We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owner since May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
690 reviews 690 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 290 cities Reviews in 290 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
“New Owner since May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The owner, Bhavick Patel, started with a new roof, energy efficient lighting, stopped the water drips, changed the shower curtains to the newer rounded style and raised the shower heads ( a big plus for my 6'3" Vern). He stayed in various rooms around the facility and is working on whatever he can as he can. Now one side of the building is the smoking side and the other side is non-smoking. We spoke with him at length and he was a very caring and genuinely hospitable soul. We enjoyed our room and my only comment to him was a towel holder was loose, and he told me of his plans to address that throughout. He's offering his rooms at a very fair price and I would recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to have to as a guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
20
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean, basic room. Manager was friendly if a bit over talkie. The room had a lot of wear on it with doors that had obviously been broken and repaired. The bathtub had a rounded bottom with made it difficult to stand in comfortably. The pillows were lacking and not all of the lights in the room worked. But, for the money and the location it was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Econo Lodge Civic Center has change management in April 2013. we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. Since April, we have replaced 18% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 20% of the AC units from 8000 BTU to 12000 BUT, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers twice and every AC units in the room has been cleaned in September. All of the sinks and bathtub received a new drain. We have also replaced our roof which has taken a lot of time and financial resources. We have modified the breakfast area by removing a wall to meet city codes to add more items in the breakfast. We are adding a few types of cereal. We are proud of the improvements we have made to the hotel in a such short time; however we are not finished yet. I am confident that we will be able to keep improving the overall condition of the rooms to meet expectations from our guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Owner/ Manager is charming and very helpful. This property is past it's prime, though located very convient to Civic Center and Downtown. Coffee/Tea facility in room would be appreciated. Cleanliness of rooms is a concern due to their age, as they badly need redecorating. Also cleaning staff need pay more attention to the corners and behind furniture. Upgrading the toilet paper and toiletries would help. Breakfast is completely lacking in fruit and protein. Hard boiled eggs or yogurt for breakfast would help. I am confident that the owner/manager will overtime run a first class operation, but for now needs to learn to ensure cleaning staff do a better job and to upgrade amenities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Econo Lodge Civic Center has change management in April 2013. we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. Since April, we have replaced 25% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 20% of the AC units from 8000 BTU to 12000 BUT, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers twice and every AC units in the room has been cleaned in September. All of the sinks and bathtub received a new drain. We have also replaced our roof which has taken a lot of time and financial resources. We have modified the breakfast area by removing a wall to meet city codes to add more items in the breakfast. We are adding a few types of cereal. We are proud of the improvements we have made to the hotel in a such short time; however we are not finished yet. I am confident that we will be able to keep improving the overall condition of the rooms to meet expectations from our guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a lovely time during our one night stay at the Econo Lodge. The manager was very kind and outgoing when we checked in and offered some great recommendations for things to see and places to eat in Roanoke. The room met all of our needs -- it had a very comfortable bed and the shower was excellent. The complimentary Internet service was much appreciated. Check out was a breeze. Highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. Have a safe and enjoyable rest of the trip! We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I travel to the Roanoke once a month on average. Every time we stay we make sure we stay here. They always try to accommodate us with the same room since we both have disabilities. The staff go the extra mile to ensure your stay is comfortable. We have been very pleased with all of our stays thus far.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. Have a safe and enjoyable rest of the trip! We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIRGINIA BEACH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The owners are nice people who are doing upgrades to this older building. All I care about is room being clean and bed comfortable . High marks for that .my room had new carpeting and shower had hot water. Add 60 TV channels , micro wave , fridge and free WiFi. What more do you want when its blocks from downtown and great price? Read the other reviews owners very accommodating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. Have a safe and enjoyable rest of the trip! We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed one night here on a cross country from New York to LA. The rooms were clean and well looked after. The host was especially hospitable. He made sure we could address any problems we may have had and gave us great advice regarding our trip. Given the cost this hotel is unmissable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. Have a safe and enjoyable rest of the trip! We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.