We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Inn- Roanoke Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality Inn- Roanoke Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After reading the reviews was a little leary of staying here. But, the price was decent and it was close to where we needed to go. The room was decent, no real complaints. The only cons were: not enough towels in the room, 5 people and 2 towels; had to go get more. Also the pool did not have steps to get into the pool, you either jumped in or climbed down the ladder. When we were there the first day, the outside door knob fell off but was fixed within the hour. Breakfast was adequate: eggs, sausage, cereals, donuts, fruit and waffles. Close to where we needed to go. Plus, it was quiet, never heard anything from the people upstairs or on either side of us. Would recommend staying here, in fact we are staying again in a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. We are working feverishly hard to improve our guest experience at our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. That is the first time I noticed the fact we don't have stairs in our pool. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us.

Leon Chittams, CRDE
General Manager
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    49
    26
    50
See reviews for
56
27
31
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The exterior of the building is falling apart, cracked walls, needs paint, broken glass and branches in the parking lot, 6-ft-tall jimson weeds everywhere, tiles in the pool broken, multiple repairs to the room ceiling from water damage, filthy carpets in the lobby and the room. Two very small bath towels. No one wears a uniform, just Tshirts and jeans. The staff could not care less that you are there. There's, like, 12 tv channels. The linens were clean but there were tears in the comforter and the towels. Now, the pool was clean; but for goodness sake, you aren't going to pay $70 just for a pool, right? It felt relatively safe for a motel-like atmosphere, but I was just there one night, so I'm not sure what it's like long term. If you really have to pinch pennies, it's OK for a night or two probably, but check around first. And don't be fooled by the pictures on the website which were probably photoshopped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. It is through this type of feedback from our valued guests that pushes our hotel to do the very best we can to improve. We sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. We take our guest concerns very seriously, and wanted to personally let you know we are working diligently to address them. A lot of the issues you had while with us are remnants of the huge storm that hit our area pretty hard, ravaging our landscaping, and causing damage in several different places. We have worked very diligently to correct all of these issues. Due to your review, we did get rid of the weeds that were adjacent to the parking lot, as well as the few we had on our property. We've also made several other improvements to the facility. We are also looking into adding more channels for our guests. Again, I'm sorry that your stay was anything less than spectatcular, and wanted to let you kknow we are working diligently to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Leon Chittams, CRDE
General Manager
Quality Inn Roanoke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the property for one night on our way to the Smoky Mountains and totally regret it. If it had not been for the rest of our group telling me to "just deal with it" for 1 night I would have turned on my heel and checked right back out of this dump. The hotel was filthy, dirty and poorly maintained. I was literally scared to walk down the outside stairs, because I thought they could collapse any moment. All rooms are "outside rooms" (2 floors) and there are no elevators. There were a lot of "shady characters" hanging around the pool, parking lot and outside hallways. Beer cans and bottles everywhere. This hotel also seems to cater to longterm guests (e.g. construction crews etc).
This property has seriously damaged my view of all Quality Inns and I plan on sending an e-mail to Choice Hotels to advise them of the state of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as we strive to make it. Our hotel is ever-improving and we take all our guest comments seriously. I assure you your concerns will be addressed in the near future. Again, thank you for your review.

Leon Chittams, CRDE
General Manager
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Two days without room being cleaned, so no towels or toilet paper. Asked front desk three times in the afternoon to have housekeeping clean our room, and they never did (they claimed we had a do not disturb sign, which we did not). When we asked at front desk again that night about the room being cleaned, we were informed that housekeeping had gone home, that there were no towels, and that we could get toilet paper from the bathrooms in the lobby (are you kidding??) While I was in the lobby, many other guests came down asking for towels, toilet paper, etc., among various other complaints. The clerk handling things was very unprofessional, repeatedly making negative comments to other customers about the people who were complaining.
Some positives - great breakfast, nice kitchen staff, nice pool.
Corporate - no need to reply that this feedback will be used for training - just fix it!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights to attend a conference. This is basically a motel with breakfast. At the first night, we found the bathtub clogged. Although the staff were reasonably nice, they declined request of room change and it took them six hours to resolve it. Room had strange smell, which we presume to be related to A/C, so we kept A/C turned off for the stay, unless it was unbearably hot. The coffeemaker in the room was dusty, maybe because coffee is provided at the lobby.

We did not have a car to the area, so our biggest complaint was that the airport shuttle was arranged as a local cab and seemed to be available only on demand. Since we see the cab driver reimbursed, it was difficult to ask for a casual ride to and from the airport in the middle of stay. We really felt trapped at the hotel.

To be fair, breakfast was not bad and the hotel was cheap relative to other hotels in the area. However, for the price I paid, I still think we deserved more.

Even if I must visit Roanoke area again, I would definitely not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at this place on Business twice. Just not up to Choice standards. Not even close. The Manager offered me a $59 rate for a King/Non-Smoking room. Where do I start?
1.) Limited TV Channels. No History Channel, No MSNBC, poor quality television.
2.) Terrible Internet WiFi. Extremely slow, and wouldn't pass outgoing email.
3.) Breakfast was free, of course, but un-appetizing.
4.) Worn, dated bedding with sheets that were worn thin by years of use.

Over-all, the place was clean enough, I suppose, but really is not for a traveler with anything other than basic requirements. Nice enough folks doing their best with what they have, but I just would not recommend this place. Several better alternatives in the area.

Room Tip: This is a converted OLD Holiday Inn, I think, with the aluminum-framed windows and jimmy marks on ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Reserved room for two different nights through Quality Inn website six weeks in advance as I needed a crib.
First stay was sub par with the following problems:
Broken air conditioner
Telephone not working so could not call front desk for towels or wake up call.
Outlet behind the bed (going to use for phone charging) had no cover plate and the outlet was not even even screwed into metal box.
Non smoking room had smoke odor
Maid service in the morning smoking while cleaning
No ice in ice machine at 8:30 AM
High chairs filled with grime.
Only two towels in room for a reservation for a family of four. Took three trips to front desk to get them. -wait time for towels – 1.5 hours
Pool did not have towels so only two towels in room is even more of a problem.

Against better judgement returned following week. Because upon check out the front desk was helpful and confirmed they would have crib available for next stay.
Arrived at 6:15 pm the following week and no crib available. Front desk staff was extremely rude and unhelpful. Did not know corporates number to find another hotel with a crib.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 581, only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Pete's Grill, located on the property, is open for dinner Monday-Friday 6:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. (dinner served until 9:00 p.m.). The restaurant offers pool tables and dart boards.Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local callsWork off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. Be sure to enjoy the on-site game room and billiard room. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size.All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required.When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.