We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay at Christmas time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
woodstock
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay at Christmas time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We love to visit this hotel and see their display of Christmas trees. We did eat breakfast in the hotel this trip, taking advantage of the buffet with the special guest price. We would recommend this breakfast highly. The room we were in was very comfortable. Small issues like not having extra t- paper and returning in the afternoon to find the room not serviced. When we called housekeeping, someone came by right away. Everyone on staff is very pleasant and helpful. We would stay again. We like that one can leave the car in the car park and walk into downtown Roanoke via the bridge over the rail road tracks. Very convenient to the restaurants and shops downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Please remove the December 28, 2012 from the Sheraton site, it belong Hotel Roanoke that is downtown based on the feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    134
    43
    9
    16
See reviews for
100
82
28
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We used the hotel as a stop-over on a 2-day road trip. The common areas were well kept. The rooms as others have mentioned needed some upkeep and had some maintenance issues. For example the toilet was not complete cleaned prior to check-in, our bathroom was out of tissues and the end caps on the shower bar were loose. We also had a burnt out light in the room at the bedside table. But the service at Shulas 347 was very attentive. Really wish we had taken advantage of the indoor pool | hot tub or the fitness center, but unfortunately we got in late and left early.

Also, it is rather hard to find the entrance to this hotel and at least our Tom Tom GPS took us to the wrong location and we had to make several U-turns to get back to the entrance where there was a poorly marked sign.

On a side note, it seems to be a great place to hold a conference | convention.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I was sorry to read that we fell short in some areas that you experience during stay here at the Sheraton. Be assured that these areas have been addressed and I hope we will have the opportunity to correct our shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for staying with us,

Thomas Wood
Fronn Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is one of Roanoke's swanky, upscale hotels. The hotel is very modern, clean and offers fine amenities. We found Shula's restaurant to offer fine dining and Pi Kitchen offers a fairly good breakfast buffet. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants and a mall. While definitely an upscale hotel, it is in a sketchier side of town. I have been here several times before the recent renovation and have always been satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks you for your great compliments about our hotel. We are very proud of our new Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center and the favorable responses it has generated from our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback on your experiences in our restaurant s, Shula's and Pie Kitchen, again we want to thank you for staying with us.

Please hurry back and visit us soom,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Finding this hotel's entrance is a bit of a challenge. Check in was quick and the attendant was great. My room was clean and comfortable. Ate breakfast, all the staff spoke to me and the manager Shea was very accommodating to my special request. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Our team is very happy that you had a pleasant experience with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke & Conference Center. We proud of our hotel and we continue to stress to all members, the importance of delivering total satisfying experience to our guests.
Thank you for your feedback and hurry back and visit us soon,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perhaps it is part of a Sheraton identity crisis, but their hotels in general seem to vary widely in their look and amenities. Not as good as a Westin, better than a Holiday Inn, what niche are they trying to fill? This hotel had a great lobby and business area, nice upscale (but expensive) steak house in Shula's, and a wonderful and helpful staff. The rooms were clean, a decent size, but the bed and linens were so so. The house restaurant was no big deal, and the breakfast buffet was mediocre at best. All in all, nothing really bad about it, but nothing that would make one want to put it on their list to go back to either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are happy that you selected our Sheraton Roanoke hotel for your recent stay. We are proud of our renovations and the services that we are able to provide.

We also appreciate your candid comments about our rooms and your experience while patronizing our hotel restaurants

We are always eager to listen and take our guest comments seriously. We do consider these comments when looking to make our guest experiences even better as we move forward.

Thanks for your feedback,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I’ve stayed here twice for VA Tech football games. Both stays have been great. The hotel seems to have been recently renovated. The rooms are modern and comfortable. There is a full service restaurant and a Shula’s Steakhouse. The hotel serves Starbucks coffee and the in-room coffee makers are Starbucks as well…being a coffee snob…that’s a good thing. If you find yourself in Roanoke, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Our team is very happy that you enjoyed your stays with us at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center. We are very proud of our remodel and the new look of our hotel.

We are happy to provide you with the excellent Starbuck coffee and pleased that you're are happy with our Shula 347 Grill addition.

Please hurry back and visit us soon,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got stuck in Roanoke and Delta put us up at the Sheraton. They have turned this place into a great Sheraton! Its modern, beautiful colors, literally 2 minutes to Roanoke airport. There is a Shula's restaraunt on-site which was just ok, maybe the Sunday night kitchen crew isn't the best. The steak was definately Shula quality though! There is a coffee bar that really serves Starbucks latte's! Free bottled water in the room. Very nice place.

Room Tip: don't get stuck next to the Linen closet if you want to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the great compliments about our hotel renovations. We are very proud of our new Sheraton Roanoke look and the favorable responses it has generated from our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback where your experience was not so good. We have reviewed your comments with our staff. We continue to stress to all members of our team, the importance of delivering a total satisfying experience to our guests.

Thank you so much for your honest opinions and we all look forward to serving you in the future.
Please hurry back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;