We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, especially with a dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice, especially with a dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had to transport our son's dog from New Jersey to his new home in Tennessee. We were delighted with our experience at Econo Lodge Civic Center in Roanoke. The motel was an excellent value -- very clean, comfortable bed, and good wireless connection. We were especially grateful to Mr. Patel and his staff. This was our first experience traveling with a dog, and they answered our many questions helpfully, patiently, and with great good humor. This is a "dogs only" motel which was important to us because of my husband's allergy to cats.
We were so pleased with our experience that we will stay here again -- even without the dog!
Thank you, Mr. Patel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We thrive to make each guest feel at home. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
19
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was travelling to Massachusettes and Roanoke was basically halfway. Stayed here with a friend after making a reservation using the hotel chain's website. Knowing this was an Econo Lodge and having stayed at many Econo Lodges in the past, I was pleased by the friendly attitude of the late night check in (around 11:00 pm). No issues or concerns with the room as it was as expected. My reservation request (upstairs and away from vending) was honored and we ate your basic continental breakfast offering in the morning. Bottom Line: Very good for an Econo Lodge and I was pleased with results. No complaints. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are always working on improving things that can enhance every guest's stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crownsville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

June 16--We're on our road trip to CA from MD. First stop Roanoke ,VA at this motel. My 12 yr old grandsons first comment was " it's nice and clean". It was. Since this place went under new management a yr ago , many renovations have taken place. And more to come! What made it especially nice was the owner/ manager Bhavik Patel. What a friendly, accommodating person. The place is pet friendly, but pets are only allowed in lower level rooms which keeps upper levels clean for people allergic to animals. Our issue. Bed was a little firm for me. Continental brkfast..cereal, Danish, coffee and juices. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator. Rooms on second level pet free. Lower level for pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. The location of Econo Lodge Civic Center cannot be better in reference to Roanoke Civic Center. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We are traveling from Los Angeles, California to Quebec City, Canada. The rate was good, the rooms were clean, good and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and the hotel is located in a safe location. Totally recommend.

Room Tip: Always call the hotel and book thru them or the hotel chain website. When reading the reviews we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We couldn't have asked for a better location in reference to downtown and Valley View Mall. We strive to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room and unbeatable service. we are great at accommodating any request guest might have regarding floor and room preference. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Econo Lodge has been renovated recently. The room we stayed in was large and very clean. The owners were friendly and very helpful. The bed was comfortable. The motel is located on a busy, noisy street. We were near the street, but the noise quieted down after 10 PM until about 6 AM. The room did not have a hair dryer or clock/radio. It had a nice flat screen TV. We had a little trouble with the wireless internet, but the owner helped us get online and we then had no problems.
Breakfast was very basic.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so a ground floor room away from the road would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We are located on the the US-460 which makes it easy for everyone to locate the hotel; however, the traffic noise is the down side. We do have room farther away from the street. We'll happy to host you in one of those room in the future. We hope to see you again soon!

It would be a pleasure to have you as a guest again!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
308 Orange Ave NE
Roanoke, VA 24016
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a very CLEAN, conveniently located economy motel. The new owners have turned this place around. What we liked –
- Staff is friendly and attentive
- Brand new bathroom fixtures
- Refrigerator and microwave in every room
- Firm, comfortable beds
- Free continental breakfast, plentiful ( the usual fare: Danish, muffins, bagels, cereal)
- Hair dryer available for the asking at the front desk.
- Quiet, if you ask for a room away from the road.

Overall, the place is a good value for the money. The building is well-maintained and the service is good. All the important things have been updated, the rest will come later, I’m sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room away from the road .... second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

It would be a pleasure to have you as a guest again!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
308 Orange Ave NE
Roanoke, VA 24016
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

...but need to warn other travelers! Sure, the owner was very nice and I'm sure they are trying hard. The bathroom had obviously been renovated, but really....granite countertops in a room with huge ugly stains on the ceiling, bed linens full of holes and the most uncomfortable bed ever...seems as if you'd put your money into necessities rather than investing in an obviously declining building. It took my husband and I half of the next day to recover from that awful night's sleep...I kept waking up worried that I was touching the blanket! Sure, it was cheap, but even my husband said "stop saving me so much money!" If you are really, really traveling on the cheap and just can't afford more than $56. then this is a small step up from camping (actually, I've been more comfortable camping).

Room Tip: Just don't....really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Econo Lodge Civic Center has change management in April 2013. we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. Since April, we have replaced 35% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 20% of the AC units from 8000 BTU to 12000 BUT, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition, we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers twice and every AC units in the room has been cleaned as well. All of the sinks and bathtub received a new drain. We have also replaced our roof which has taken a lot of time and financial resources. We have modified the breakfast area by removing a wall to meet city codes to add more items in the breakfast. We have removed frozen items from our breakfast offerings and have added a few types of cereal. We are proud of the improvements we have made to the hotel in a such short time; however we are not finished yet. I am confident that we will be able to keep improving the overall condition of the rooms to meet expectations from our guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.