We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night..........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Fine for one night..........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place is a bit dated. Needs a renovation. We booked one night here in order to be close to the airport to catch an early morning flight out. Fine for one night, but I would not recommend spending several nights here. Place was clean..........just needed updating.

I will say that the lady on duty at the front desk the morning we left was very accommodating. I think her name was Peggy. My wife had left something in our room which we did not discover until we were at the airport. We had turned in our car so we had no transportation nor time to go back and get it. Peggy went to our room for us...........found the item...........and arranged with a cab to deliver it to the airport for us. She went out of her way to help us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We take all comments very seriously. We are happy that Peggy was helpful as we always expect our staff to go the extra mile. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    32
    24
    43
See reviews for
42
22
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stay in Choice Hotels almost all of the time when we travel. I use my AAA book.
Let me start with the positives. The bed was comfortable. The sheets appeared to be clean. The young lady attending the desk upon arrival was polite and helpful. The gentleman attending the desk when we checked out was polite.

The negatives....
The price was way to much. The room felt like a dark, dingy dungeon. It smelled like it had not been truly cleaned. The carpet seamed clean but left shoes on. The toilet would not flush, took 20 minutes to fill, filled back with ice bucket. When taking a shower, gets cold when someone in the building flushes or something. I know nothing of plumbing but this needs to be repaired. The lamp shades were so old they didn't provide alot of light when on. The receptacle by sink did not work. The breakfast bar is the typical Choice Hotels breakfast. After waiting for three people to make a waffle, I gave up. I wasn't too sure about the cleanliness of the dinig area anyway. The outside was nasty, dirty windows, dirty ice room.

My personal solution was to take lysol wipes and wipe down every switch, remote control, heating and air buttons, the table tops and even the tv channel line up list. Anything that I knew we would touch. I also sprayed the room very well with my Lysol spray, which helped a little. You can't cover up dirt with spray though.

My suggestions for the manager. You speak a lot about renovations taking place and it takes time. Please notice that I am not complaining about the outdated TV, drapes, carpet, peeling wallpaper, peeling bathtub mat, outdated lamps or unmatched furniture. My entire problem is the filth. You can't expect anyone to accept this when paying to stay at your motel. I wouldn't care if the furnishing were brand new if it was filthy.

Mr. Manager, all anyone expects when renting a room is that it be clean. A nice, hot shower and a comfortable bed for the night.

I realize it costs a lot of money to redecorate. Try just replacing the lamp shades every ten years or so. If they are brownish yellow, they don't provide proper lighting. And by all means, bleach the sheers at least a couple of times a year. It is not expensive to do this. Lastly, dry clean the drapes once a year, steam clean the carpet a couple of times a year and sanitize the rooms!

I would NOT stay here again. I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone. I do not like giving bad reviews but the management here has to realize cleanliness is a must!

Room Tip: The only tip that I can give is to ask to see the room before deciding to stay there!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple

Room Tip: I paid $139.00 for a 29.99 dollar room. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We take all comments seriously and try to take action on as many complaints and comments as we can. All concerned departments have been made aware of your comments and we are trying to address the ones we can. Thank you for your honesty and be certain we are working to remidy the situations. If in the area again we would like to show you our progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reilingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Prepaid for a room for an overnight, when I had to pick up our son who was arriving at 2332. By prepaying I got an even cheaper price and still got a full hot breakfast. This is an older property, but still very comfortable, clean and very near the airport. They have their own restaurant which had a very nice, but limited menu. Breakfast was very nice with eggs, sausage and the usual, breads, fruit, coffee and juice. Overall I was very pleased with what I saw and experienced here.

Room Tip: Prepaying got me even more off the Choice Privileges member price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments concerning your recent stay. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and have shared your comments with our entire staff. We look forward to having the chance to serve you in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

the hotel is fine for a few nights as it is located far from down town, the facilities are very cold, but it makes a good care of their employees and the good breakfast provided. The rooms are clean.
actually the price is good for this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. We are glad you had a good experience with us and look forward to serving you again on any future visits to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here one night for a college football clinic and based it on price. It was a decent stay for the price, with a good evening meal at the on-site restaurant and a good breakfast in the morning. The room was just average at best; dated, worn, but OK for one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Public Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. We are glad your stay was nice and that you did enjoy our resturant and breakfast bar. We look forward to being able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a one night layover on the way to our destination. I booked this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews that it was no frills but clean and quiet. It was quiet and the front desk staff was friendly, but our room was dirty, worn out and damaged, did I say dirty? The walls and headboard need a serious scrubbing, there were dust cobwebs on the walls and the ceiling was specked with dirt. This hotel is obviously old and in serious need of updating, but there's no reason that the room can't be clean.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for comments concerning your recent stay. We take all comments seriously and take measures to remedy problems we are made aware of. Our staff and management have taken note of your comments and we are doing our best to take action on them. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here last night and was very pleased with my experience. The location was great and most convenient. The Desk was quite helpful and gave me loads of information on the area. My room was spacious and very clean and had a refrigerator, large vanity, great shower, and Great soft towels. They had a great comp full hot breakfast buffet. All this for a great price that was much lower than the other hotels I checked. I will remember this hotel the next time I come thru Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very happy you have found us to be a great value as well as a comfortable place to stay in Roanoke. Our staff is always pleased and happy with such good reviews and it helps them continue to do their jobs knowing their work is noticed.We always appreciate return customers and look forward to continue to serve you on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn
Quality Inn Roanoke
Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.