We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed on Halloween for 1 night and had requested 2 rooms on the same floor since we were traveling with family, and if possible, rooms with a view since we were traveling from Fl. We got 2 rooms, one on floor 2, the other floor 4, both in section A, but neither with a view. We overlooked it. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. What was awful was the doors SLAMMING closed all night long from people going in and out constantly of their rooms. These doors are the heavy doors with the very loud latch, so when they close, you instantly are awakened. Needless to say, neither my husband nor I got a bit of sleep.He also heard when people put their key cards in the doors too, which is ongoing of course. When we went to shower in the morning, the shower head was broken and sprayed water all over the bathroom and soaked our belongings. Also, the sink wouldn't even drain while we brushed our teeth. I did mention all of these concerns/issues to the front desk, so no one else would be booked into our room until the bathroom issues were resolved. Unfortunately, the loud doors are just that-loud and I don't think one can resolve that. We would not stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear pagetravelers, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and will review your comments as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will try us again so we can better demonstrate our commitment to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    115
    38
    6
    15
See reviews for
87
73
26
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was traveling by car on a business trip between WV and VA and chose to stay at this hotel, as its location provided a convenient rest stop for the weekend.

I had an outstanding guest service experience upon checking in. Having just driven for four hours, I was exhausted and ready for a quick late night dinner. I was greeted at the front desk by Lori who welcomed me with a smile, placed me in a room on a higher floor, and provided me with a printout of local restaurants and attractions. Lori went above and beyond to ensure that my weekend was restful and filled with a couple fun adventures. She should be commended for her exceptional service and attention to detail.

I can honestly say that her service made my stay a pleasant experience. I look forward to returning to this hotel again next fall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Was here for a stop over this Summer. In town same time as a softball tournament, was worried that it would get loud, but great insulation between rooms and hall, noise was not an issue. We travel with our pet, our room was great with sliding glass doors leading to an outdoor courtyard. Huge room! Free parking, internet, and pets. Pool area was very nice and clean. Room was spendy, but I am sure that is to take advantage of the softball tournament in town. Staff at front desk was changing staff, so not as efficient as it could have been. Staff for breakfast was super.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed there for one night only, and did not regret the choice. As SPG Platinum, we had upgraded to a suite, and got a suite which deserves the name. The only minor drawback: No safe in the room. Reception staff was friendly and fast, so was staff at breakfast the next morning. About the location: Just off the highway, very easy to reach, but not in downtown Roanoke. Plenty of free parking. Overall, a very pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Front Desk: An overweight, bleached blond matron was rude and too busy with her computer. never even looked up to greet and won't bother to check to see if rooms was available, I was only 20 minutes earlier than the posted check in time. Parking: Tower B has ok access, but have to walk pass dog pooping area. Tower A is hard to get to, main parking lot is always full and no direct access. Rooms: average, nothing to write home about. Kudos for the frig in the room though for non-suite hotels. Cleanliness: Average. did find a dirty underwear under the chair when I moved it to plug something in. Noise: Tower A is the NOISIEST hotel I ever stayed in. Hotels in NYC are quieter in terms of noise level. The way rooms are set up, the beds are right by the front door, and all the doors pretty much face each other, as it is not the long corridor design like most hotels. Every door closing is amplified, and every person talking in the hall way is clearly audible in your room. Hallway conversations are so clear, you can practically join their conversation. Tower B has traditional long corridor design, so as long as your immediate neighbors are not noisy, the noise level is similar to other hotels.
Overall, this not a 3 or 3.5 stars hotel despite their claim. Other than giving you 4 pillows per bed and a frige, their front desk service, parking, and noise level is every bit a Days Inn level hotel. Unless you get a great bargain, you can do much better. See my Cambria Suites review.

Room Tip: Tower A is extremely noisy, stay away. Tower B side parking by Dog area had problem with bird crap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Travelrat14366, I want to apologize for your most recent visits and thank you for your feedback. We are committed to the success of this property and will take your comments and will work to improve these areas. I do hope your next stay with us will better demonstrate the commitment we have to our guests.

Sincerely,
Matthew Rutigliano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

They have a amazing girl working at the Starbucks in the hotel remembers what you drink and how you like it also remembered my name on the third day her name is Norma Davenport plus the room was very clean and well maintained by the cleaning staff

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks for the very kind comments and for recognizing Norma. We all think she does an excellent job as well! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The lobby, courteousness of the staff, and spacious rooms are the first things that struck me. Interestingly you can notice that they put thought into small features. For example, electrical outlets on the desk (great for the phone), coffee maker in the room (with brand name teas and coffee), and strategic lighting. For business people, a desk with an ergonomic modern chair and HD news channels are perfect.

The staff was friendly. The bell man offered a shuttle to nearby restaurants, and the receptionist Xyh was very helpful in pointing out local places of interest.

Overall, I recommend it. The natural surroundings were a highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
What a great review! Thanks for taking the time and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel
Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.