We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel, if you don't want to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Roanoke
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Great new hotel, if you don't want to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel has been recently updated, and everything looks great. The televisions are nice and big. The workout room is the biggest and best I have seen in a hotel. The staff are the nicest people ever, and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The only downside is room service. There is only ever one person delivering meals, and it seems they are ALWAYS 'backed up'. The people are nice when they bring it to your room, but the wait times are unreasonable. The breakfast delivery person is also the coffee bar person, so if you want a coffee in the morning you have to hope they are not out delivering. All in all a wonderful hotel, but plan on getting all meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    142
    45
    13
    18
See reviews for
110
89
28
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We just stayed here for 2 nights on a Staraward. The hotel has been completely renovated, and the review made me ready to try it. We were considering the Hyatt Place down the road, which I've heard is very nice. The lobby is very clean and new. This Sheraton has a Link center for free computer access. Two pools and a nice gym- better than most hotels in this category. The room was new, accept for maybe the tub and tile, and is in the new Sheraton format for the hotels that are new or being renovated. Okay, so it seemed like this was a good choice. Now the downside. We were on the second floor, Starwood Preferred, and had connecting doors to both sides. One onw side was a family with young boys, and we heard every word for 2 days when they woke up at 6 am! The connecting doors are very thin and do not block out any noise. Avoid such a room at all costs!! Two other problems. In our tower none of the ice machines works. So after hunting on 4 floors I called the front desk was told I had to cross the lobby to the other wing for ice. I ended up stopping at the coffee bar on the way and they apparently knew as the guy grabbed the ice bucket and filled it without question. Not a big deal, but annoying since every floor had a sign for ice machines as though they worked. The bigger problem, and not unique to this property, is why don't housekeeping staff know people do not like to see hair in a bathroom. I shouldn't have to stay at a Ritz or St. Regis to get that type of cleaning of a room. There was hair on the floor and a particularly nasty hair on the towels. Leaving a tip for the housekeeper on the first day I was hoping for better- but no. The hair on the floor remained. I don't think this is acceptable really at any hotel. Overall this hotel is a good option, but you may want to consider the Hyatt Place off the same exit or definitely the Hotel Roanoke downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is a fine property that is in almost-like-new condition with a friendly staff but the very loud fan on the A/C in our room (#711) made it almost impossible to get a good night's sleep. Since the temps cooled down at night I wanted to keep the door open to our balcony but there was no screen on the sliding door.
It's a nice looking and well kept property but what is the use if your guests can't sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I recently stayed at the Roanoke Plaza, now the Roanoke Sheraton. The hotel has been renovated and was very nice. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative was the hotel restaurant. I was overcharged for a meal that was at best mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennesaw, ga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

the sheraton roanoke hotel and conference center is absolutely beautiful. the rooms are huge. they are modern. they are comfortable, and they are not expensive. very impressed.
great pool area. best fitness center i have ever seen in a hotel.

downside food is very expensive in the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

This hotel was recently rebranded as a Sheraton. The hotel is truely wonderful. It has been 100% completely redone. The rooms have hardwood floor when you enter, brand new bathrooms, Sheraton Sleep bed and a fridge in the room. The breakfast was a little pricey but good. There are free internet stations in the lobby and a 24/7 business center. The 24/7 Fitness Center is state of the art and has plenty of machines.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I booked on priceline and received an excellent rate for the quality of the hotel, which is apparently about to transition to a 4-Star Sheraton within the month. The lobby and rooms are brand new, tastefully done with lots of hardwood and nice art, a very trendy look. The hotel is laid out rather oddly, and it's kind of a long walk from the car to the rooms, but most of the walk is inside. The pool looked fine, and the fitness center was awesome!

A few cons: $10 for wireless internet? Come on, I can get it free at most motels now. Also, I asked for a room overlooking the airport, but the front desk employee said she didn't know what room faces where and immediately gave me Room 101 without even trying. So we had the room right on the corner by the pool, kind of noisy.

Overall though I would definitely stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.