We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for an Overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Colonial Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice for an Overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed last weekend, and I arrived fairly late on a Friday evening. The place was packed, and it was difficult to find a parking spot. When I got inside the check in process was not very smooth. One vary harried front desk person was answering phones (and obviously trying to solve problems), and the other was checking people in (and solving problems). There was a very large convention at the hotel at the time so it appeared that after their presentation ended they realized some of their accommodations were not to their liking. After waiting a while I was checked in quickly, and when I inquired about my Starwood Points the clerk was quick to gather my information. I could tell he was trying hard to make up for my long wait. Since it was 9:45 by the time I got up to my room I ordered room service. The food was great, and so was the service. The room was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor regarding your stay. We are sorry to read that you had difficult finding a parking spot and check in process was not as smooth, however we are also pleased to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    168
    59
    17
    22
See reviews for
128
113
30
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend. There was a prom going on at the hotel, but because of great design you could barely noticed except for the packed parking lot.

The rooms are first class like any expected Sheraton Hotel.

Our only complaint is that our AC unit was ridiculously loud and led us to just turn off the AC and have an uncomfortably warm room. If we were staying in the room for a longer period of time, I am sure we would have had to have some kind of correction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear jjcopeland,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. It's nice to read good comments regarding your stay and apologize that the AC unit in your room was loud. Please know that we welcome feedback. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Roanoke for a night. The staff was very helpful and nice. We ordered breakfast which was delicious but the woman from room service was such a sweetheart. For dinner we went to Shula's and had a succulent meal and some drinks. The wait staff was over the top friendly and their knowledge of the menu was very good. I'd definitely stay again if in the area

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Kevin M,

First, we want to thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we thank you.

Hurry back!

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Roanoke last week for a trade show. The company that was having the trade show had a party that evening so it made sense to stay there, thus eliminating having to drive back and forth. This is especially valuable after having a few cocktails, what with the DWI crack downs today. So I paid a few more dollars than I would have liked but found it to be a good spend.

Overall this hotel is pretty nice, although it could benefit from a facelift in some areas especially the lobby. Décor is a bit dated and tired, although this is quibbling. The room was very nice, smelled great, and the wooden floor is a nice touch in the entry way. Bathroom is spacious. The pillows and mattress are extremely comfortable. We had a fridge in our room which is also nice in case you need to keep any leftovers from dinner or other things you've brought with you.

We ate dinner at Shula's 347, the restaurant in the hotel. My wife had a beef tenderloin salad and I had the French Onion Cheeseburger. Both were excellent. They also have a pretty extensive wine list. We tried a malbec from Australia which they offer by the glass, and it was very tasty. I also have to say that the prices are very reasonable for a restaurant like Shula's. Each of our meals was only around $12. Of course the steaks are much more expensive.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall no complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Rick W,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor regarding your stay. It's nice to read good comments about our hotel and to know that you had enjoyable stay.

Hurry back !

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked a club room, room very nice, supposed to have free wi-fi in room, unable to be connected to wi-fi at all in room during our stay. Food in club lounge very average. Not ideal if you wish to be central, a few miles out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear YvonneManchester,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference and taking the time to respond onTripAdvisor. We do apologize that you were unable to connect to wi-fi and yes it is free. We would certianly welcome the opportunity of having you staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference. Cold, corporate feel except for room service. Not near any restaurants except fast food and not close to any tourist sites. Not sure why a traveller would coose it except for closeness to I-581 and the airport. There are equally nice locations in the are that offer more for less

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear KirbyK,

We want to thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and also for your feedback. Although we are not a downtown hotel,we are a full service hotel offering the same services and are located five minutes from the valley view mall for shopping convenience.
Once again we thank you for staying with us.

With regards,

Thomas Wood
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is situated close to other cities/towns in South Western Virginia that may not have as much culture and choices as Roanoke provides.
The hotel was overbooked when I got there, however, I was not affected. The staff searched for a room other than one on the first floor. After one staff went to ensure the room was ready I was given the room on the sixth floor. Because I had to wait 5 minutes the registration coordinator gave me a free breakfast for the next morning. I did not mind waiting, and the gesture was appreciated.
The room was nice, although the bath area was very small. The door opens in and swings within an inch of the commode. It would be difficult for a larger person to feel comfortable in this area. Not sure all the rooms are like this, however, it was small.
Overall, a very nice, safe hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear TommyRo,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference and taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor. It's nice read positive comments and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hurry back!

Sincerely,

Thomas wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.