We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed here while traveling to Georgia. The room and bathroom were visibly clean. Everything worked in the room, so it was fine for my stop over. The buffet breakfast was good too, with scrambled eggs. I would stay there again. I used points for the room, so i do not know if the rate is reasonable

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon S, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your recent stay at the Quality Inn, Roanoke Airport. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is very rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in offering the key hotel necessities: clean, quiet and friendly. Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also a big hit with our guests and we are pleased that it met your needs!

Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    50
    30
    50
See reviews for
60
31
32
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I came to Roanoke for a business conference and I was very satisfied with this hotel. The room was clean, bathroom was clean and the staff were very friendly. I arrived around 4:00 pm and the guy at the front desk was awesome! He really knows customer service! The people in the restaurant / bar were also great and I never saw anyone who didn't have a smile on their face. The amenities were great and the complimentary wireless internet was also a welcome addition. Aside from the excellent customer service, I would have to say that one of the best things about this hotel was the breakfast! It was delicious! I had a great stay at this hotel and I would definitely recommend this property for business and / or leisure travel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon S, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your recent stay at the Quality Inn, Roanoke Airport. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to providing you with many more exceptional stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a family. I was not very popular as I was the one who booked the hotel. We all tried to make the best of it! We arrived late and all they had left were smoking rooms. None of us can tolerate that, and I will say the staff did some shuffling around and got us non smoking rooms. Like some others wrote, the breakfast is its only redeeming factor. It was very good! The rooms are very old, wall paper falling off, not very clean,ect. We all kept our shoes on! Also the beds were comfortable! Not sure how the regular rooms are. They gave us two king rooms because of the smoking issue. It also appeared to me that alot of the rooms were not in use. It was a little spooky walking to our room late at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon S, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
All guest concerns and feedback are taken very seriously by our employees and management staff at the hotel. We do our best to correct a guest's concerns as soon as they are brought to our attention, in order to ensure future guest satisfaction. Upon receiving your feedback about your stay, we immediately reviewed your comments with our housekeeping manager, staff and maintenance staff. We do have very specific cleanliness standards in place at the hotel. Unfortunately, we seem to have missed the mark during your stay with us. We proactively solicit feedback from our guests through comment cards and surveys, and overall the majority of our guests are very pleased with our level of cleanliness and the service that they receive from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysi, VA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is by far the most disgusting room I have ever stayed in. My child and I were in town for the Virginia Tech game. I made reservations 2 days prior to the stay because we were given last minute free tickets. I called and checked numerous places online, but this room was the only one available on such short notice. When I booked, I was expressed repeatedly to the clerk that I did not want to book it if the rooms were unclean or outdated. I was assured that the place was very nice and a value for the money. I should have known better. Upon arriving, I immediately noticed that the border/wallpaper was falling off the wall in numerous places. The carpet was filthy. The mattresses were sunken in the middle and were very thin. But we were so tired after a 4 hr. drive and sitting thru a ballgame in 30 degree, rainy weather that I knew I was in no shape to drive the 4 hrs. home. I was told there were no rooms I could switch to as they were booked solid. There were no towels in the room. I called and they were brought to me immediately. The towels were frayed with lots of strings hanging from them. When I tried to hang one on the towel rack, the entire towel rack fell apart and landed in the floor. The curtains/sheers were filthy looking. The few electrical outlets I could find had all come unattached from the wall, which seemed quite dangerous to me. I desperately needed to lie on my heating pad, but there was nowhere safe too plug it into. At 12:30 last night, I used the restroom, only to find that the commode wouldn’t flush. I called the front desk and was told that the water had shut off for some reason, but that maintenance was working on it. When I got ready to leave this morning, it was working again. The smoke alarm kept beeping, so I called for a new battery. The asst. mgr. arrived immediately, and STOOD ON THE BED IN HIS SHOES to check it. Instead of changing the battery, he just unhooked the alarm completely. The only nice thing I can say is that when I called for service (multiple times) the staff was quick with their response, even though there was not anything they could do to make this a pleasant stay. They did remove $20.00 from my bill for all the issues, but it in no way got me past the gross feeling I’ve had all day. We had intended to stay in town today to shop, but upon awaking from very little sleep, we just threw our clothes on, packed, and came straight back home. I will never, ever stay in this place or another Quality Inn. I have tons of pictures to prove my point.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon S, General Manager at Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all feedback is welcomed as it can be used to better train our team and to enable us to achieve a higher level of guest satisfaction.

