We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Amenities!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Amenities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here with a group during a softball tournament. There were several groups staying, but you didn't always notice since the hotel is so large. Staff was friendly, but when making/checking on reservations I believe I was always transferred to their national reservations center. Therefore, my reservation was not accurate despite my constant repeating of requests (adjoining rooms, rooms on same floor...I reserved 3).

They have a huge fitness center with at least 3 types of cardio machines, free weights, weight machines, floor mat and fitness balls. Very impressive! There is an indoor pool and indoor hot tub and an outdoor pool.

There is a breakfast/brunch restaurant, plus a market open in the mornings with coffee and light items. There is a full service restaurant also, pricey. The store is very well stocked to include the forgotten men's dress shirt and tie, and panty hose for women.

Room Tip: Compare price between club level and regular tower rooms. With club level you get access to the club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a thorough review! It is my hope that my staff was able to work through the reservations issues you encountered, as other than that you seem to have had a great stay with us. We look forward to your return if and when the team returns to Roanoke!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    146
    50
    13
    18
See reviews for
112
95
28
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a tired old hotel, with tired, surly employees. Oh, yes, it looks pretty in the front of the house, but beware when you go looking around in the stairwells. This place would have a serious problem if a fire broke out. The rooms are spacious and decorated nicely, with a very comfortable bed. The lobby areas are poorly marked. Where are the bathrooms? No signs to be found. There is a very nice computer oasis in the lobby, but, alas, the printer didn't work. Don't worry, feel free to stand at the front desk and conduct your business, and answer questions for guests who are frustrated by the lack of congeniality by the front desk employees.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Please accept my humble apologies for the both the lack of service and inconvenience you encountered during your recent stay with us. There is no excuse for a lack of hospitality and I assure you that I have addressed your comments with my Front Desk team. I have also investigated the printer issue and found that it was an issue with one of the computer terminals which is now being addressed. Again, I apologize and hope that when your travels return you to Roanoke we will have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is very clean, the staff is friendly, very nice decor and great on-site Shula's 347 restaurant. There is a really nice mall and shopping center. Beautiful rooms and this is a Pet Friendly hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I appreciate the very kind comments you have made about our hotel and hope that when your travels return you to the Blue Ridge you willn choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton twice coming and going from our vacation in NC. We were pleased to find the Sheraton was pet friendly. Our room was in good shape and had recently been updated. The staff were friendly and considerate. The only thing I rate down for the hotel was the grounds and landscaping. Since I had to walk my dog, I saw a lot of the grounds, which in their peak,must have been a beautiful piece of property. But now I found it to be in need of TLC. Some areas are dark at night. The landscaping needed attention in the courtyard and surrounding area. I hope they put some time into updating this piece as well.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, try for the 1st floor, near an exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback. Funny you should mention landscaping, as we will be making some major changes in that area in late September and early October. There were a number of beds that we allowed to go dormant in preparation of this. I am assuming that these are the areas you are referring to. You are correct in saying that the landscaping could be better than it already is and next Spring we will be better than ever! Thanks again and we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed one night between visiting Appomattox Court house and Natural bridge. Good location for visiting these two places. Large comfy king size bed, clean room, pretty view of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review and for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor! We hope to see you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose to stay at this very nice hotel while driving back to DC with our dog. Our ground floor room was perfect for taking the dog out and we enjoyed dining in room from their good hotel restaurant! Definitely a nice hotel to base out of when exploring the Roanoke area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Wow, thanks for your very positive comments regarding your stay. It sounds like all of you (dog included) had a very nice stay. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here because of a Groupon deal. Easy check in. The desk clerk even forewarned us that we were on the first floor, where all the pets stay (she wanted to make sure the possible barking wouldn't be a problem) and gave us the option of switching to a queen on a different floor (no other kings left). You need a credit card for incidental charges (not debit or atm cards), which wasn't a problem for us, but might be for some. Just a heads up. Room was nice. I thought it might smell like dog but it didn't. Saw plenty of dogs, but didn't hear a lot of barking. The walls are thin and the humans kept waking me slamming doors, talking in the hall, talking in their rooms, but nothing preventable on the hotel staff's part.

I would stay again . Breakfast at PI was pretty good if you are buffet hungry. There were flies in the dining area annoying me, but none in the buffet area. Shula's was fantastice and we had a wonderful server Jenna. I would come back here just to have her wait on us.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Glad that you were able to take advantage of our limited time offer on Groupon! I also appreciate your taking the time to post your positive comments to TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back with us soon. I will pass on your great comments regarding our restaurant, Shula's, and in particular to Jenna. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.