We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Clarksville, Virginia
1 review
“Good value, great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have stayed here during football season for several years. We have had good experience with our rooms and always have very customer friendly staff, especially night manger, Jimmy, the front desk staff, and the breakfast staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable for a weekend stay. The breakfast has a good variety to suit multiple tastes. The sunrise view over the mountains in the spacious breakfast room is something to enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stays here with us. It is always nice to hear from return guests that find our staff and services are good reasons to come back. We appreciate the comments on staff members and have passed them on to the person mentioned. We look forward to many visits from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    32
    24
    43
See reviews for
42
22
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The staff is nice and always helpful. The breakfast is good, except for the coffee... Lots of options on the breakfast buffet, Waffles, juices, eggs, meats,etc...
It is a great place to stay, especially if you are flying out of the Roanoke Airport.
Great Service every time I visit and fly out and in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind words concerning your recent stay here with us. We are always happy to hear from return customers and love it that you keep coming back. We always try to exceed the expectations of all our guests and are glad you find our location suits your need. We look forward to future visits from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a fairly typical highway hotel. Not as good as Hampton Inns, but acceptable for a quite night's stay. Room needed a little updating, but that would be expected given the excellent price. Breakfast was also typical.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and we would love the opportunity to serve you again on future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Front desk staff was nice, room was nice. Not right off the Interstate, but not that hard to get to. Great place to stop over after a long day of driving and have a shower and get some sleep.

Breakfast was great! An actual hot breakfast buffet, which you don't find very often at economy hotels like this. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and have passed them on to all departments. We always try to exceed guest expectation and would love to serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was a state of the art hotel-in 1980. Lots of room for improvement and really could be outstanding. It has one of the best views in Roanoke. But poor lightning, lack of simple maintenance, and a rather poor breakfast brings the rating down.

Many of the exterior light fixtures didn't work or provided insufficient lighting. Making is feel unsafe. The room I stayed in had a broken A/C selector, loose outlets, and the worst Wi-Fi connection I have had since 2010.

Breakfast was sub-standard. It's obvious the kitchen is in need of new equipment as the staff was doing it's best to make the old equipment work. It also needs to be realized grease is not a food nor a condiment, as it was present everywhere. 2 Hot food selections is also not acceptable. I know you can do better.

Address these small annoyances, and you could really have a great place to stay. Again, the view is incredible from the front of the hotel. To bad no rooms face that direction. The breakfast area was poorly lit, but very elegant, so you don't really notice it.

The management has lots to work with, I hope you take advantage and spruce it up a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments both positive and negative. We are working to raise the level of expectation in all areas of the hotel and would love to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stay almost every weekend at this motel. I have never had any problems. I am always greeted with a smile. I feel the staff is at my beck and call. The breakfast is very good. The breakfast area is very clean. I can easily recommend this motel to others,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We are always happy to hear from return guests. It is our hope that travelers feel at home and are happy to come back. Our staff does its best to make everybody feel welcome and are willing to go the extra mile to serve all of our guests. We look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is old and rundown. Not worthy of Quality Inn designation.
The back bar was scary dirty and rundown. The lobby is nicely redone but not an indication of the rest of the building.
Outside walls of building are moldy with unkempt grounds.
Our room was clean enough and bed was good. However, the wallpaper was hanging from a corner. Furniture was beat up and wobbly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input from your recent stay. We are aware of the issues you brought up and are working to correct them. Our hope is that the room accomodations may help to have you give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn
Quality Inn Roanoke
Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.