We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service at a Good Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“Good Service at a Good Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stay almost every weekend at this motel. I have never had any problems. I am always greeted with a smile. I feel the staff is at my beck and call. The breakfast is very good. The breakfast area is very clean. I can easily recommend this motel to others,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We are always happy to hear from return guests. It is our hope that travelers feel at home and are happy to come back. Our staff does its best to make everybody feel welcome and are willing to go the extra mile to serve all of our guests. We look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    45
    26
    50
See reviews for
55
26
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is old and rundown. Not worthy of Quality Inn designation.
The back bar was scary dirty and rundown. The lobby is nicely redone but not an indication of the rest of the building.
Outside walls of building are moldy with unkempt grounds.
Our room was clean enough and bed was good. However, the wallpaper was hanging from a corner. Furniture was beat up and wobbly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input from your recent stay. We are aware of the issues you brought up and are working to correct them. Our hope is that the room accomodations may help to have you give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Sandusky, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is an old 2 floor out dated motel,and quality should not be on it. We were given a room right at first corner ,but lucky we didn't have luggage un packed. Went to use the bathroom and the light didn't work. Tried calling the desk but no answer so walked up . They changed rooms for us. The mirror that was supposed to be on bathroom door was gone,the toilet set so low i felt like i was setting on the floor when i used it. Noisey A/C Bath room so small you had to stand off the side of the toilet stool to shut the door. Best part was a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Might be wise to check rooms over before you unpack as we have found this out before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the comments concerning your recent stay with us. I am sorry for the problems you had while you were with us. As a property that is a little older we know the issues you raised are accurate. Our biggest hope is the attitude of our staff may have helped with fast solutions to your concerns. We would like another chance to serve you on any future vists to the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Room smelled like smoke, carpet was stained, old furnishings. The two bright spots were Linda the bartender and a good breakfast. Fresh eggs and sausage toast waffles juice coffee cereal. Landscaping unkept nice view of the airport. Not worth half what I paid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. We are very sorry for the issues you encountered and are happy with your comments concerning Linda and breakfast. We strive to give our guests a stay that is above their expectation of service and hospitality. We would like to have the opportunity to do so on any future visits to the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a clean hotel, but a little bit run down as far as weeds growing in areas, paint wearing off on the outside...outside the rooms you could smell smoke, but the room was clean inside, no smell of smoke, which it was non-smoking room. The bathrooms are a little small, but workable. The hotel is maybe a little older than others in the area? The shower was BAD though as far as temp. control. Once you set it to the right temp, as soon as you hit the shower button it would turn ice cold, then back to really hot...it could be bad for children, must be careful. Not had this happen before at a hotel, not sure what the deal is. The breakfast was quite good and filling. It would be nice to offer GRITS to us Southern's who love to eat them with our eggs and bacon. Maybe have two toasters and waffle makers so when it is crowded, as it was when we were there, you would not have to stand in line so very long. The staff were nice. The VIEW was very nice all around the hotel, mountains in the distance and on top of a hill. Be sure to ask for 10 dollar voucher for the on-sight pub--for food only..though the food was nothing to brag about, it was good deal if you need or want a snack..Would we stay again, perhaps not if we could find near the same price with a more up to date facility but good enough in a busy weekend, when not much else around. They do try, I believe. No elevators which was not good for me, as I have trouble climbing steps but only two levels..we did not want to stay on ground level.

Room Tip: There are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the good comments and will try to improve on the things that may have given you a problem.We would like to have another chance to serve you on any future stays here in the Roanoke Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for an event in Salem. Staff was friendly, they were trying to help a lost visitor when we went to check-in, calling around to see where her reservation was. Not everyone would do that. Room was clean. Asked for a fridge and microwave prior to stay and only received the fridge. Bathroom is TINY. You have to shuffle between the toilet and tub to shut the door. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, husband and I both had trouble sleeping on it. Breakfast was alright. Scrambled eggs were terrible, sausage was just edible. Husband said the hard boiled eggs and muffins were good though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I am very sorry you encountered problems on your recent stay with us. We strive to give the best customer service to all our guests I am sorry we fell short on your stay. We would very much love to have another chance to show you we can exceed yor expectations on a future stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and Daughter tried to stay at the Quality Inn - Roanoke last weekend for a Women's Conference. The location is great but their room was extremely run-down and dirty. The wallpaper was peeling and the table had numerous stains. The bed was even worse...blood & bodily fluid stains on the comforter and cigarette burns everywhere. There was unidentifiable matter on the wall (what it was is anyone's guess). Housekeeping must not deep clean the room very often as there were spider webs and dead spiders all over the place. They were afraid to use the toilet due to the many stains. Needless to say, they checked out right away and were fortunate enough to find a clean room at another hotel.

This review gives the Quality Inn a one-star rating but only because that was the lowest available on Trip Advisor. If possible, this place deserves a negative!

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I was so sorry to hear that your family had a bad experience after checking in to our hotel this past weekend. We strive to provide the best service possible to our guests and it sounds like we dropped the ball in several areas. I have shared your comments about the hotel with the appropriate staff and they are working to correct the issues you pointed out as we speak.
Your business is important to us and your input has not been taken lightly. Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for giving us a clear road map for improvement.
Sincerely,
Tonya Snuffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.