We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is situated close to other cities/towns in South Western Virginia that may not have as much culture and choices as Roanoke provides.
The hotel was overbooked when I got there, however, I was not affected. The staff searched for a room other than one on the first floor. After one staff went to ensure the room was ready I was given the room on the sixth floor. Because I had to wait 5 minutes the registration coordinator gave me a free breakfast for the next morning. I did not mind waiting, and the gesture was appreciated.
The room was nice, although the bath area was very small. The door opens in and swings within an inch of the commode. It would be difficult for a larger person to feel comfortable in this area. Not sure all the rooms are like this, however, it was small.
Overall, a very nice, safe hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear TommyRo,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference and taking the time to write a response on TripAdvisor. It's nice read positive comments and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hurry back!

Sincerely,

Thomas wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    137
    45
    11
    17
See reviews for
107
85
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having stayed at the Sheraton Roanoke several times I go with confidence of a positive experience. It is a quality hotel with a good reputation and outstanding service. However, for the first time I experienced a couple of glitches, not show stoppers, but unfortunate problems that could be addressed.

In the past the Club Room staff has been superb. Unfortunately, one host preferred remaining seated rather than helping guests. She seemed pleasant enough, but the bar was not self serve, and she seemed uninterested in engaging with folks. Perhaps she was new or shy.

The second problem involved plumbing in the bathroom. Although brought to the attention of the staff it was not resolved during my stay. On checkout the clerk seemed genuinely mortified and profusely apologized.

These were two glitches at a consistently solid hotel that I do not expect to see on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Lynn1950

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and bring to our attention the two glitches you experience and we do apologize. We also thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated.

Sincerely

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have managed to get Priceline hits on this hotel several times over the last few years (it is a stopping point on our way to TN) and have always enjoyed it. The hotel is very nice with plenty of parking, very close to I-81, nice restaurant, nice indoor/outdoor pool, quick elevators:), very accomodating staff, etc. etc.

They had redecorated since our previous trip, so now is even nicer with pillowtop beds, down-filled duvets, flat-screen tv, wifi in room and computer center in lobby. The ONLY complaint was that our room was very hot when we walked in at 11pm and did not respond when I turned down the thermostat. Unfortunately, I didn't realize it hadn't responded until 2am! The front desk said next time please let them know asap as this is an easy fix -- old HVAC units.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room here. If distance is an issue, just ask for a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jeanne,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor regarding your stay. It's nice to read that good comments about our hotel. I do apologize about the HVAC issue.
Once again, Thank you,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at this SPG property many times over the last several years. It is in a great location. Close to shopping, restaurants and the airport. Only about 15 minutes from the downtown area.

I was upgraded to the Club Floor. The room was very nice. Several great features like the aeron desk chair, absolutely the best, I have one at my office. Also, great space utilization. The flat screen TV was mounted on the wall to allow for plenty of desk and cabinet top space. A great idea to give the traveler more space for their belongings and to spread out work.

One miss is that in the room tower where the Club Floor is there is only 1 ice machine on the 1st floor. This may not be that big of a deal, but misleading since each floor has signage pointing toward ice machines that do not exist. Definitely need to take some time and update the floor signage.

Also, it is disappointing that this Sheraton has not made the change has most have to open the Club Floor Lounge on the weekends. This is a miss and should be addressed. They do provide restaurant coupons to compensate.

This property has one of the largest fitness centers I have seen at any hotel. More than enough equipment to handle peak times and days.

I did not eat at any of the restaurants, but they do have a Shula's Grill in the lobby. Definitely, a quality establishment and no doubt one of the nicest restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Lv2ctheworld,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. We want you to know that we welcome and thank you for your feedback and they are being addressed.

Sioncerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Roanoke 5-6 of April 2013 and attended the Nascar Race at Martinsville Virginia. This was part of a tour provided by There and Back Nascar Tours.
The Hotel was great,clean and the staff was excellent. We were provided with a buffet breakfast both mornings which was excellent.
We decided to go to The Longhorn Steak House that was located in a shopping area near the Hotel and was driven in the Hotel shuttle van by a Mr Fox who was very entertaining and helpful.
I would stay there again.
We stayed at a Sheraton in Richmond Virginia last year staff was very un friendly so this was a great weekend. Thanks All involved

Room Tip: We found that our room was great it looks like they have just done renos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Huron-Rooster,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. It's nice to read positive comments letting us know that you had great stay with us and about our associates.Mr.Fox is indeed one of the outstanding ambassador for our hotel.

Once again we thank youi,

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff are friendly, but we happened to be put in two rooms that smelled like cat urine. The first room was foul. We contacted the front desk and they promptly moved us to another room. The second room was less smelly, but we had to have the staff spray Febreeze. The room was a great size and the beds comfortable. If you are allergic to smells be careful in the lobby because of all the deodorizer. Also, dogs are allowed so be prepared. Mr. Fox is a delight and the facilities were well maintained. There are no microwaves in the room. The refrigerator and coffee maker are nice touches. I think they are doing upgrades so expect a few hiccups. For example, some TVs did not have the ABC channel.

Room Tip: Unless traveling with a pet ask for a room off of the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear FamilyTripTaker_12

First, we want to thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center,also an apology to you for any inconvenience you experience.
Again we thank you,

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day of driving the Sheraton Roanoke was a welcome oasis. I was pleased at its proximity to the interstate (approx. 3 miles and easy to find) and the service we received at check-in. The hotel itself was well appointed in all visible common areas and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. On the down side, and the reason this porperty didn't rate 5 star for me, was the in-room heating unit was quite noisy and kept my wife awake most of the night. We also shorted on towels in the bathroom and I found it a bit of an awkward layout finding the elevators to get to the room. The latter two critiques are minor in nature but the nosiy heating unit was a challenge. All in all it was a very nice property and having booked it through Hotwire the price was right!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Can8dn,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center. We also thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor your feedback. Your feedback is very importance to us.
Once again we thank you,

Sincerely,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.