We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great, Quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Parking was close to the door, easy, and free. The hotel itself is very nice after what I think was a recent remodel. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, and my kid loved the little square ottomans so much we bought two like them for our house. It was just done, overall, very well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    133
    43
    9
    16
See reviews for
100
81
28
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

stayed in a king bed room, the room was very large...but it was a shame the bathroom was pretty small.
Fridge in the room was handy, and the bed was very comfy. The flatscreen TV was one of the best we had during holiday (out of 13 motel stays) but on the other hand Sheraton were the only one who wanted to charge us for in-room internet use.
Overall a good expirence.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The room was very comfortable. The entry way has a very nice wood floor. The large, flat screen T.V. is a pleasant plus. The staff is friendly and helpful. If you haven't stayed at a Sheraton before give this one a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel has been recently updated, and everything looks great. The televisions are nice and big. The workout room is the biggest and best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are the nicest people ever, and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The only downside is room service. There is only ever one person delivering meals, and it seems they are ALWAYS 'backed up'. The people are nice when they bring it to your room, but the wait times are unreasonable. The breakfast delivery person is also the coffee bar person, so if you want a coffee in the morning you have to hope they are not out delivering. All in all a wonderful hotel, but plan on getting all meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We just stayed here for 2 nights on a Staraward. The hotel has been completely renovated, and the review made me ready to try it. We were considering the Hyatt Place down the road, which I've heard is very nice. The lobby is very clean and new. This Sheraton has a Link center for free computer access. Two pools and a nice gym- better than most hotels in this category. The room was new, accept for maybe the tub and tile, and is in the new Sheraton format for the hotels that are new or being renovated. Okay, so it seemed like this was a good choice. Now the downside. We were on the second floor, Starwood Preferred, and had connecting doors to both sides. One onw side was a family with young boys, and we heard every word for 2 days when they woke up at 6 am! The connecting doors are very thin and do not block out any noise. Avoid such a room at all costs!! Two other problems. In our tower none of the ice machines works. So after hunting on 4 floors I called the front desk was told I had to cross the lobby to the other wing for ice. I ended up stopping at the coffee bar on the way and they apparently knew as the guy grabbed the ice bucket and filled it without question. Not a big deal, but annoying since every floor had a sign for ice machines as though they worked. The bigger problem, and not unique to this property, is why don't housekeeping staff know people do not like to see hair in a bathroom. I shouldn't have to stay at a Ritz or St. Regis to get that type of cleaning of a room. There was hair on the floor and a particularly nasty hair on the towels. Leaving a tip for the housekeeper on the first day I was hoping for better- but no. The hair on the floor remained. I don't think this is acceptable really at any hotel. Overall this hotel is a good option, but you may want to consider the Hyatt Place off the same exit or definitely the Hotel Roanoke downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is a fine property that is in almost-like-new condition with a friendly staff but the very loud fan on the A/C in our room (#711) made it almost impossible to get a good night's sleep. Since the temps cooled down at night I wanted to keep the door open to our balcony but there was no screen on the sliding door.
It's a nice looking and well kept property but what is the use if your guests can't sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I recently stayed at the Roanoke Plaza, now the Roanoke Sheraton. The hotel has been renovated and was very nice. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative was the hotel restaurant. I was overcharged for a meal that was at best mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.