We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

At first the hotel looks less appealing, right of a busy street and with a lot of asphalt around it. But the service is really friendly. Also found the complimentary breakfast really good for a place with this price. The room was quite spacious. Nothing out of the ordinary but everything worked I did have some trouble with the internet, which would work fine at some moments and on some devices, and then would not connect no matter what at other times. All in all it´s definetely a good option, especially for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

We take a lot of pride in our work. We want to offer the best possible experience to every guest. We have a great location on the main street. I am sorry to hear that you had problem with internet connection. We are working on revamping our internet infrastructure to avoid any outage. We had our primary focus geared toward improving the rooms first.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
37
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was a bit nervous driving up to the office of this motel, it looked a bit seedy and it's right next to a very busy highway, but the woman who checked me in gave us a room as far away from the road noise as she could and offered to switch us if we wanted. The room was clean and nicely appointed with a micro and fridge and their internet was easily accessed and strong. They offered coffee and tea in the office in the morning. There are lots of restaurants within easy reach. Good value for the price, and I highly recommend a stroll through the old cemetery next door; it's very peaceful despite being surrounded by high traffic roads. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms furthest from the office are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest. As you said we do have a great location being on the main road; however, the side effect is the traffic noises. We try to meet the needs of every guest to best of our abilities. From your kind words, it seems we have met your expectations.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is situated very close to downtown and has easy access to Blue Ridge Parkway. We got off from parkway and stayed overnight. There is subway and Sheetz next door and many restaurants in less than a mile vicinity. Bhavik who manages this property, does a pretty good job in personally taking care of all guests. Would definitely stay again if I am on the Parkway.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

When shopping online, I was impressed by the highly competitive pricing this Econolodge offered. The owner and staff were very courteous and friendly. The room was clean and well kept. Everything smelled pleasant and everything worked. I can tell the new owner is working very hard to provide a positive experience for the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is an excellent bargain. Yes, it would be considered budget. But the relatively new managers are busting their behinds by renovating all rooms, among other things including tiled bathrooms with new toilets & great high-up shower heads; carpets cleaned; a/c units cleaned and freshened. And the quality of sleep was excellent. The room was fresh and clean, absolutely no sign of a previous smoker in this room. Our room 117 was around the corner from the street and we had no street noise whatsoever. The manager went out of his way to ensure everything in our room was up to our satisfaction. Again, it was not a $200/nite room, but for what you pay you will not be disappointed. We slept in, thru breakfast, but there are ample other restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that we could make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for your kind word. We work very hard to keep the rooms clean and friendly. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the customer service we strive to provide to each guest.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this place because of reviews I read in this very column. I agree with the general consensus--a good value at a place run by caring people. At $50/night, I can't be too picky, but there were two glitches worth mentioning. The first is that my room must have been a "smoking" room way-back-when, because the residual tobacco odor was noticeable. There is no easy fix to this, and it didn't bother me. The other is that the bathtub bottom was quite slick, and I had to be very careful while taking a shower. (I have a mobility problem related to balance.) This one could probably be fixed by a rubber mat or some adhesive strips for a couple of bucks. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry that you smelled a tobacco smoke in your room. The management of the Econo Lodge Civic Center has changed Since April 2013. Your room was and is classified as non-smoking. I would not be able to comment on if previous management used that room as smoking in the past. We'll look into getting that room treated as non-smoking so there will not be any residue tobacco smell. Thank you for your suggestion about a mat in the bath. We are in the process of placing an order for the mats to install them in the room that do not have it.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The lodge is old but the room was clean. Bedding and towels all clean too. No horrid smell to room either. For the money this is a bargain. The road is very noisy but this is not the motels fault. Overall if you are on a budget then you cannot go wrong staying here. The lady at front desk was very helpful on check in too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

It is great for us to be on the main road which makes it easy for everyone to find us; however, the traffic noise is downside. We do have rooms away from the traffic that are very quiet. In addition, we are constantly working hard to improve the hotel. In last few months, we have replaced 10% of the old toilets with new dual flush toilets, 10% of the AC units, 20% of fridge and microwave. We have also installed curved shower bar in 100% of rooms. In addition we have also got our carpet cleaned by Stanley Steemers. In additional we have also cleaned all of the AC units in the room.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We wish you would give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
4.5 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#11 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
1.9 mi away
Cambria Suites Roanoke
Cambria Suites Roanoke
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#22 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.