We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for business travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for business travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a very good property for business travel. Pool, fitness room, and restaurant. Free wifi. Convenient to airport. Offers lowered rate on Hotwire. Very clean room although the elevator/hallways needed some work, as well as the outside. The grounds are very nice although for two days I was there the trashcans were never emptied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and the fact that you posted it on Trip Advisor! One of our goals is to insure that our guests on business related travel can be as productive as they need to be - it sounds like we succeeded. I do apologize for the lack of attention to trash removal during your stay. I can assure you that this has been addressed. Thank again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    149
    53
    13
    19
See reviews for
118
98
29
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After a long drive on the Blue Ridge Mountains, we arrived to stay overnight. Express check in and a very friendly service was a welcome. Our room was comfortable with large beds. Good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. It was a bit of challenge to locate the place on the GPS. The central a/c was a bit noisy. Very clean and comfortable 5 start facility at affordable (Hotwire) price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind comments on Trip Advisor. With all that we have to do in the course of a typical day I am very happy that you took the time to put in a plug for us! We hope that when your travels return you to the Blue Ridge region you will again select to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Check in took 30-40 mins. Gave me wrong room. Reservation was for two queens..stuck me in single king. Had to go back to lobby...correct room smelt like animal urine. Gave up....had to deal with it. Slow front desk....evidently they had all kinds of problems...heard multiple complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Bigd4,

First, please allow me to apologize to you for issues you experience here at the Sheraton Roanoke.Be assured that these issues has been addressed and we hope that you would give us another opportunity and staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel lay out of the one bedroom suite was excellent for my wife and I, as well as our dog. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a nice pet walking area and outdoor pool. The free breakfast and in room fireplace are also nice touches. Pet fee is $100 which is a bit high, but all things considered, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Fred D,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor.
Hurry back!

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely property which could easily be improved. Check-in was brisk and the room was very spacious. Windows opened into a stand of trees offering fragrant breezes. Great first impression. Was very interested in the fitness room and indoor pool. The pool manager proved to be someone really special and we had a wonderful conversation as I was the only pool user for my hour there. He had just thoroughly cleaned the pool and continued watering the plants and doing daily upkeep.

A shuttle to area attractions would be appreciated. Only the shopping mall is close. The room
wi-fi is a large upcharge. That is seriously silly. So I reluctantly went to the little lobby area where
access is free and could never get connected. Another negative is maid knocking early and being given the ' I'll be out in 5' message with hand signals and door handle prompts. They make a terrific early noise in the hallway, but didn't clean the room two days running when I left for hours right after the knock. Disappointing to return for a shower to an untended room and bath. But they returned in mid-afternoon with walkie-talkies blaring to resume, nixing the chance of a shower and nap. Mixed review, fixable problems. Apply the Golden Rule, management, and you will hit the mark.

Access

Room Tip: Several floors up gets you away from parking lot and conventioneer noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear eileen645,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center and giving us some feedback with regards to your stay. First, please accept our sincere apology for any shortcomings you experience and be assured that they have been addressed.
The Golden Rule have been applied and thank you.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We always make a point of stopping here, with everything we need for a stop on our way to or back from Florida. Most of the time Xavier Lafayette Fox greets us at the door ready and waiting. One of the few remaining gratis pooch friendly hotels and we have high hopes it remains this way, willing to pay for this comfort by patronizing the restaurants.

One of the best Sheratons in the chain.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Joedsal,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center. It's always nice to read good comments about our hotel,team.and you taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor.
Once again, we thank you and are looking forward to seeing you on next stopover in Roanoke.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great location right near the airport. Interesting sitting at the Shula's bar and hearing waitstaff complain about the chef's inability to properly cook a steak. Food was middle of the road and I avoided the steak! Rooms are typical Sheraton. Price is right. One hour drive to Lynchburg if your looking for an SPG property in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Bookinit.

We thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference and certianly apologize for the conversation that you had were exposed to by one or some of our waitstaff. Our Chef's are well trained to ensure that the foods are cook properly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us ,

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.