We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed by the quality of this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really impressed by the quality of this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I visited late March 2009 and the construction appears to be all done. I didn't notice it at all. The rooms were immaculate, as were the public areas like the pool, restaurant, and lobby.

Overall, I was very pleased with the quality of the hotel, the amenities, and the friendliness of the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    149
    53
    13
    19
See reviews for
118
98
29
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I just stay by chance at the Roanoke Plaza Hotel, booked on Hotwire as a 3 Star but what a pleasant surprise should be a 4 star or more. It is soon to be a Sheraton and has been totally redone. And what a job they did, like I stated Over the Top.
When you first walk into the lobby it looks as if it could be on the cover of a magazine, behind fireplace is the new LINK Sheraton center, and great Star Bucks coffee bar, beautiful restaurant. Fireplaces are everywhere. Top of the line fitness center with Lifestyle equipment and Core Performance for workouts, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, and more than friendly staff. Amy the night desk even made sure I got a very late dinner. Housekeeping friendly and efficient.
The rooms are designed for business and family with large flat screen TVs, granite bathrooms, high quality linens, leather furniture, and great view of mountains. I could go on and on.
One of the best hotels I have stayed in for years, and I am a road warrior.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I recently stayed at the Roanoke Plaza hotel while on my way back to DC following vacation. I got an excellent rate through Priceline, so decided to give it a try. The hotel staff were quite pleasant and helpful. The hotel has been completely renovated, so the rooms and interior of the hotel are quite nice. I was especially impressed with the interior of the renovated rooms - nice dark wood, flat screen TV, thick doors and silver accents. However, though the bed looked really nice, it was quite uncomfortable for my taste. The linens were also not up to par with what what might expect. A big plus to the balcony on my room !!!! One wall was completely glass, with a sliding door to visit the balcony. Very nice. Also 2 pools (one indoor, one outdoor) and a nice fitness facility. My biggest complaint, however, is the internet access. They charge an additional $10 per night for wireless access in your room. Even the most inexpensive motels offer free wireless these days. Fortunately, I was not on business travel, or I would definitely have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Roanoke Plaza Hotel in Roanoke, Virginia. We were there for the Shamrock Volleyball Tournament held March 14-15, 2009. The hotel had been renovated and is now the Sheraton Roanoke Plaza Hotel. We had a hard time finding the hotel at first because it is on a Frontage Road that the map didn't list, and the sign for the hotel on the road was unlit. Very nice inside and the beds were so comfortable, but the heating system was loud every time it turned on, and there weren't trash bags in the trash cans. There were only 8 channels on the TV to watch, and no major networks. It was a good rate and good location from all the venues where we had our tournaments. The dining room and coffee bar didn't open until 6:30 AM which was too late for us to get to our games in the morning. Their wasn't a guide in the room for hotel amenities, room service, or local restaurants/shopping. The high speed internet was at an additional charge of $10.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Reservations took forever even to book a room. Upon arrival room was not what the reservations were made for. Heating system is not working throughout the hotel. Construction is nasty, noisy. No parking due to the construction. Staff is rude. Upon second day was required to change rooms due to the construction. Beware they will mislead you about the constuction. They needed to shut down for this project!!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We made reservations months in advance for our son's wedding and were told repeatedly that we wouldn't even be able to tell that the hotel was under construction. I personally spoke with the people three different times and was assured it would not be a problem. Upon arriving we discovered this wasn't even close to being accurate. There is only one way in and out - you can't park anywhere near the rooms and you have quite a hike clear across the hotel property to get to your room. Construction was very visible and we also had our little dog with us and trying to take her out would have been a nightmare! Would not recommend staying here until all renovations are complete. It will be a great place to stay again - I'm sure. We have stayed here many times when it was a Marriott and the Wyndam and it is a great property - just not now while under construction!!! We left and went to another place. Hate to say it but true.

  • Liked — Have been many times before - great place.
  • Disliked — Under construction - Wait until completed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Stayed there for the Virginia Bar Exam, so I wasn't exactly looking for luxury, but the place is disgusting.

The hotel is under construction so everything is a mess. My room smelled like mildew. The carpet was soaking wet. The furniture looked like they found it on the side of the road.

So, if you ever have to go to Roanoke, do yourself a favor a stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.