We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to stay here...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to stay here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am often posted here when I come into Roanoke to do work with a local corporate client of mine. This hotel would be a perfect fit in Downtown Chicago, LA or Denver...let alone little old Roanoke, VA. The bed was excellent. The staff was friendly. It's so convenient to the airport and shopping/restaurants. This one was a quick overnight, but I have eaten here before...it's delicious. They have Starbucks and a wonderful morning breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear kweidner62,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor in regards to you stay with us. You mentioned how we would be a perfect fit for Chicago, LA or Denver. Well, we do have another property in our portfoilio that is setup and designed the same, and it happens to be in Denver. Maybe if your in the Denver Market, you'll give it a try.
Thank you again for your kind comments.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    137
    45
    11
    17
See reviews for
107
85
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend and everything was stunning. The landscaping, the furniture was very modern in the lobby area. This is a huge hotel, I got lost twice. Shula's is inside and we ate there for lunch and dinner and it was superb. The bed was so comfy, the fitness room was definitely state of the art. The customer service was great. Starbucks inside the hotel. Everything was lovely, I don't know what else to say about this hotel without bragging. And I got this one through priceline and they say it's a 3 star. I would give it a 4.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear LaGreta a,

I was pleased to read you felt our property was stunning. We have done a great deal of work over the past year to get the grounds in the shape they are in. And Shula's, is a fairly new addition to the hotel as well. Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, and I hope on your next stop through Roanoke, you'll stay with us once again.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here 2 weekend nights at the of May. This is a nice nice hotel that seems to have been recently renovated. We had a King bed room which was very large. Our bathroom also seemed a little larger than normal. Our bed was comfortable, no complaints, Parking is free.
The hotel is some what close to some busy roads, so if road noise bothers you, ask for a room over looking the courtyard, The breakfast buffet was good and had a nice selection of foods but seemed a little pricey to me.
If your looking for a place for lunch or dinner, the hotel is about 4 minutes from downtown Roanoke or the Valley View mall.
Note, this also seems to be a pet friendly hotel so if you have dog allgeries beware.

Over all, it was a good place to spend the night.

Room Tip: I believe rooms over looking the court yard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I glad you felt the hotel was comfortable and convenient. And yes we are dog friendly, However, we only use one floor with outside access to the grounds for pets. Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope on your next trip through the Roanoke Valley, you will once again choose the Sheraton.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton on May 23 before flying out to Orlando. The hotel let us leave our car and were very gracious in picking us up quickly upon our return. The front desk people, bellmen and van drivers--especially Mr. Xavier Fox--were extremely nice and accomodating. The room was well appointed, very clean and quiet. Since our flight was so early, we did not get to try the continental breakfast, The hotel is conveniently located to shopping and additional restaurants. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear lynt0m,
We find the Sheraton makes for a great place to stay the night before a flight. And by leaving your car in our parking lot and using our airport transportation, it not only saves you, but is convenient as well. I hope you had a nice trip to Orlando, and please consider using the Sheraton on your next outbound flight.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Since our son goes to college nearby, we have stayed in this hotel dozens of times. The first floor is available for people travelling with a dog and it is very nice. Sliding glass doors open to a courtyard and the parking lots, for those early morning outings! On other visits we have come with children and taken advantage of the pool. All in all, a nice well run place with good staff.

Room Tip: The "second" tower rooms are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear EV6,
As you stated in your post to Trip Advisor, we are not only convenient to the local Colleges, but dog friendly as well. Having our pet floor with rooms that have access to our grounds makes it easy for traveling with a dog. Thank you for the kind comments, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed on a Saturday while driving along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Hotel is conveniently located in Roanoke near restaurants and stores. About 4-5 minutes away from Roanoke city center by the highway. Room was clean, sheets were clean. Appears to be recently updated. There was a stain on the office chair, shower curtain, and across the floor. The room was quiet at night despite to hotel hosting a prom and Division 3 softball tournament.

Overall a very good stay and would have been excellent except for the room. Also, I am a Starwood Gold member, but did not get placed on a preferred floor which was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on trip Advisor. As you stated in your post, we are not only convenient to downtown, but the airport as well. I hope on your nexr drive along the Blue Ridge Parkway, you will once again use the Sheraton as a stop over.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were there for one night because our flight was cancelled and flight company paid us for hotel and dinner and breakfast.

Dinner prices was so high that we could only ate salad and pay 5$ more.

The waiter at breakfast was rude and behave such as we are low level people. he begged for 5$ of tax that we had to pay and this was disgusting and i don't expect this behavior. from such a hotel.

shuttle driver also seems to want tip although he didn't even open the door for us and we didn't have bag!!!!

room service was OK.

bed was uncomfortable because of blanket design. blanket fell down several times and its part took apart from each other and I could see the interior of blanket!

Iron board was full of stains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg H, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Awesome_Coral,
I was sorry to read we fell short of your expectations. I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments to keep this from happening in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience, and I hope on your next trip through the valley, you will give us another opportunity.
Respectfully,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.