We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
1 review
“Everything was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Our truck was broke down and in the shop, so we stayed for 2 nights. They picked us up and dropped us off in the shuttle and even helped me run a few errands since we had no vehicle. Everyone was very accomodating with everything that we needed & the manager went out of his way to check up on us and make sure that everything was going well. Breakfast was good...the usual 'continental breakfast' stuff, plus waffles, eggs and meat. The breakfast area was well stocked and well maintained, the lobby area was immaculate and the room was clean and comfortable. The water was hit with good water pressure and the towels were clean and fluffy. The ONLY thing lacking, was the amount of outlets available to charge phones and plug in laptops. There was an in-room fridge and microwave and enough channels on the tv. Thanks to Rusty an his staff gor a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and I am glad everything went well during your stay with us even though we know it is tough dealing with a vehicle break down. I hope you are back on the road and please come back and see us if you are in Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    45
    26
    50
See reviews for
55
26
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work for a few weeks, and I was pleasantly surprised not only by the cleanliness, but the staff was super friendly and helpful, calling me by my name regularly, and always being pleasant. I enjoyed staying a this property, and would definitely stay again if in the Roanoke area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our location during your stay for business. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Very pleasant staff. Enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Lobby area very clean, staff friendly, courteous, and efficient. Bar area off lobby. Also very nice sedate and well appointed. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your hotel stay. We are working very hard to create a positive service culture and we are moving in the right direction from your feedback. I will be sharing this with my team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My son had a severe stomachache. He threw up several times over night. Ms. Peggy Sue was so kind and willing to handle the situation. She gave me a useful information for that matter. Special thanks to Peggy :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am so sorry to hear your son was ill during your stay with us and I am glad to hear Peggy went above and beyond to help you. I always share positve and negative reviews with my team and will make sure Peggy is recognized for her service. Thanks again and hope to see you on your next visit to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I realize from reading previous manager replies to bad reviews that he cares about what people think of this establishment. I am not hard on places at all. I have never rated any less than 3, but this time I must. We stay in Choice Hotels almost all of the time when we travel and in fact are diamond members.

Let me start with the positives. The bed was comfortable. The sheets appeared to be clean. The price was right and the location was good. The young lady attending the desk upon arrival was polite and helpful. The gentleman attending the desk when we checked out was polite.

The negatives....
The room felt like a dark, dingy dungeon. It smelled like it had not been truly cleaned in a few years. The carpet was terribly soiled. The toilet was dirty from the previous guests. Track marks in the toilet if you get my meaning. The lamp shades were so old and dirty they didn't provide light even when all of them were turned on. The sheer behind the drapes reeked of stale, musty, odors and a simple wash in bleach would take care of that. The heating and air unit had dust on it and dust on the controls at least an eighth of an inch think. The air filter, which is clearly visible since the panel cover is missing is so filthy, we turned the unit off because I would rather be cold than inhale the dirt and allergens. This could have been cured with a swipe of a feather duster and a new filter or wash the old one occasionally. The on-off switches for the lights have years of dirt and grime on them. The breakfast bar is the typical Choice Hotels breakfast. After waiting for three people to make a waffle, I gave up. I wasn't too sure about the cleanliness of the dinig area anyways.

My personal solution was to take lysol wipes and wipe down every switch, remote control, heating and air buttons, the table tops and even the tv channel line up list. Anything that I knew we would touch. I also sprayed the room very well with my Lysol spray, which helped a little. You can't cover up dirt with spray though. We sprayed the toilet down with Tilex. We at least got the seat clean enough to use the toilet. We also sprayed the sink down with Tilex. Also, the toilet kicks on during the night running water. I know nothing of plumbing but this needs to be repaired. The fridge in the room also hisses so the tv was left on all night to cover the hiss and the running water.

My suggestions for the manager..Fire your housekeepers or train them properly. You speak a lot about renovations taking place and it takes time. Please notice that I am not complaining about the outdated TV, drapes, carpet, peeling wallpaper, peeling bathtub mat, outdated lamps or
unmatched furniture. My entire problem is the filth. You can't expect anyone to accept this when paying to stay at your motel. I wouldn't care if the furnishing were brand new if it was filthy. Do you ever check behind your cleaning staff?

Mr. Manager, all anyone expects when renting a cheap room is that it be clean. A nice, hot shower and a comfortable bed for the night.

I realize it costs a lot of money to redecorate. Try just replacing the lamp shades every ten years or so. If they are brownish yellow, they don't provide proper lighting. And by all means, bleach the sheers at least a couple of times a year. It is not expensive to do this. Lastly, dry clean the drapes once a year, steam clean the carpet a couple of times a year and sanitize the rooms!

I would NOT stay here again. I definitely would not recommend this place to anyone. I do not like giving bad reviews but the management here has to realize cleanliness is a must!

Room Tip: The only tip that I can give is to ask to see the room before deciding to stay there! This is the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments (both positive and negative) and I plan to address the issues with my management and associate team. Please send me the room number you stayed in via email (gm.va411@choicehotels.com) at your earliest convenience. I want to apologize to you for the issues you encountered and I definitely will make the neccessary corrections so we do not let this happen to another one of our guests. I realize you will not stay here again and can only hope in the future you will change your mind to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was fine for one night passing through. Things were clean and the breakfast in the morning was far above 2-star level. The furniture and carpet shows its age and there was a musty smell in the bathroom. However, it appears they are renovating rooms so in time this will improve.

My thoughts and tips...
--Room was fine; has a microwave and fridge, which is a plus. Ask for a renovated room to see if one has come available.
--There were only 2 towels in the bathroom, but a quick walk to the front desk got me all the towels I needed.
--Waffle House was a 15 second drive away for late-night hunger.
--Breakfast had eggs, sausage and waffles in addition to the cold standards.
--There are lots of coupons out there for this place; be sure to use one.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor for easier in/out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feeback about your stay. My maintenance and housekeeping teams are working hard on our guest rooms to make the neccessary improvements with our cleanliness standards. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Roanoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We held our company reunion here in September. 70 people came to the event and had such a good time, we will be setting a date for next year. Debbie was such a big help in putting the event together, her suggestions and arangments were so helpful. Linda checked on us during the event and made our evening activites at the resturant and bar a big success. Jimmy at the desk chose very good rooms for my family to stay in. These rooms had just been updated and looked very good. This is a older hotel, but the feeling of someone actually caring about you we so noticeable. It felt like a family friend had you stay over. I stay here at least once every year for the last 5 years and I have not had a bad experience yet and it doesnt break the bank for what my needs are.

Exercise room was small but had very modern equipment, courtyard around pool was a great place to relax, and the pool was clean. Your close to the interstate and a large mall 1 exit away. 5 min. from airport, and they have shuttle.

Room Tip: This is an older 2 floor hotel without elevator, you have to use the stairs. Hotel is in a courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger M, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience in regards to your stay and function. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.