We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Roanoke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Roanoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here last night and was very pleased with my experience. The location was great and most convenient. The Desk was quite helpful and gave me loads of information on the area. My room was spacious and very clean and had a refrigerator, large vanity, great shower, and Great soft towels. They had a great comp full hot breakfast buffet. All this for a great price that was much lower than the other hotels I checked. I will remember this hotel the next time I come thru Roanoke.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very happy you have found us to be a great value as well as a comfortable place to stay in Roanoke. Our staff is always pleased and happy with such good reviews and it helps them continue to do their jobs knowing their work is noticed.We always appreciate return customers and look forward to continue to serve you on future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    40
    24
    47
See reviews for
50
24
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is one that I have stayed in several times over the past 15 years. It used to be a Holiday Inn. Great breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel has some age but I have always found it to be clean and well maintained. I stayed there last night the only issue I would change is the cable tv selection is limited. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your most recent stay. We are happy to have served you in the past and hope to have more opportunities in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a rough start on the initial night of my three night stay, due to lack of adequate heat and towels in the room. The Hotel Staff made the necessary changes to improve my stay. The room I was moved to exceeded my expectations. I did not expect 5 star amenities for the price. My basic needs were met (comfortable beds, hot showers, clean towels, heat, TV, and free internet). The Breakfast and food in the Resturant was very good. The Hotel Staff was very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. As Guest Relations Manager I was very happy to see how our staff turned a somewhat bad situation into a pleasant experience for you. I apologize for the initial problems but as you noted we"fixed" it hopefully as soon as we could and to your satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again on any future trips to the Roanoke area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was responsible for overseeing a Little League clinic that was held in Roanoke, VA. It was decided to use Roanoke County's Green Ridge Recreation Center for our training classes and the Quality Inn for our main hotel. Green Ridge is less than a mile from the Quality Inn. There were 179 attendees for the clinic.

After getting prices from motels in the area, it was very clear that Debbie (Director of Sales) and the Quality Inn wanted our business. A VERY attractive rate was offered. It was important to keep in mind that these were volunteers using their own money to get here and stay here. The room rate included a full hot breakfast (not just cereals and microwave danish) . The hotel even provided a meeting room on Friday night and again on Saturday night to show a movie.

The staff did a wonderful job. It snowed on Friday evening when everyone was arriving and the staff did a good job of keeping the walkways clear. I had good compliments from attendees who went out of their way to let me know how much they enjoyed their stay. Because I live in Roanoke and did not stay in the motel, I am not rating the rooms. The attendees I spoke with indicated they were satisfied with their rooms and did not expect 5 star amenities for the price. The basic needs were met (comfortable beds, hot showers, clean towels, heat, TV, and free internet)

I would like to especially mention Linda who is a tremendous asset to the Quality Inn. She has a very friendly personality and cheerful attitude. In spite of the bad weather (and I am sure they had some staff that could not make it in), Linda was taking orders in the restaurant, and also making sure we had everything for our meeting(s). When I arrived at 6:30 Saturday morning to pickup the coffee dispensers, she was waiting for me at the door with freshly brewed coffee. Great service and attention to details. The kitchen staff even popped popcorn for our Saturday movie. The hotel also prepared boxed lunches for our meetings at Green Ridge.

My wife and I ate in the restaurant Friday and Saturday night and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. (Linda served us both nights)

I would certainly use the Quality Inn in the future and would recommend it for meetings or banquets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the comments you shared following your group booking recently. We are happy your group found their stay here accomodating. Your comments on our management staff are appreciated as we know Debbie and LInda do a wonderful job. We thank you again and hope to house your group again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is off I-81 near the airport. Its located surrounded by other places Super 8, Hampton Inn and others and aslo fast food places. The airport is not very busy so it is not noisy.
We paid $37.00 on Hotwire before taxes. The room was very spacious 2 queen beds, easy chair, desk fridge and microwave. The property has a nice couryard with rooms overlooking the pool which is nice size, and green space around it. The rooms are not updated but well kept. The free breakfast was very good, bacon, scrambled egss, make your own waffles, fruits, juices etc. Free parking and free internet. I only stayed one night and had a problem with hot water in the morning, I spoke to Jasmine at the desk, who said no one else had a problem. She would send a maintenace guy around. This was no help as I was leaving. The water was warm enough to use, I spoke to other guests along my bank of rooms all had gone to the desk to complain, they were putting up with it. But management seemed in denial! Anyway for the price its a good place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here. I will start off apoligizing for the water problem. We try to follow up on all complaints I'm sorry we didn't in your case. I am happy your overall stay seemed pleasant especially the breakfast. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you on any future stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because we had the points for a free night. We stayed 5 nights while visiting family in Roanoke. The breakfast was spectacular including wonderful crisp bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, waffles, yogurt, bagels, etc. We would give the breakfast an excellent rating, especially for a free breakfast at a hotel.

We liked having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. But the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The door wouldn't close unless you lifted the toilet seat and there was mildew on the tile. Even though the bathroom was small, it would have been acceptable if they had done a better job of cleaning it.

The personnel at the hotel were very friendly, especially the cook in the dining room. We also enjoyed the newspaper in the morning. Wifi in our room worked fine and we used the computer and printer in the lobby.

The hotel is convenient to the mall and airport as well as I-81.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for ground floor if you have problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am sorry you encountered problems with the bathroom during your stay. We take all comments seriously and do the best to fix the problems that occure. We would like to serve you again on any future stays and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

It was a free night via Choice Hotel Points, so perhaps is reason we were given this room? It was, however, very unacceptable. Bath was not clean, chair was grimy dirty and carpet soiled. Was no-smoking but smelled of stale cigarettes. The AC unit gave two options - bake or freeze. You get what you pay for, but wouldn't chance staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahowell, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments from your stay in December. We try to meet and excede guest expectations with every guest and we seemed to drop the ball very badly with you. Please accept our apologizes and give us another try on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.