We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Civic Center

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Civic Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Civic Center
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 37 hotels in Roanoke
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and the hotel owners/staff are SO FRIENDLY! They were very accommodating and helpful! We had a great stay! The location is nice too! It's not too far from downtown and it isn't too noisy. The rooms were clean and we had no problems with anything while we stayed there. The prices are great along with really nice staff and a good location, we would stay here again when we go to Roanoke!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive. Thank you for the biggest complement that we can get that you'll be staying with us in future.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
19
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What makes this particular budget hotel stand out is the management. The person at the counter is very service oriented and tries to exceed all your expectations. He was very informative and helpful and made me feel i was in good hands! The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Location was easy to get to from the major routes.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder. We'll keep improving our customer service even more.

Being on the main street is really great; however, the street noises are the downside. We do have quiet room away from the main street. We hope to accommodated you in quieter room on your next visit.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here as a layover on our trip to Maryland. It was easy to find with our GPS, but we arrived at night, and the area did not seem very safe to me.

Our reservation with Expedia stated that we did not need to confirm with the hotel, just to bring the confirmation page with the number when we checked in. Of course, there was no record of our transaction when we got there. The young lady who checked us in was able to get us a room, though, so it was fine.

The rooms have obviously been renovated, but the lobby area needs attention. Our first impression may have been based on appearance, but it wasn't a very good one. Once we were in our room, it looked just like a generic hotel room. Breakfast was continental and there was very little room to eat. Would have to take it back to the room.

Street noise was a problem, so I wouldn't stay here if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

In the past few months, we have replaced 20% of the fridge and microwave, 10% of the AC, 100% of the carpet in the rooms were cleaned by Stanley Steemers. 75% of our rooms have curved shower bar in the bathroom. We are planning on expending the breakfast area within a year.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

It would be a pleasure to have you as a guest again!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Tired Aussies wanting to drive the Blueridge Parkway arrived very late at night, needed a place to sleep before we headed off. Found this gem, clean as a whistle, the beds were comfortable, the owner was informative, extremely helpful and the motel was very inexpensive. Probably the best value place we have stayed in the whole of the US. Continental breakfast OK considering the price I was surprised it was offered at no extra cost. You shouldn't hesitate about staying here,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for the kind words you said about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, but we're especially pleased when it is positive.

We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. Your positive feedback will motivate us to work even harder.

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we're doing something right. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here overnight on Saturday Aug 3rd. I had stayed here once before about 6 years earlier to find only mediocre service and hospitality and cleanliness. Man was I in for a surprise. The new management is completely and totally accommodating. Every small concern is addressed with sincerity and genuine care. This place is as clean an a whistle, smells wonderful and is neat and tidy inside and out. Priced very reasonably. Only a few times in my many travels have I encountered a staff as friendly and as genuinely courteous as the couple who now run this motel. And they're not finished yet. I recommend this motel to everyone staying over in Roanoke Va. and I will stay here as often as I am in Roanoke in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your positive feedback will encourage us to work even harder to improve the quality of the hotel and therefore experience of the guest.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The owners are so friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the price is very affordable, and it's within walking distance to downtown. We stayed here because we wanted to be close enough to downtown to not have to drive and it was the cheapest hotel in the area. We were so pleasantly surprised, though, that it was also even nicer than the more expensive and further away hotel we had stayed in the previous two nights. Great value and a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

my husband and i were traveling from asheville to washington dc, and needed a place to overnight. nothing luxurious or fancy, just a place to sleep overnight...and the EconoLodge fit the bill. a nice king size bed with a couch and coffee table for the dominos pizza (which delivers right to your room). shampoo , conditioners, coffee maker and fridge....all very clean and a very comfortable bed
but it was the staff that EXCELLED. particularly when i didn't bring my hair dryer, the wonderful woman at the front desk lent me one. when our car wouldn't start (we left the blinker on overnight??), the man at the front desk jUMPSTARTED us...
you will feel comfortable staying here overnight

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhavik P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Civic Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We cannot wait to have you again!

Sincerely,

Bhavik Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge Civic Center
(540) 343-2413
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Civic Center

Address: 308 Orange Avenue NE, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Civic Center 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Roanoke
Roanoke Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.