The unfortunate housekeeping and maintenance issues you encountered are not our standard. We do sincerely apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We have reviewed both your comments and our housekeeping standards with the management and staff. Our goal is to ensure that future guests do not encounter a similar experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and comments. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the future so you can experience the service level that we strive for on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Checked in for a one night stay. Check in was quick. The room appeared normal, but the bathroom and the sink area had not been thouroughly cleaned, there wre a few hairs- not mine- in the sink. There was a spider web with a spider in the corner between the tub and the toilet.
It was a King size bed but had only 2 pillows, they normally have 4
I woke up the following morning to take a shower, once in the shower I lathered up and the water went out and I had to dry the soap off of me unable to wash it off with water. The desk clerk knocked 10$ off of my bill, but still was not happy . I went down the street to eat at a beakfast place and after talking to some of the patrons, the surrounding hotels and restaurants did NOT have any water problems, it was only the Quality Inn. Room was not what was advertised.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This Quality Inn is older but it was clean. It is set up as a motel square shape style with exterior doors with a large court yard and pool in the center. The room was fine, clean and standard for most Quality Inns. I didn't look at the pool area but it appeared to be nice. Breakfast was the standard fare. What I didn't like was that the hotel has no elevator.. I had 2 senior parents with me and I requested first floor while making the reservation. I also called a day ahead to remind the front desk that I needed a first floor for my parents. We checked in about 7pm and was told there were no more first floor rooms which really upset me as my parents have a hard time walking. It was a busy graduation weekend and the hotel was sold out and there were no other available hotels anywhere around. Needless to say, this put a damper on our stay. The best part of my stay was having dinner at the nearby Mexican restaurant (a 2 minute walk) called El Toreo~very colorful and good food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

As a business traveler who has stayed frequently at this hotel from November of last year till just recently, I have to say that for the price, you get much more than you expect from this hotel. Sure, after repeated stays there has been a problem or two with the rooms, but when brought to the attention of maintenance, the issues were resolved almost immediately. I have never come across bedbugs here (which I am vigilant about checking for).

The staff has always been courteous, and the head of maintenance is this warm-hearted guy who will chat your ear off if you give him the chance, and who will bend over backward to make sure anything you need is taken care of.

The breakfast is a welcome break from the usual "continental" that I come across in my various stays. The trees in the courtyard surrounding the pool give a wonderful shade and feeling that I love to walk through. Bottom line: were I visiting Roanoke for pleasure, I would probably stay here.

(and make sure to go to El Toreo a few doors down. Excellent Mexican food, and friendly service!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Roanoke Airport

Address: 6626 Thirlane Road, Roanoke, VA 24019 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn(R) Roanoke Airport is conveniently located off Interstate 81 ext 143 then only .5 Miles to exit 2S. Only two miles from Roanoke Regional Airport and Valley View Mall, one of Virginia's largest shopping centers. The hotel is minutes from Jefferson Center community center and historic landmark; Roanoke Civic Center convention, exhibition and cultural complex; Salem Civic Center's James E. Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex and Hollins University .This Roanoke hotel is also near Dixie Caverns & Pottery Shop cave tour and Mill Mountain Zoo. The Virginia Horse Center, Smith Mountain Lake and Virginia Military Institute are within 45 miles.Sir Quality Inn Roanoke Airport guests are invited to enjoy superior amenities like:•Free 24-hour airport transportation•Free deluxe continental breakfast with hot items•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Free local calls Work off the day's stress in the exercise room and relax by the large seasonal outdoor pool. This Roanoke hotel provides business travelers with rooms with spacious work areas and access to copy and fax services. Meeting and banquet facilities are available to accommodate business and meeting functions of almost any size. All rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are also offered.Guest laundry facilities and a safe are located on the property. This is a pet-friendly hotel; a stay fee is required. When visiting the Roanoke area for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn Roanoke Airport is a perfect hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Roanoke Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.