We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Middleton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The good:
The room was a nice size, plenty of space.
The bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was nice, unless you have a gluten-free diet. Having gluten-free options is a luxury, so no points off for that.
The Internet connection worked well.

The bad:
The toilet/shower room was amazingly small. I had to bend and twist just to turn around, and the door literally brushed against the toilet.
The heater thermostat didn't work. The heat stayed on constantly, so we had to turn it off whenever we got too hot.

Overall, I give the motel an average rating. A bigger toilet room would have raised it to four stars, and a working heater would have raised it to five stars.

Room Tip: I don't know if asking for handicap access would help you get a bigger bathroom. It might be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay. We are happy you were pleased with your overall stay. We are now under new ownership and expect to have some renovations begin soon We would like to have another chance to serve you and look forward to any future trips Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    50
    30
    50
See reviews for
60
31
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel are very nice! Great place for a quick stay. Plenty of clean rooms. Good location right off the interstate as well. Great and reasonable prices. I have stayed at nearby hotels and of the 3 on this same road this one is way better.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay with us. We always try to give each guest the best experience possible. We look forward to many return trips when you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have stayed at this Quality Inn multiple times. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. Wilbur does a great job overseeing the kitchen and providing a full, delicious breakfast. If there's every a question or problem, the staff bends over backwards to help.
The location is excellent. It is just off an interstate exit and has lots of shopping and restaurants in the area. It's a great place to stay and the price is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay We look forward to seeing you again on your trips to Roanoke and for the Virginia Tech football games GO HOKIES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here on 14th and 15th. The room was clean and staff was very pleasant. The location is great, near the airport and on the hill. Breakfast was great for this type of hotels. Place needs a little TLC.

Room Tip: Try to get the room in the north wing. I was told that it's for the frequent travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent stay with us. We take great pride in giving each guest the utmost in service and hope to go above and beyond We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, AL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I checked in Feb 13 for s Speedskating race beginning the next day. When I checked in, I set my laptop to the side. I left it there. Jim Mosley tried calling our room by we were busy and didn't get the call. The next morning, I realize it was missing. Went to the desk. And the young lady on duty knew about it and get it to me. I can not express the pleasure I felt about these two people. Thank You!!! I was a pleasure to know that there are such honest people working as hard as they do to serve the public. BTW. Our room was very pleasant, clean and we'll maintained. The price was wonderful and the breakfast very tasty.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We try to go above and beyond to give our guests the ultimate experience. We look forward to sreving you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have always stayed at Quality Inn's through out our many travels. I had called and asked prior to arriving if they had accepted animals, yes they do. They failed to mention to me however that there is a 25lb limit. So after driving about 10 hours through dangerous snowy mountains, and climbing up their snowy icy hill, we arrive just to find out we had to find another hotel cause they wouldn't accept our pet. VERY aggravating to say the least. We have never had an issue traveling with our second child (dog) at any other quality inn before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I am very sorry for the problems you encountered on your recent stay. The pet weight limit has been in our published material if it's not I apoligize We have new owners and I think they are cosidering elimanating the pet weight We look forward to having another chance to serve you on any other visits to the Roanoke area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Let me first say that the staff were very kind, informative, helpful and overall congenial...

With that being said... I was sorely disappointed with this property. The first room I checked into looked like it had been an abandoned room slapped back together a couple of hours before I arrived. Water stained wallpaper and carpet. Mis-matched bathroom fixtures. The bathroom was in great need of some elbow grease being applied. This place was NOT clean. What drove me out of that room was the fact that the phone in the room was dead and the door to the room would not latch 9 out of ten times. The manager on duty kindly switched me to another room.

ROOM #2
The new room however had no heat turned on when I got to it. I cranked the heat up to 80 and left it there all night long and the temperature in the room never got above 60. The matress on the king size bed was the hardest mattress (hands down) I have ever slept on. There was one thin blanket on the bed and nowhere near enough to stay warm in a room that never got above 60 degrees. It was a night where the temperature was around 4 degrees outside and there was cold air flowing in around the door and window to the room.

When I checked out the next morning I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk and she seemed a little apologetic but that was as far as it went. No offering to compensate or discuss it further. I was just glad to get out of there. I'm not really for sure how they could possibly keep the "Quality Inn" flag and operate with a property in need of major attention.

I spend over a hundred nights a year in hotels and this one so far has been the worst.

Room Tip: Best tip... stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I am very sorry for the problems you had during your recent stay with us. The issues you mentioned have been addressed with our entire staff. We try to do our best to meet your expectations and apologize for not doing so. We would like to have the opportunity to show you we can do so and would like to have that chance on any future trips to the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 81 ext 143 then only .5 Miles to exit 2S. Only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local calls Work off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size. All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required. When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.