We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Gathering” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
“Family Gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff as usual were cordial and helpful. The accommodations were clean. The breakfast had much variety. I would have preferred that the eggs not be laced with any substance for those who do not eat pork it was a challege. Perhaps on the days these are served there could also be just plain eggs prepared. All in all every thing was good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very convenient location. Close to the Berglund Center (civic center) and close to downtown. Very clean rooms and lobby. The staff was very polite and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast there but it looked like the standard HI set up which is always decent. The rooms were a little small but they came with a good size TV, microwave and refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a hotel near the Berglund Center and this one was. You could walk if the weather was good. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful with all questions we had. It was close to the civic center for driving also and very near downtown, restaurants and the Historic area.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the parking lot and it was quiet. It is a completely non-smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the nice review! Hope you enjoyed the concert. We look forward to your return.

Damini, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very friendly greeting at the Holiday Inn Express, which was enhanced by yummy WARM chocolate chip cookies. We settled into our nicely appointed & clean room after a 6 hr. drive, & then when we were ready to go explore downtown, we got good walking directions from the front desk. This was a decent location for those able to walk in good weather. Complimentary breakfast was good with some warm items including egg patties, sausage/gravy, biscuits.

Room Tip: We requested first floor just because it's easier for a one night in/out stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Roanoke! We're glad you were able to explore downtown Roanoke. Hope to see you again soon!

Damini, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batesville indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is easy to find, right off of highway. Staff was friendly with efficient check in. Typical Holiday Inn Express breakfast and amenities. Free in room WiFi worked well with decent speed. We would stay here again when in area.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Roanoke! We're happy to have had the opportunity to host you during your visit to Roanoke.

Damini, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The reason for being in Roanoke was not a happy fun travel reason. Our son who goes to college in VA was in an accident and we had to travel from NY in a quick manner. Tired and stress we found the Holiday Inn that only had 2 rooms left but were able to get us in on short notice. The Inn was clean and bright and the bed was comfortable. The hot breakfast was amazing especially the cinnamon rolls. The staff was very kind and helpful and caring.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we try our best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Hope your son is feeling much better, and you must come back to Roanoke for more enjoyable reasons the next time.

Crystal H
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

First time staying at a Holiday Inn Express! Our Dance team reserved a group of rooms. However, the price was a little high. Therefore, I researched the area hotels on my selected travel sites and found the rate less than our group rate. I made a guarantee rate reservation. The hotel was excellent, Rooms were clean, beds spacious for 2 adults and 2 children. Loved the continental breakfast especially that it started real early. Our competition started at 8am and everyone got fed! Staff was very helpful(lost cell phone as we were checking out).

Therefore, I will highly recommend this hotel. I will keep in mind to look at other Holiday Inns when traveling!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that your Dance team enjoyed our hotel and breakfast. If you are ever back in Roanoke just give us a call and we will make sure your stay is just as nice as the last one.

Crystal H
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#8 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 13.3% Tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.