We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my kids this weekend. Friendly staff, clean hotel. The room was nice and comfortable. Ill be sure to stay here again on my next trip to Roanoke. Close to the civic center and downtown. Plenty of things to do within a few minutes of walking or driving.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed at this location twice a month for the past 8 years. The facility is top notch and the people are like family. Actually nicer... The location is centrally located and convenient to everything in the area. They recently renovated the entire facility and it rivals other hotels in different cities at a much higher cost per stay. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn to everybody!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's was a nice valentine special package . And got late check out and flowers and chocolates. Good breakfast . Nice room. Only complete I have its big bites on my legs in three different places . Did not have before checking in And staying night . It's dead of winter so not bug bites from outside. Bed bugs ??????? Or what? Everything was great except that. So review lowered due to big bites.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent property that looks like it is brand new even though it is a few years old. Great location, excellent breakfast and fine customer service. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are very clean. Highly recommend.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Showed up at midnight without a reservation. Booked a room quickly. Staff was excellent. Lobby was clean and quiet. Room was clean and quiet. Bathroom a bit small, with surprising water pressure. Overall great quick stay. Checkout was just as easy as checking in.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bathroom is on the small side but the shower pressure was great. The room was spacious and clean but the bed was uncomfortable. Breakfast was adequate, serving the usual fare. This was just a stopover for us as we traveled along the Blue Ridge Parkway so it was a little farther from the entrance than we expected and we weren't crazy about its location.

Room Tip: avoid room 106 - it's near the ice machine which was being used at 3:00 AM - Really????? I actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the shower head! At most Holiday Inn Express hotels, we strive to have a consistent breakfast so our guests know what to expect. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again when in Roanoke and hope that you get to see our historic downtown, only 1 mile away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is very good and the staff is outstanding. My room was great (clean room and comfortable bed ) and I really enjoyed the breakfast. I normally start my day very early therefore I really appreciate your 6 am breakfast start time.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Express-Roanoke, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so so much for the kind words! We strive to give the best customer service we can, have the cleanest room possible and serve you the best breakfast possible!

Damini, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center

Address: 815 Gainsboro Rd, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express- Roanoke Civic Center. We are conveniently located on the edge of Historic Downtown Roanoke, within two miles of the Center in the Square and the Farmer's Market. Located only 1 block from the Raonke Civic Center, five minutes from the airport, and five minutes from Valley View Mall. Several restaurants within close driving distance. 13.3% Tax rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Roanoke-Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.