We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
“Really great value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights over Labor Day weekend. The room was clean, check in went smoothly, and the owners were very courteous and accommodating. Best value we've gotten for a hotel room in quite a while. It is a short drive from all of the downtown attractions and located right off the interstate,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder. We are always making changes to improve the guest experience.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
27
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great price. We arrive early & was able to check in. Every thing was fine. Very clean, beds nice. We would recommend & stay again. Lots of food choices close by. Very friendly staff they even had a breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder. We are always making changes to improve the guest experience.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice staying, very nice staff, room clean and with all you can need (fridge, microwave, free wireless connection to internet). Continental breakfast included in the room price.
All this at a low fare! We wanted to extend our staying in Roanoke but we had to leave because of the flight :-(.

Room Tip: Easy to reach if you have a car. Not so far from Roanoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing a review about your current stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly making improvements in the hotel to make the stay even more enjoyable.

It is our goal to make you feel at home away from home. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and the hotel owners/staff are SO FRIENDLY! They were very accommodating and helpful! We had a great stay! The location is nice too! It's not too far from downtown and it isn't too noisy. The rooms were clean and we had no problems with anything while we stayed there. The prices are great along with really nice staff and a good location, we would stay here again when we go to Roanoke!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive. Thank you for the biggest complement that we can get that you'll be staying with us in future.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What makes this particular budget hotel stand out is the management. The person at the counter is very service oriented and tries to exceed all your expectations. He was very informative and helpful and made me feel i was in good hands! The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Location was easy to get to from the major routes.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder. We'll keep improving our customer service even more.

Being on the main street is really great; however, the street noises are the downside. We do have quiet room away from the main street. We hope to accommodated you in quieter room on your next visit.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here as a layover on our trip to Maryland. It was easy to find with our GPS, but we arrived at night, and the area did not seem very safe to me.

Our reservation with Expedia stated that we did not need to confirm with the hotel, just to bring the confirmation page with the number when we checked in. Of course, there was no record of our transaction when we got there. The young lady who checked us in was able to get us a room, though, so it was fine.

The rooms have obviously been renovated, but the lobby area needs attention. Our first impression may have been based on appearance, but it wasn't a very good one. Once we were in our room, it looked just like a generic hotel room. Breakfast was continental and there was very little room to eat. Would have to take it back to the room.

Street noise was a problem, so I wouldn't stay here if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

In the past few months, we have replaced 20% of the fridge and microwave, 10% of the AC, 100% of the carpet in the rooms were cleaned by Stanley Steemers. 75% of our rooms have curved shower bar in the bathroom. We are planning on expending the breakfast area within a year.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

It would be a pleasure to have you as a guest again!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tired Aussies wanting to drive the Blueridge Parkway arrived very late at night, needed a place to sleep before we headed off. Found this gem, clean as a whistle, the beds were comfortable, the owner was informative, extremely helpful and the motel was very inexpensive. Probably the best value place we have stayed in the whole of the US. Continental breakfast OK considering the price I was surprised it was offered at no extra cost. You shouldn't hesitate about staying here,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.