We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Roanoke” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“A week in Roanoke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is an older Hotel from the Early Sixties! You can tell that at one time the place hosted many guest and by the size of their restaurant (closed), ball rooms and Pool, you can tell that it once was a great hotel. The good news is that it is currently under construction to remodel the property. The painters were re-painting the outside while I was there and did not interfere with the comings and goings of the guest. I saw pictures of the new furniture that is going to be installed. I hope they re-work or replace the room a/c units as mine struggled to get the room cold.I put a small sign on the controls so the maid would not turn it off. The day I checked in it was off and the a/c unit struggled the entire week to get the room cold. THe good news is the staff was very helpful and my rate was very competitive so I guess I got what I paid for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dennis,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are most definitely trying to bring this beautiful hotel back to its full potential! We can't express how excited we are that we are about through with renovations, New 39' Flat Panel Televisions, Hardwood Floors, All new complete furniture, new bathroom vanities. We are taking the Quality Inn experience to a new level!

I apologize that you expreience issues with your A/C during your stay, I have asked Maintenance to look into this issue and they have rectified the troubled A/C. If you travel through the Roanoke area in the near future we hope you will stay with us again to see all the hard work in renovations that we've done.

Thank You again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    49
    27
    50
See reviews for
56
27
32
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochran, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very Quiet restful nights and great breakfast buffet!
Easy to get to airport and the interstates of Roanoke. Check-in and check-out was fast service. Looking forward to stay here again in the future...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Joan N, Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate you taking the time in expressing your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We all work hard here at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to provide everyone a clean comfortable room at a great afordable price.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel looked like it had had some updates in rooms but outside needed some work. The bed was comfortable & found it to be quiet. I was impressed with the buffet & all the options they were offering. For those just needing a place to sleep overnight while traveling, it's a great stop especially if you have kids. Since have the breakfast & pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Well thank you so much for the kind review. Yes, the outside did look that way during your stay, Our renvoation teams were working on the exterior at the time of your stay and it unfortunately did look rough at first but thankfully they have completed that and we will soon be redirecting our focus on all the guest rooms.

We did amp up the items available in for Breakfast, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed that. We are constantly striving to make everyones stay as pleasant as possible. We appreicate you taking the time in sending in your review on our hotel. We look foward in seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

First let me say I have been staying at this property for over 4 years now..mostly during the summer for a couple of weekends per month. We choose this property because of the wonderful pool(used to be anyway), all the while overlooking their multiple imperfections. Our last visit over this past weekend was horrible! Short version: bugs in bathroom, POOL WAS GREEN FOR 3 DAYS, sour/rotten/spoiled fruit cocktail on the breakfast buffet, carpet was wet from a/c drain leak that was never even checked after we reported it, carpet was dirty, manicure set left from previous guest in the drawer......that's right off the top of my head. The icing on the cake? After speaking to the owner Mr. Patel, he was sooo apologetic and assured me of a full refund which I have yet to receive. We are truly disappointed that our little "spot" has changed so drastically in just a couple of months....guess that's the new ownerships guest retention plan..LOL
Save your money..go to the other Quality Inn just up the road in Troutville...they are wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Mrsowest, I do want to apologize once again for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us here at the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport.

Just to clarify the issue with our "Green" pool. Our pump unfortunately did go out the day of this guests arrival, Therefor by the following day when we had a new pump installed the pool water had been sitting over 24 hours without being circulated due to the malfunctioning pump. Once the new pump was installed and water began to recirculate it made the pool foggy and green. Pool since then has been treated and is back up into working order. The two days of this issue the pool was closed, However if guests wanted to lay out by the poolside we did not prevent them from doing so.

I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, We hope to see you in the near future so we can correct your bad experience in your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at the Quality Inn, Airport Hotel in Roanoke and found it to be first class as all Choice Hotels are. I was there 2 nights on business. Check in was fast and friendly. Staff were very pleasant. The room was clean and welcoming. Breakfast was very nice, with plenty to choose from. After a 3 day drive, this was like a small Oasis for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave such a nice review. I am very pleased to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. I'm sure you noticed all the wonderful renovations that we are doing to the property to upgrade our facility to better serve our guests. Renovations will be complete August 2014, if your traveling through again in the near future please stop by and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The personnel was very accommodating. Had to change rooms due to air conditioner and telephone not working. Also, room had no radio. Need more choices on breakfast buffet, i.e grits,bacon, cream cheese, etc. Ran out of coffee. Tables were sticky. Good luck with renovations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, We are under complete new ownership and improvements are the first thing the new owners wanted to get taken care of. Come August when Renovations are complete our rooms will be 100% Renovated with all new furniture, Vanities, 39' HD Flat panel televisions, and we are even going to be working on the breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon when Renovations are fully complete in August. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This will become a regular pit stop for us on our drives back North from Florida. It is a large and conveniently located motel. It looks rather dated and tired but the room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. Excellent breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris8861, Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are currently in the process of renovating to better serve you (our guests). If you are traveling through in the future we would love to have you visit our hotel and see all the beautiful renovations. Thank you again for being one of our Valued guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.