replace the room a/c units as mine struggled to get the room cold.I put a small sign on the controls so the maid would not turn it off. The day I checked in it was off and the a/c unit struggled the entire week to get the room cold. THe good news is the staff was very helpful and my rate was very competitive so I guess I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dennis,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are most definitely trying to bring this beautiful hotel back to its full potential! We can't express how excited we are that we are about through with renovations, New 39' Flat Panel Televisions, Hardwood Floors, All new complete furniture, new bathroom vanities. We are taking the Quality Inn experience to a new level!

I apologize that you expreience issues with your A/C during your stay, I have asked Maintenance to look into this issue and they have rectified the troubled A/C. If you travel through the Roanoke area in the near future we hope you will stay with us again to see all the hard work in renovations that we've done.

Thank You again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochran, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very Quiet restful nights and great breakfast buffet!
Easy to get to airport and the interstates of Roanoke. Check-in and check-out was fast service. Looking forward to stay here again in the future...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Joan N, Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate you taking the time in expressing your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We all work hard here at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to provide everyone a clean comfortable room at a great afordable price.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel looked like it had had some updates in rooms but outside needed some work. The bed was comfortable & found it to be quiet. I was impressed with the buffet & all the options they were offering. For those just needing a place to sleep overnight while traveling, it's a great stop especially if you have kids. Since have the breakfast & pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Well thank you so much for the kind review. Yes, the outside did look that way during your stay, Our renvoation teams were working on the exterior at the time of your stay and it unfortunately did look rough at first but thankfully they have completed that and we will soon be redirecting our focus on all the guest rooms.

We did amp up the items available in for Breakfast, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed that. We are constantly striving to make everyones stay as pleasant as possible. We appreicate you taking the time in sending in your review on our hotel. We look foward in seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

First let me say I have been staying at this property for over 4 years now..mostly during the summer for a couple of weekends per month. We choose this property because of the wonderful pool(used to be anyway), all the while overlooking their multiple imperfections. Our last visit over this past weekend was horrible! Short version: bugs in bathroom, POOL WAS GREEN FOR 3 DAYS, sour/rotten/spoiled fruit cocktail on the breakfast buffet, carpet was wet from a/c drain leak that was never even checked after we reported it, carpet was dirty, manicure set left from previous guest in the drawer......that's right off the top of my head. The icing on the cake? After speaking to the owner Mr. Patel, he was sooo apologetic and assured me of a full refund which I have yet to receive. We are truly disappointed that our little "spot" has changed so drastically in just a couple of months....guess that's the new ownerships guest retention plan..LOL
Save your money..go to the other Quality Inn just up the road in Troutville...they are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Mrsowest, I do want to apologize once again for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us here at the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport.

Just to clarify the issue with our "Green" pool. Our pump unfortunately did go out the day of this guests arrival, Therefor by the following day when we had a new pump installed the pool water had been sitting over 24 hours without being circulated due to the malfunctioning pump. Once the new pump was installed and water began to recirculate it made the pool foggy and green. Pool since then has been treated and is back up into working order. The two days of this issue the pool was closed, However if guests wanted to lay out by the poolside we did not prevent them from doing so.

I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, We hope to see you in the near future so we can correct your bad experience in your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.