We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Salem, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is one of Roanoke's swanky, upscale hotels. The hotel is very modern, clean and offers fine amenities. We found Shula's restaurant to offer fine dining and Pi Kitchen offers a fairly good breakfast buffet. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants and a mall. While definitely an upscale hotel, it is in a sketchier side of town. I have been here several times before the recent renovation and have always been satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks you for your great compliments about our hotel. We are very proud of our new Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center and the favorable responses it has generated from our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback on your experiences in our restaurant s, Shula's and Pie Kitchen, again we want to thank you for staying with us.

Please hurry back and visit us soom,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    181
    70
    21
    23
See reviews for
142
124
32
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Finding this hotel's entrance is a bit of a challenge. Check in was quick and the attendant was great. My room was clean and comfortable. Ate breakfast, all the staff spoke to me and the manager Shea was very accommodating to my special request. Will stay again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Our team is very happy that you had a pleasant experience with us here at the Sheraton Roanoke & Conference Center. We proud of our hotel and we continue to stress to all members, the importance of delivering total satisfying experience to our guests.
Thank you for your feedback and hurry back and visit us soon,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perhaps it is part of a Sheraton identity crisis, but their hotels in general seem to vary widely in their look and amenities. Not as good as a Westin, better than a Holiday Inn, what niche are they trying to fill? This hotel had a great lobby and business area, nice upscale (but expensive) steak house in Shula's, and a wonderful and helpful staff. The rooms were clean, a decent size, but the bed and linens were so so. The house restaurant was no big deal, and the breakfast buffet was mediocre at best. All in all, nothing really bad about it, but nothing that would make one want to put it on their list to go back to either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are happy that you selected our Sheraton Roanoke hotel for your recent stay. We are proud of our renovations and the services that we are able to provide.

We also appreciate your candid comments about our rooms and your experience while patronizing our hotel restaurants

We are always eager to listen and take our guest comments seriously. We do consider these comments when looking to make our guest experiences even better as we move forward.

Thanks for your feedback,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I’ve stayed here twice for VA Tech football games. Both stays have been great. The hotel seems to have been recently renovated. The rooms are modern and comfortable. There is a full service restaurant and a Shula’s Steakhouse. The hotel serves Starbucks coffee and the in-room coffee makers are Starbucks as well…being a coffee snob…that’s a good thing. If you find yourself in Roanoke, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Our team is very happy that you enjoyed your stays with us at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center. We are very proud of our remodel and the new look of our hotel.

We are happy to provide you with the excellent Starbuck coffee and pleased that you're are happy with our Shula 347 Grill addition.

Please hurry back and visit us soon,

Thomas Wood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got stuck in Roanoke and Delta put us up at the Sheraton. They have turned this place into a great Sheraton! Its modern, beautiful colors, literally 2 minutes to Roanoke airport. There is a Shula's restaraunt on-site which was just ok, maybe the Sunday night kitchen crew isn't the best. The steak was definately Shula quality though! There is a coffee bar that really serves Starbucks latte's! Free bottled water in the room. Very nice place.

Room Tip: don't get stuck next to the Linen closet if you want to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the great compliments about our hotel renovations. We are very proud of our new Sheraton Roanoke look and the favorable responses it has generated from our guests.

We also appreciate your feedback where your experience was not so good. We have reviewed your comments with our staff. We continue to stress to all members of our team, the importance of delivering a total satisfying experience to our guests.

Thank you so much for your honest opinions and we all look forward to serving you in the future.
Please hurry back,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff exceeded expectations at this property. We requested a quiet room but were assigned a room near the ice maker and elevators. A quick return to the front desk and the problem was promptly solved. The newly assigned room was in a beautiful location - quiet and peaceful - very nice service recovery effort!

Our stay was brief. We didn't use the pool or the restaurant so I can't speak to those aspects of the hotel. I can, however, report that the room was comfortable, clean, and beautifully appointed. There is a downside for business travellers - there is a charge for internet access in the rooms - but for leisure, the hotel is a great choice. We will be returning in the spring with extended family to attend a graduation. Given our recent experience at this property, we are looking forward to staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments about our Sheraton Roanoke Hotel & Conference Center. Our team strives to make each visit a wonderful experience for all of our guests. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your stay and we look forward to serving you and your extended family again when you return for the graduation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

From the first time I visited Sheraton Roanoke for a conference, I was impressed with the facility - the conference area, the lobby, the grounds, the pool. I didn't stay the night though as it was a one day trip. However, this last time I had the opportunity to spend the night. The rooms lived up to my expectations. They were spacious, updated, and clean. The beds were also very comfortable and the shower had plenty of power. I didn't use it, but the gym was huge.

I ate at Shula's in the lobby. It was your typical Shula's - exceptional food and a great atmosphere. What I was most impressed with was the selection of Virginia wines and craft beers. Virginia has an excellent selection of both. Try a local Viognier - you will be impressed.

Of note, the club lounge is the place to be. It was like a party in there everytime I walked by. Check it out and socialize with some follow business travellers.

Where I was not impressed was the staff. They were very polite but absolutely clueless. First, my Internet didn't work and I called the front desk. They said maintenance would be right up. Every 15 minutes for three hours I called asking when it would be up or wher maintenance was. The answer was - "I don't know". This is a big deal for business travellers. That's lost productivity. I asked for a manager but he was nowhere to be found during those three hours. (I guess they get long lunch breaks). Finally, the front desk told me the maintenance supervisor had been going to modem to modem during that time resetting them as they had a problem. That's fine. But why didn't they tell me that the first time I called. Second, there was a tray of dirty plates outside a room two doors down when I check in at 2pm. The same tray was there when I checked out the next morning at 9am. That's unexceptable.

I want to give the hotel a 5 star - but the staff prevents me from doing so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First of all, thank you for your comments about our Sheraton Roanoke hotel. I'm happy you enjoyed your room stay and meal in Shula's. We are very proud of the effect our renovations and new restaurant have had on our guest experience.

I also appreciate your feedback about your disappointments with our staff. We do strive to make the entire stay of each of our guests as pleasantly memorable as possible. We will use your disappointing experience with the internet issue as a great example of how important good communication is to keeping our guests happy. We do stress the key elements to guest satisfaction at all our staff meetings. But, your feedback will help to make us an even better team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#15 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.