We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
VA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This EconoLodge is clean and comfortable. Good management who cares about his property and is updating it. Comfortable beds. Would stay here again. Pretty close to downtown. Only complaint is coffee could be stronger.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are always working on improving things that can enhance every guest's stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
30
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Clean. Bathroom fixtures are updated and look new. A few things look dated and don't look shiny clean because of age. There was a very noticable smell of a cleaning spray or maybe air freshener in the room, which became better after I opened the door and aired the room out. Microwave and fridge are a big plus. Wifi works well. Overall a decent economical place.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are always working on improving things that can enhance every guest's stay with us. As you mentioned, we have performed several upgrades in every bathroom. We have installed curved shower bar in each bathroom. We have also installed new drain in each bathtub. We have also replaced 45% of the toilets within last year. We are just getting started with upgrades and there will be many more to come. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

As a budget/low priced hotel the Roanoke Civic Center hotel is geographically well situated near the Civic Center and not far from the Transportation Museum and downtown. It is about a 1½ from the Museum, high end Hotel Roanoke, and a bit more to the heart of downtown Roanoke.

This is a clean and well maintained hotel with on site owners.

With a bicycle it is an easy ride to these attractions, including the Roanoke River Trail and other bicycling routes. You can take a municipal bus and a car to reach these attractions and the Trail.

Going north on Winchester Avenue you go into a business area and then a residential area.

Of particular importance is the owner and his wife. They assumed purchased the franchise about a year ago (2013) and have been slowly making substantial improvements to the property. First a new roof, now new bathroom fixtures, mirrors, TVs, room phones, and clocks.

One detail about this hotel is its construction. It was constructed with "bricks" between the rooms rather than curtain walls or simply wall board over wood framing. Thus there is virtually no sound emanating between adjoining rooms. The windows are set into a brick frame and thus give off very little sound too. You have to be within a foot or 11 cm. of the windows to hear anything happening in the room. Likewise there is almost no sound transfer between the street or parking area and your room.

A 19th century African-American and early 20th century Euro-American cemetery with headstones is within walking distance of the hotel and although gated provides a buffer between the street and the hotel's parking area. In the 19th century cemeteries were considered "parks." Area residents would spend leisure time walking and at time picnicing in these grassy & wooded areas.

The breakfast offered to sojourners needs improvement but the coffee was hot and full bodied.

Room Tip: Get a room on the cemetery side of the hotel and in the middle or towards the rear of the block of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We couldn't have asked for a better location in reference to downtown and Valley View Mall. We strive to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room and unbeatable service. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently had to transport our son's dog from New Jersey to his new home in Tennessee. We were delighted with our experience at Econo Lodge Civic Center in Roanoke. The motel was an excellent value -- very clean, comfortable bed, and good wireless connection. We were especially grateful to Mr. Patel and his staff. This was our first experience traveling with a dog, and they answered our many questions helpfully, patiently, and with great good humor. This is a "dogs only" motel which was important to us because of my husband's allergy to cats.
We were so pleased with our experience that we will stay here again -- even without the dog!
Thank you, Mr. Patel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We thrive to make each guest feel at home. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was travelling to Massachusettes and Roanoke was basically halfway. Stayed here with a friend after making a reservation using the hotel chain's website. Knowing this was an Econo Lodge and having stayed at many Econo Lodges in the past, I was pleased by the friendly attitude of the late night check in (around 11:00 pm). No issues or concerns with the room as it was as expected. My reservation request (upstairs and away from vending) was honored and we ate your basic continental breakfast offering in the morning. Bottom Line: Very good for an Econo Lodge and I was pleased with results. No complaints. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are always working on improving things that can enhance every guest's stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

June 16--We're on our road trip to CA from MD. First stop Roanoke ,VA at this motel. My 12 yr old grandsons first comment was " it's nice and clean". It was. Since this place went under new management a yr ago , many renovations have taken place. And more to come! What made it especially nice was the owner/ manager Bhavik Patel. What a friendly, accommodating person. The place is pet friendly, but pets are only allowed in lower level rooms which keeps upper levels clean for people allergic to animals. Our issue. Bed was a little firm for me. Continental brkfast..cereal, Danish, coffee and juices. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator. Rooms on second level pet free. Lower level for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. The location of Econo Lodge Civic Center cannot be better in reference to Roanoke Civic Center. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We are traveling from Los Angeles, California to Quebec City, Canada. The rate was good, the rooms were clean, good and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and the hotel is located in a safe location. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Always call the hotel and book thru them or the hotel chain website. When reading the reviews we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We couldn't have asked for a better location in reference to downtown and Valley View Mall. We strive to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room and unbeatable service. we are great at accommodating any request guest might have regarding floor and room preference. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.