We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you from a distressed traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
hillsdale, nj usa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you from a distressed traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Sheraton for one night when my flight out of Roanoke Airport got cancelled. If this ever happens to you, just dial 12 from the airport house phone. The shuttle picked me up in 10 minutes and the hotel gave me their reduced "distressed traveler" rate. I was happy to see very modern and lush accommodations including a nice bar and restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, lovely grounds, excellent fitness room, room service, and an incredibly helpful staff. The bed was comfortable and the shuttle returned me to the airport the next day immediately upon request. I would certainly stay there again, whether stranded at the airport or under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind response regarding your stay here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center. Even though you were here due to a canceled flight, I was pleased to hear we made the stay an enjoyable one. Hopefully on your next trip through the Roanoke Valley, you will not be a "distressed traveler". Thank you again for the nice comments.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    167
    59
    16
    21
See reviews for
127
112
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Had a real nice stay at the Roanoke Sheraton. Rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very helpful. Had a quick lunch at the restaurant that's connected to the hotel, Shulas. The staff there was also a pleasure. Had a real nice conversation with Dilan and the manager, "Z". He printed me out directions to four places to go downtown while I was here. Thanks for making it a pleasant stay while visiting Roanoke. I will recommend the Sheraton to my other colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for your response to TripAdvisor. It's always nice to hear when one or two of our associates goes above and beyond. I will be sure and pass along the comments to both Dylan and "Z". Hopefully, on your next trip through the Roanoke Valley, you will once again choose the Sheraton as your place to stay.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is in a beautiful location. We found the hotel to be very clean and offered everything we could have wished for our family reunion in early July. We enjoyed our stay very much. We used the pool, ate in restaurant, enjoyed the lounge and the walk by the waterside. Everything very well kept, and staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Lynda G,
I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel while attending a family reunion. I was also pleased to read that everyone was so accommodating, as this is one thing we pride ourselves on. Hopefully, you will think of us again for your next reunion.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very nice rooms, large flat screen. Didn't dine at the hotel facilities. Very nice fitness room.

Room Tip: Ask for AAA discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond to TripAdvisor regarding your stay here at the Sheraton. As you were able to see, we have done a major renovation throughout the hotel. I hope that on your next visit to the Roanoke Valley, you will make the Sheraton your hotel of choice.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, VA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The rooms are a good size and clean. It's a convenient stopping point on the way to Virginia Tech (about 45 minutes away). You can come from the east, spend the night at the hotel, and get to Tech early in the morning. If you are an SPG member, then this is a great deal with points. Only 3,000 points per night.

Room Tip: If you are SPG gold, you will be upgraded for free to a club room, if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Love2TravelVA,
We get quite a few travelers stay with us on their way to Virginia Tech. I believe as you stated our proximity to the campus is convenient. I was pleased to read your comment on our clean rooms, as well as their good size. As you could tell, the entire hotel has been redone from top to bottom. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Virginia Tech.
Regards,
Greg Hargrave
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel staff was remarkable. As an event planner for my organization, this was by far one of the best and smoothest events I have had in my 13 years of conferences/conventions. The Banquet Captain Novelette Johnson was on the ball and an absolute joy to work with. We have signed a contract for another event there already!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
I was pleased to read how well you enjoyed holding your conference here at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center. Novelette has been with us for many years, and always gets the nicest compliments, we are lucky to have her on our team. It's nice to know you'll be back in the near future, and I know the associates will be pleased.
Thank you for taking the time to write, and we look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My family, dog, and I were on our way to NC and wanted to visit VA Tech. We had to find a hotel that accepted pets and was close to VA Tech. Using the internet, I found the Sheraton Roanoke which accepts pets without any additional fees. It was rated as a 3 star hotel. I wasn't expecting much but when we arrived, we were all blown away at how beautiful this hotel was and how friendly the staff was to us. We were placed in a room on the first floor and it was huge and beautiful (small bath but still nice). We had sliding glass doors that led to a gorgeous courtyard with a koi pond and a little bridge. It was perfect for walking the dog. My children (ages 13 and 11) and I used the fitness center. It has LOTS of machines, many huge flat screen tv's, free headphones, towels and water and cups. All of the machines looked new. After the fitness center, we tried the indoor pool. They actually have an indoor and outdoor pool but it was 10 pm so we stayed inside. The kids loved it and one of the hotel employees even came by and gave my kids goggles and toys to play with in the pool. There is free, wireless internet service in the room AND they had lots of FREE (very new looking) computers in the lobby for guests to use. There were lots of restaurants/cafes (we didn't eat in any of them) and also an in-room coffee maker with starbucks coffee. Beds are super comfy with great sheets - very clean and fresh. I have no idea why this place is only rated as 3 stars. Trust me, you will love it here and the staff will treat you right.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0701, General Manager at Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor. We do have a nice hotel for dog lovers, as our pet rooms have direct access to our grounds. The hotel was recently redone with all the latest amenities, as I can see you tried a few out. I was also pleased to read how well you were treated by the staff. Please be sure on your next visit to the Roanoke Valley, you will once again stay with us here at the Sheraton,
Sincerely,
Greg Hargrave
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2801 Hershberger Road, Roanoke, VA 24017
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#12 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center is a newly designed oasis of comfort and unassuming style surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.