We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, huge, lots of events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice place, huge, lots of events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

nice lobby, large well configured rooms, really nice pool area, connected to the Shula's restaurant. A nice place to spend the night or even a few days. We were traveling on vacation, and there were no conferences going on, and I imagine when things fill up things may be different, but it was a good quiet hotel

Room Tip: there are two towers, the one closest to the lobby are easier to get to and the elevator drops you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay wih us here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference. We are looking forward to providing you with the same experience on your return stay here at the Sheraton.
Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    116
    38
    6
    15
See reviews for
87
73
26
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Everyone at this hotel was awesome. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The diner at Shulas was absolutely fantastic. The bartender was super. The doorman was very helpful and friendly. A gorgeous hotel and enjoyable stay. We are coming back through and plan to stay again in a few days.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for a great review! We hope to see you back soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We love to visit this hotel and see their display of Christmas trees. We did eat breakfast in the hotel this trip, taking advantage of the buffet with the special guest price. We would recommend this breakfast highly. The room we were in was very comfortable. Small issues like not having extra t- paper and returning in the afternoon to find the room not serviced. When we called housekeeping, someone came by right away. Everyone on staff is very pleasant and helpful. We would stay again. We like that one can leave the car in the car park and walk into downtown Roanoke via the bridge over the rail road tracks. Very convenient to the restaurants and shops downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Please remove the December 28, 2012 from the Sheraton site, it belong Hotel Roanoke that is downtown based on the feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We used the hotel as a stop-over on a 2-day road trip. The common areas were well kept. The rooms as others have mentioned needed some upkeep and had some maintenance issues. For example the toilet was not complete cleaned prior to check-in, our bathroom was out of tissues and the end caps on the shower bar were loose. We also had a burnt out light in the room at the bedside table. But the service at Shulas 347 was very attentive. Really wish we had taken advantage of the indoor pool | hot tub or the fitness center, but unfortunately we got in late and left early.

Also, it is rather hard to find the entrance to this hotel and at least our Tom Tom GPS took us to the wrong location and we had to make several U-turns to get back to the entrance where there was a poorly marked sign.

On a side note, it seems to be a great place to hold a conference | convention.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I was sorry to read that we fell short in some areas that you experience during stay here at the Sheraton. Be assured that these areas have been addressed and I hope we will have the opportunity to correct our shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for staying with us,

Thomas Wood
Fronn Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is one of Roanoke's swanky, upscale hotels. The hotel is very modern, clean and offers fine amenities. We found Shula's restaurant to offer fine dining and Pi Kitchen offers a fairly good breakfast buffet. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants and a mall. While definitely an upscale hotel, it is in a sketchier side of town. I have been here several times before the recent renovation and have always been satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks you for your great compliments about our hotel. We are very proud of our new Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center and the favorable responses it has generated from our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback on your experiences in our restaurant s, Shula's and Pie Kitchen, again we want to thank you for staying with us.

Please hurry back and visit us soom,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Finding this hotel's entrance is a bit of a challenge. Check in was quick and the attendant was great. My room was clean and comfortable. Ate breakfast, all the staff spoke to me and the manager Shea was very accommodating to my special request. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Our team is very happy that you had a pleasant experience with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke & Conference Center. We proud of our hotel and we continue to stress to all members, the importance of delivering total satisfying experience to our guests.
Thank you for your feedback and hurry back and visit us soon,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perhaps it is part of a Sheraton identity crisis, but their hotels in general seem to vary widely in their look and amenities. Not as good as a Westin, better than a Holiday Inn, what niche are they trying to fill? This hotel had a great lobby and business area, nice upscale (but expensive) steak house in Shula's, and a wonderful and helpful staff. The rooms were clean, a decent size, but the bed and linens were so so. The house restaurant was no big deal, and the breakfast buffet was mediocre at best. All in all, nothing really bad about it, but nothing that would make one want to put it on their list to go back to either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are happy that you selected our Sheraton Roanoke hotel for your recent stay. We are proud of our renovations and the services that we are able to provide.

We also appreciate your candid comments about our rooms and your experience while patronizing our hotel restaurants

We are always eager to listen and take our guest comments seriously. We do consider these comments when looking to make our guest experiences even better as we move forward.

Thanks for your feedback,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel
Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list